Posted in Recipes

Vegan veggie pasta sauce with seitan on a bed of spelt spaghetti

A tasty vegan pasta sauce with fennel, red bell pepper, garlic, seitan on a bed of semi-wholemeal spaghetti!
A tasty vegan pasta sauce with fennel, red bell pepper, garlic, seitan on a bed of semi-wholemeal spaghetti!

Yesterday evening, I made this tasty vegan pasta sauce. I served it with semi-wholemeal spelt spaghetti. I added some veggies too, of course! Instead of real mince, I used vegan seitan mince. I love seitan mince over real pork & veal mince anyway. So, this is how I did it:

The sauce is Vegan + Gluten-free!
The sauce is Vegan + Gluten-free!

Yummm! Don’t you want a big plate full?

Recipe: For 3 persons, each a big part!

Ingredients:

seitan mince : 200 gr

black pepper

Maldon sea salt

2 big red bell peppers ( red paprika ), cleaned, seeds, white bits & top cut out, cut into bigger parts —- They will get into the food processor later!

1 big fennel bulb, or 2 smaller ones, tubes & hard core removed, cut into thicker parts —– they will get into the food processor later!

2 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & chopped

mixed spiced dried chili pepper flakes, in a grinder

Provençal dried herbs : 1 teaspoon

a fruity Extra Virgin Olive Oil

spaghetti seasoning: 1/2 teaspoon

350 gr of semi-wholemeal spelt spaghetti

700 ml of tomato passata

Method:

1. First, put garlic & red bell pepper pieces in your food processor. Blitz until it is very fine, like this:

2 blitzed red bell peppers with the garlic!
2 blitzed red bell peppers with the garlic!

Take a large cooking pot & heat up on high. Pour 2 big swirls of that fruity evoo in it. When hot, add blitzed red bell pepper garlic mix. Fry for a bit. Lower the heat if you need to. Add 1/2 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt & 5 grins of finely milled black pepper. Then, add 700 ml of tomato passata to the pot. Add 1 teaspoon of dried Provençal herbs & 1/2 teaspoon of spaghetti seasoning. Stir often. Then, I added 20 grins of that mill with mixed dried chili flakes in it. Cook for 5 minutes.

2. Now, place your fennel pieces in your food processor & blitz nearly fine. So, blitz for 3/4. You still need lots of pieces left to see, for the eye.  Something like this:

Adding the fennel pieces to the hot tomato sauce.
Adding the fennel pieces to the hot tomato sauce.

Add to the tomato sauce. Cook for a further 5 minutes or until the fennel pieces are just cooked through. Then, I added an extra 5 grins of that mill with mixed dried chili flakes in it. Your sauce will be a bit spicy in your mouth & lips but not too much, just right to taste the red bell peppers & the fennel too. ;) Finally, I fried the seitan mince in some olive oil & added sea salt & black pepper. I fried it until it was browned on all sides. Add to the tomato-veggies sauce. Stir well. Taste again. Your sauce must be lipsmacking tasty! Cook your spelt spaghetti according to your packet instructions & drain well.

Serve instantly with a loved one! :) MMM,…!!!

♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

 

Follow me on Facebook too! 🙂

Sophies Foodie Files

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

73 thoughts on “Vegan veggie pasta sauce with seitan on a bed of spelt spaghetti

      1. Yes I prefer seitan although I’ve never had seitan mince before! But for anyone wanting to try your recipe gluten free. there is an option 🙂

  1. I guess once a person sets her mind to eat vegan whenever possible, comes up with delectable recipe like this. I know how satisfyingly delicious this recipe must be. 😛

    1. hihihi, Thanks, Fae! 🙂 This sauce is really refreshing with all of the fennel in it & so tasty with the seitan mince too! 🙂 Enjoy! x

  2. This looks really yummy Sophie! My husband is Italian and loves pasta! He tells me I don’t make it enough, so I’m going to make this for him soon!! Celeste 🙂

  3. It looks yummy 🙂 I could used soy instead of seitan. My father used to make us vegan GF pasta with minced soya and it was so delicious!! You just made me hungry Sophie!! I love pastas!!

  4. Dear Sophie,
    looks great! I will try it but will leave the garlic out. I don`t like garlic and Siri and Selma neither.
    Here it`s stormy and quite cold – the autumn has arrived over night, the sea is wild …
    Hugs from
    Klausbernd 🙂

  5. I’ve really been neglecting my blog and cooking in general. It has just been too busy. But I have a few minutes before running out the door so I thougth I would check out your latest recipe. And as I expected: it really is something original and inspiring. Looks amazing! I must try this – seitan I don’t use nearly enough!

  6. Sophie, the vegan sauce looks very tempting…nice meal.
    Hope you are enjoying your week my dear 😀

  7. Marvelous! This looks very delicious! I love how you minced the veggies-it must give the sauce such a nice, thick texture! ! I’ll definitely try this sometime. I didn’t realize that red bell pepper is the same is paprika! What is seitan? I assume tomato passata is tomato paste?

    1. Seitan is a non-soy product. It is made from wheat protein & is a bit chewy like meat. To mato passata is not tomtao paste at all, it is mixed sieved or non-sieved tomatoes where you make your tomato sauce with, as a base.

  8. A classic, delicious dish! You are so good at using seitan….I never remember to buy it, but it’s so perfect for things like this!!

  9. I haven’t heard of that kind of vegan mince. I’ll try to find out if it’s available here. That does look like a very satisfying meal xx

  10. Mmm, how delicious! Sounds like a comforting, easy dinner to me. Although, I hate to say it, but it wouldn’t be gluten-free since seitan is essentially pure gluten. Sure wouldn’t deter me from taking a heaping helping though.

    1. I know, I was wrong in my original title but I love all things seitan! 🙂 I prefer that to tofu mince, etc! 🙂 Enjoy! x

Comments are closed.