Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Home-made Vegan rhubarb-ginger-orange vodka,…oooh yes! :)

on 13/09/2013
Tasty rhubarb-ginger-orange vodka drinkable gifts!

Tasty rhubarb-ginger-orange vodka drinkable gifts!

You know, a while ago, about 1 month ago, I invented a rhubarb-ginger-orange vodka idea. You can read all about it Here,... I had to infuse it all with the sugar for 1 month in a dark place & had to shake the bottle up & down a few times every day. This mix is not Gluten-Free because of the vodka, of course!Β Now, the time has come to bottle them,…ooh yeah: Just look at these tasty beauties! πŸ™‚ You will have to begin with this tasty home-made vodka, 1 month before you want to drink it or give it away for a nice drinkable food gift! πŸ˜‰Β 

Recipe: For 2 x 188 ml filled bottles

Ingredients:

You will need to have a large sterilized bottle, like mine above or a bigger one so that you can double my recipe & aΒ sterilizedΒ lid screw. You can do that by placing them, one cycle in the dishwasher or to boil them for 10 minutes & to use them instantly.Β 

250 gr cleaned rhubarb, cut into 1 to 2 cm pieces

115 gr white sugar

3 cm freshly peeled ginger, cut into smaller pieces

350 ml of a good vodka, I usedΒ Eristoff

zest of 1 unwaxed orange, Β ( no white bits please! )

Method:

1. Place every ingredient in a sterilized bottle & screw the sterilized lid, well back on. Label your Β bottle & shake your bottle up & down & place it in a dry dark cupboard for 1 month. Shake your bottle up & down a few times, each day.

2. After 1 month, your rhubarb-ginger-orange vodka will be darker in colour,…like this:

Ready to be strained!

Ready to be strained!

Shake your bottle one last time & then, take lovely 250 ml bottles, like I did or smaller ones , if you like. Drain well & see that your rhubarb & ginger don’t go into your clean bottles. I put a few small sugared orange zest pieces into each of the bottles. Just look at these beauties! Store in the fridge or in your liqueur cabinet. I like to drink it cold. It is so good,…so strong with a bit of a ginger rhubarb kick! πŸ˜‰ Enjoy, my lovely ones! xxx

TIPS:Β With the leftover vodka infused rhubarb, ginger & orange zest, you can make a simple tasty compoteΒ & serve it on top of vegan vanilla, coconut or nutmilk ice-cream or in a vegan yoghurt!!! ) No waste in my kitchen! πŸ™‚ xxxΒ 

β™₯Β Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

 

Follow me on Facebook too! πŸ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Home-made limoncello & a recipe using it!

51 responses to “Home-made Vegan rhubarb-ginger-orange vodka,…oooh yes! :)

  1. Oooh yes, indeed! I love orange and ginger, I bet this stuff is just fantastic!

  2. I’ve been reading a lot of similar recipe and I’ve been wanting to make something like that. I should really take the plunge…

  3. This is great, Sophie. I’m bookmarking and adding to Pinterest. This could be a really great Christmas present for some friend. Cheers!

  4. afellowsapient says:

    Oh yeah! Let the festivities begin!!!!!! Looks and sounds like it tastes delicious. Definitely going to try it.

  5. ritavegas says:

    It looks soooo good!! I wish I could drink it,though :/ any suggestion for gluten free?

  6. vodca is too damn price stuff for infused here…hehehe
    i’m only use it for making flambee….

  7. Oh yes. Give vodka to me and I’m happy!
    I’m going to try it soon!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Yeah, it is better to double or triple the recipe for a whole lot of vodka: it is so gooooooddddddddd! πŸ˜ƒ X

  8. Liz says:

    you know this gets a huge LIKE from me ! πŸ™‚ What an amazing flavor combination, Sophie.

  9. Saskia (1=2) says:

    Sophie the vodka looks truly amazing but I especially like that you found a use for the leftover vodka-infused rhubarb, ginger & orange! That sounds like a lovely boozy dessert! I’m sure you slept very well after imbibing that.

  10. Hotly Spiced says:

    What a yummy drink. I think I would enjoy these cold and they would make a lovely pre-dinner drink on a hot day xx

  11. Bernice says:

    If only we lived closer – I would come over for a sample… or two… or three πŸ™‚

  12. What a fun and flavorful project! Sounds like perfect holiday gift material to me. πŸ™‚

  13. Your friends must love you Sophie! Not only do you make wonderful food, but you make your own booze! I wish I lived close enough to you to give this stuff a try! Celeste πŸ™‚

  14. nusrat2010 says:

    Refreshing and really really pretty treat πŸ™‚

  15. What a great treat, Sophie!

  16. That is one wild and crazy vodka!

  17. Sabrina says:

    I’m not really into alcohols and spirits, but this looks like quite a fine and dandy gift for friends!

  18. Carolyn Jung says:

    If it has ginger, I am totally down with it. Yes, I am a ginger addict. And proud of it. πŸ˜‰

  19. Koko says:

    I’ve been waiting for this!! They look amazing. I bet the ginger in it is just awesome!!

  20. To Mom & Dad, Well I know that Sophie is one of the best daughters!

  21. Yum-o. Seriously.

  22. Liz says:

    I would really love to try this combo..how long does it keep? Thanks for sharing!

    • Sophie33 says:

      In these bottles, in the fridge, already until now,…That is already 10 days,…nearly all is used up! now! πŸ™‚ x I guess about 10 to 14 days! πŸ™‚

  23. i am loving all these summery flavors. Cheers!! πŸ˜€

  24. Oh WOW. I am going to have to try this!!

Comments are closed.
