Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Marinated chicken in lemon thyme, lemon, lemon zest, garlic & honey

on 12/09/2013

An alternative chicken dish: so easy to make too! :)

A while ago, I was experimenting in making the perfect marinade for chicken. Finally, I came up with this!

Chicken pieces, without skin, are marinated for about 3 to 4 hours in a combo of fresh lemon thyme, zest of 1/2 Sicilian lemon, juice of the same lemon, garlic cloves, a fruity extra virgin olive oil & honey. It is healthy too. This must be tasty, right?? ooh,…yes!
 

 Recipe: For 2 persons

Ingredients:

2 organic chicken fillets, ( Dairy-Free + Gluten-Free ),  350 gr for 2 persons, cleaned, no skin, cut into smaller pieces, (the pieces, cut in a bit so that the marinade can penetrate into the flesh )

1 full handful of fresh lemon thyme, washed & pad dry on kitchen paper/ You can eat the small stalks because they are tender/ remove tougher stalks
juice of 1 Sicilian lemon ( they smell amazingly fresh & sweet ) The skin isn’t treatened with chemicals!!
half of the zest of the same lemon ( 1/2 )
3 fat garlic cloves, peeled & finely diced
5 tablespoons of a fruity evoo
1 to 2 heaped tablespoons of a good honey
grinds of black pepper
some sea salt flakes
** To serve: cooked green beans & red onion slices fried & some new boiled potatoes or a mixed salad.
Method:
1. Take a large Ziplock bag & place all ingredients for the marinade in it, except the chicken. Mix carefully in the bag with a spoon because you don’t want to damage the plastic bag. Add a few grins of black pepper & some sea salt flakes.
2. Add chicken pieces. Close the bag and with the help of your hands, massage the bag on the outside. Then, place the closed bag in a fitted bowl in case of leakage. Place in the fridge for 3 to 4 hours. I marinated my chicken for 4 hours. From time to time, take the bag out of the fridge to massage the bag from the outside. Just before making dinner, take the bag out of the fridge.
3. When the rest of your dinner has been prepared & ready, you can bake the chicken. Lift & drain the chicken with a skimmer but keep the marinade!!!! Take a large non stick pan on medium high heat up. Pour a thin layer of the fruity evoo in it. When hot & sizzling, add the chicken & fry for about 3 to 5 minutes or just until they are well browned & cooked though.  Adjust the heat if you need to. When you turn the chicken in the pan, to fry the other side, pour the remaining marinade all over the chicken,…everything! Fry for about 3 to 4 minutes & the marinade will make that everything will be caramelized. It turns golden brown in colour. Your house will smell amazing!
4. When everything has been cooked through, serve on a plate with cooked green beans & fried red onion slices in the same fruity evoo & with new boiled potatoes. Enjoy, my lovely ones! 🙂♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! 🙂

Sophies Foodie Files

My lovely lemon thyme plant!

 

56 responses to “Marinated chicken in lemon thyme, lemon, lemon zest, garlic & honey

  1. Brilliant recipe, love the marinating flavours! Ummm and limoncello your spoiling us Sophie x

  2. The tangy herby marinade sounds really amazing!

  3. Yum! I love this idea for a marinade – This would go fast on the table here!

  4. The combination sounds delish:)

  5. Liz says:

    I was going to say “delish,” but looks like thegoodfoodtheory beat me to it! Can almost smell that lemon thyme. Honey-glazed chicken will always have a place at my table. Thanks for the recipe, Sophie 🙂

  6. Jim Brennan says:

    You’ve done it again, Sophie!

  7. I love this marinade. I’m always looking for a good chicken recipe and this is one of them! 🙂

  8. Koko says:

    Your thyme plant is so abundant! This looks great Sophie, I’m sure Peter enjoyed it!!

    And limoncello? Yes please!!

  9. Your plant looks great! So much to pick and enjoy! I’d love to make this dish for dinner soon!

  10. lou says:

    Hoi Sophie,
    A lovely recipe. Well done!
    Mamaloyu

  11. Bernice says:

    This looks like a wonderful marinade and dish!

  12. ritavegas says:

    So simple,but so delicious and mouthwatering! Chicken,thyme and lemon is a classic combination in my country 🙂

  13. Hotly Spiced says:

    This chicken looks fantastic. I love your pot of thyme. Great flavours in this dish xx

  14. Ina gawne says:

    Beautiful Sophie…this is right up my alley of favorite dishes! 🙂

  15. I think this gonna be great if i make a confit chicken with it…..
    thans for such inspiring dish Sophie….

  16. Norma Chang says:

    That’s a beautiful pot of lemon thyme, where you live can you leave it out year round?

    • Sophie33 says:

      I don’t know,…I haven’t tried that yet. I always grow them in pots that I can remove + put inside the house too,…! x

  17. Adrian Lupsa says:

    You just remembered me that my thyme died a long time ago. 😦
    You can not ever fail with this combination: chicken + thyme + lemon. Absolutely amazing.

  18. Tammy says:

    Looks lovely Sophie. Not a lot of chicken eating in my house but if there was, this would fit the bill.

  19. Bashar A. says:

    This looks absolutely delicious and I just got a lemon thyme plant as a house warming gift… its growing 🙂

  20. White Pearl says:

    This photo of sizzling delicious looking chicken just gave me goose bumps 😛 I love it ! Really amazing !

  21. Amber says:

    This does look like a perfect marinade! Lemon and thyme are some of my favourite ingredients for cooking chicken. Yum yum!

  22. I can’t wait to try this one…it’s right up my alley. I love all the ingredients and I can already taste the flavors. Thanks Sophie!

  23. Whoa Sophie– that sauce looks so thick and rich– I would love to try this recipe for dinner soon!
    thanks.

  24. Honey and thyme makes for great flavors and caramelization. Yummy and hearty chicken 🙂

  25. afracooking says:

    mmm I love chicken and this recipe looks like it is right down my alley.

Comments are closed.
