Posted in Recipes

Parmesan scented yellow tomatoes & green courgettes ( zucchini) bake! A lovely side dish!

A delightful & tasty side dish: Parmesan scented yellow tomatoes & green courgetters bake!
A delightful & tasty side dish: Parmesan scented yellow tomatoes & green courgettes bake!

This is a lovely, tasty & easy side dish to make. I used here yellow tomatoes & green courgettes, for a lovely contrast. Parmesan cheese goes so well with these tasty vegetables. Enjoy!

Don't you want to eat it right now?

Don’t you want to eat it right now?

Recipe: for 2 persons, with seconds!

Ingredients:

5 yellow firm organic tomatoes, cleaned, tops removed, cut thinly into slices/ I got 5 to 6 thin slices out of 1 yellow tomato!

2 larger young green courgettes, cleaned, ends & tops removed, cut into finer rings/ I used home-grown

1 big red onion, peeled & cut finely

2 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & finely cut up

a fruity EVOO ( Extra Virgin Olive Oil )

Black pepper

1 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt flakes

1/2 teaspoon of dried savoury ( Bonenkruid in Dutch! )

40 gr of freshly grated Parmesan cheese

To serve with: oven baked potato wedges & good fried vegetarian sausages 

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 200°C ( 400 F ) for 10 minutes. In the meantime, fry your cut up onion & garlic in 2 tablespoons of that fruity EVOO on higher heat until browned & cooked through. Season with some grins of black pepper & some sea salt, but not too much!

2. Place these fried onion & garlic pieces in the base of your larger baking dish. Now, make 4 rows, besides each other with 1 courgettes round & then a yellow tomato round, etc. See pictures above. It is possible that you will end up with some courgettes left over. Use in another dish for later. See that everything is neatly tucked away. I had enough with 5 tomatoes, but if you need to use 6, do so to fill your baking dish up! Now, season with 1 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt flakes, crushed up with your fingers. I also added 8 to 10 grins of finely black pepper. Scatter, 1/2 teaspoon of dried savoury all over your dish, equally divided.  Also add about 3 tablespoons of that fruity oil all over the dish, equally divided. Add some drizzles oil extra, if needed. I added 2 finely drizzles extra!!

3. Bake for about 20 minutes into the hot oven. After 20 minutes or until cooked through, take the dish out of the oven & scatter the Parmesan cheese, all over the dish. Place back into the oven & let the dish bake for another 5 minutes or so until the cheese has melted on top! Serve at once with your other side dishes! Happy Eating! :)

 

♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! 🙂

Sophies Foodie Files

Organic yellow tomatoes!
Organic yellow tomatoes!

 

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

71 thoughts on “Parmesan scented yellow tomatoes & green courgettes ( zucchini) bake! A lovely side dish!

    1. Yeah,…it is the end of the great Summer’s produce & soon these tasty veggies won’t be here anymore,… 😀😀 Great minds think alike! 😉

      1. There’s a name for it — I’ll have to find it and let you know. The one I’ve tried has sauteed onions on bottom with thyme and parmie on top. Anyway, you’re on to something…

      1. Yes, I tried them this year. I thought I go for tomatoes I didn`t know before like yellow and black ones. Well, those black tomatoes I don`t like but the yellow ones. Of course, I have the “normal” red tomatoe as well.
        LoL
        Klausbernd

  1. Ohh this sounds amazing and for some reason I can already smell it. I must be hungry, haha or maybe your photos are just that good. Amazing.

  2. I can never get enough zucchinis, and the yellow tomato pairing is both beautiful and brilliant. Really can’t go wrong with this dish, no matter what you serve with it. Knowing me though, I’d probably just eat the whole thing unadorned. 😉

  3. This one is amazing! I’m going to make this Sophie. I have both little yellow tomatoes and big yellow tomatoes in my garden ready for use! And a nice fat zucchini in the fridge. Thanks for sharing!

    1. Tomatoes from the garden are always best, I agree here! Last year, I had yellow tomatoes but not this year, only a lot of red cherry tomatoes!

  4. A lovely side dish indeed. Those tomatoes look gorgeous. I would love to eat them. Thanks for sharing!

  5. This dish is PERFECT! I am picturing it on our table at Thanksgiving dinner. It’s so visually appealing, and those yellow tomatoes are stunning!

    1. Great idea or a vegan Parmesan cheese or a vegan cheese that you now is going to melt into the hot oven, ..;that is what you need! 🙂

  6. Wow Sophie! This looks delicious and I am so in love with those yellow tomatoes!

  7. I love those yellow tomatoes. They look so delicious. Where can I find some? what do they taste like? have a lovely weekend!

    1. Yellow tomatoes do taste like normal red tomatoes maybe a bit sweeter? these yellow tomtoes contain less acidity then the normal red ones! I can find them at my local organic farmer marketbor at my local food Health shop.

Comments are closed.