Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Garlic toasts with Kumato tomatoes & Serrano ham served with Belgian Oude Geuze Beer! Yes!

on 16/09/2013
Tasty tapas with a lovely beer!

Tasty tapas with a lovely beer!

Don't you want to put it right into your mouth????

Don’t you want to put it right into your mouth????

Make these beauties right now,…

Yesterday, my lovely husband Peter made these tasty appetizers aka tapas for me & him. We drank each a glass of our lovely Belgian Oude Geuze Beer with it. This time, my husband chose the more sour Oude Geuze from the Belgian famous brand: Mort Subite!  MMM,..This tapa, served with this beer is the perfect combo! 🙂

Belgian Oude Geuze from Mort Subite is an Oude Geuze that is a bit more sour then other Oude Geuzes. The colour is like amber copper, the flavour tastes between sweet & sour. Its alcohol percentage is: 7%. Oude Geuze from Mort Subite is a mix of old & young Lambic beers, it has not been filtered. The Oude Geuze flavour goes particularly well with the Serrano ham,…Yum, I say! 🙂

Maybe, you can find this special beer, in a specilazed beer shop, near you or online.

Yumm!

Yumm!

Recipe: For 2 persons, each 2 tapas!

Ingredients:

4 Kumato tomatoes, cleaned, stalk & top cut out, cut up into smaller pieces, see pic above

4 slices of a good sourdough bread

1 fat clove of garlic, peeled, cut into 2

4 teaspoons of your best fruity extra virgin olive oil

4 slices of Serrano ham

Black pepper

Method:

1. Toast your bread slices.

2. Rub the base of each toast with the garlic cloves.

3. Divide cut up tomatoes on top of each garlic toast & drizzle some fruity extra virgin olive oil all over them. Fold a slice of Serrano Ham on top & garnish with some fresh black pepper grins. See pic above!  Pour your Oude Geuze Beer in some lovely beer glasses & enjoy it twice with a loved one,…MMMMMMMM …

 

♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! 🙂

Sophies Foodie Files


54 responses to “Garlic toasts with Kumato tomatoes & Serrano ham served with Belgian Oude Geuze Beer! Yes!

  1. So sweet of Peter….the kuamto serrano appetizers look so inviting!

  2. That appetizer looks very inviting! And the beer 🙂

  3. lafleurdesel says:

    I adore serrano ham, and this look SO delicious! Yum! 🙂

  4. Koko says:

    Ooh, loved learning about this beer! Great job Peter! These tapas look great!! What a treat.

  5. ritavegas says:

    I love Serrano ham! Once again,you made me hungry!!

  6. Liz says:

    I think I will just say what you said: Yes! 😉 Thanks, Sophie.

  7. Yummy! I love serrano ham!

  8. Sophie, yum!! This is the sort of dish I would happily eat every day for lunch…um…maybe without the beer every day though. That would just be for a treat! 😀

  9. Norma Chang says:

    How sweet of your Peter. A lovely and delicious tapa.

  10. What a fun combo. It looks so easy and then I bet it hit the spot. Sometimes easy food is the best.

  11. It can’t be any more International collaboration than this! 😀
    How is ‘Kumamoto’ tomatoes different? Is Serrano in front of ham same as Serrano chilies?

    • Sophie33 says:

      Kumato tomato is a special more darker looking tomato. It is fun to use this in the kitchen. It tastes the same as normal tomatoes. Serrano ham is special smokend ham from Serrano in Spain! 😉

  12. Sophie– you’re making me “homesick” for the year we lived in Spain!! Love jamon serrano! This sure does look delicious…

  13. Dear Sophie,
    great, a meal with Belgian beer. I love the Belgian Trapist`s beers very much. I have never heard about this beer but I like my beer unfiltered. The next time I will be on the continent I will try it. Thanks for introducing me to this beer – I like special beers very much 🙂
    Have a happy day.
    A big hug rom
    Klausbernd

  14. Of course I’d have to replace the ham, but still – yum!!

  15. Mary Frances says:

    This could be dinner for me! Looks delicious.

  16. twbarritt says:

    I just love Belgium beer! What a lovely treat!

  17. hotlyspiced says:

    I haven’t heard of that beer but the appetiser with the serrano ham – now that’s something I’m sure I can make here in Oz. It looks very good and I’m sure, incredibly tasty xx

  18. Juliana says:

    Nice a tasty appetizer Sophie…simple and elegant.
    Hope you are having a great week 😀

  19. I love the name of those tomatoes!

  20. This looks delicious and I love how you implemented the kumatos with ham!

  21. I guess his invest on serrano ham was worthed Sophie….hehehe
    i love you add the kumato seed too, it’s like a caviar for me,
    i just hate people the nutritious tomato seed….

  22. Carolyn Jung says:

    That’s like my perfect meal. Seriously, all I need is a little piece of chocolate afterward, and I’d be set. 😉

  23. Oh man, aren’t those kumato tomatoes freaking amazing? I only recently discovered them at Trader Joe’s and will be so sad when they disappear for the season. I hope they stick around a little while longer!

  24. Bernice says:

    What a great appetizer with a cocktail!

  25. Liz says:

    So sweet of your hubby to make you such a delicious snack. The Oude Geuze sounds tempting with that flavour between sweet & sour and the 7% alcohol. I love Belgian beers because of the alcohol content (LOL). You tempt me to try the specilazed beer shop, online…thanks for sharing!

  26. eatongoing says:

    What a perfect appetizer!

Comments are closed.
