Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Lovely easy appetizers!

on 03/09/2013
Delightful & tasty appetizers!

Delightful & tasty appetizers!

Yesterday, I made these lovely appetizers.

I had the lovely produce of 16 red cherry tomatoes from my own 2 home-grown plants. I wanted to use them so their flavour would be superior in their own right.

I looked what I had in the fridge & made these beauties. I know it is an adapted classic but it is really tasty! Try it & you will see!

Lovely food!

Lovely food!

Recipe: For 2 larger appetizer glasses

Ingredients:

1 ball of fresh Buffalo mozzarella, drained, pad dry a bit on kitchen paper & cut into smaller bite-sizedchunks

black pepper

Maldon sea salt

dried oregano: about 1/8 teaspoon to 1/4 teaspoon

a fruity EVOO = Extra Virgin Oilve Oil

cleaned spring onions: 2 green tubes, cut into thicker rings / discard the white bits & use for other recipes

6 red cherry tomatoes, cut into 2

2 thin slices of Bayonne ham:  Gluten-free : this is an air-dried salted ham that takes its name from the ancient port city of Bayonne in the far South West of France, a city located in both the cultural regions of Basq country & Gascoigne. Jambon de Bayonne has PGI status. This means protected geographical indication (PGI). Slice the 2 slices vertically into 2 long slices, remove the excess white fat & roll them, not too tightly up. So you end up with 4 smaller rolled up slices.

black pepper

Method:

1. Take a medium bowl add the chunks of Buffalo mozzarella, 1/8 teaspoon of dried oregano, a few grins of black pepper: finely milled, a touch of sea salt & a drizzle of 2 to 3 of that fruity extra virgin olive oil. It just to moisten the mix a bit & for their flavours too. Add a bit more dried oregano if you want, according to your taste. Take your appetizer glasses & place 1/4 of the mix into each glass, on the bottom. Then place 6 halved cherry tomatoes on top of that, with the flat side upwards. Do the same with the other glass. Top with the rest of the mozzarella mix, evenly divided in the 2 glasses.

2. Top this with 2 rolled up slices of the Bayonne ham. Grin some finely black pepper over the top, onto these 2 slices. Do the same for the other glass.

3. Finally, divide the green scallions rings all over the top of each glass & place into the fridge to cool off a bit. 30 minutes is ideal.

Serve this with a loved one & this is also great with a lovely rosé wine like Jacob’s Creek, Cool harvest: Shiraz Rosé, 2011 with hints of strawberries & a lovely delicate spiciness in the background! A lovely pairing!

Enjoy, my lovely ones! ;)

♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

 

Follow me on Facebook too! 🙂

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Garlic toasts with Kumato tomatoes & Serrano ham served with Belgian Oude Geuze Beer

 

63 responses to “Lovely easy appetizers!

  1. laurasmess says:

    Yum! I love simple dishes that taste amazing. These appetizers sound great…. mozzarella with tomatoes and onions is such a gorgeous, classic combo… particularly with some fruity evoo! Thanks Soph (love your presentation too, those forks are so cute!) xxx

  2. Norma Chang says:

    Wonderful presentation, simple yet elegant, just lovely.

  3. Liz says:

    how clever to put them in drinking glasses 🙂

  4. Britta says:

    Yum! I love that instead of putting it on a plate, you used a glass. Makes everything so much more CLASSY! Nothing better then pairing simple ingredients, always tastes the best! 🙂

  5. ritavegas says:

    Simple and delicious! I really love your garden!

  6. CortneyStanchfield says:

    They look wonderful! 🙂

  7. Eva Taylor says:

    It does look lovely and very tasty Sophie. Nothing better than home grown tomatoes for sure.

  8. Easy to prepare and so delicious!

  9. Bernice says:

    What a wonderful appetizer and I love you were able to use what was in your refrigerator. 🙂

  10. Such fun cute appetizers!! I love the presentation. So so cute 🙂

  11. They look very colorful and tasty! Yum!

  12. Juliana says:

    So elegant these appetizers Sophie…so nice using home grown cherry tomatoes…
    Have a lovely week ahead 😀

  13. So classy and gourmet 😀
    Delicious!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  14. I think you just created my new favorite snack in the world! What an awesome job!

  15. Amy Tong says:

    I love these simple, yet gorgeous appetizers! I have a few cherry tomatoes plants too. Aren’t they the best? 🙂 Can’t wait to give this a try.

  16. they look so tasty! And I love the forks 🙂

  17. Yu’mmy Sophie!
    I did not know meats came as gluten free too. Please educate me… I thought gluten was in grains only. I have to learn a lot.

    • Sophie33 says:

      Sometimes, I have to search it up too or read the label really well! 🙂
      I can eat gluten, no problem anymore!

  18. The look amazing Sophie, great dinner party starter. Lovely photos too!

  19. Dear Sophie,
    thanks, that`s seems easy to prepare as well – I will try it 🙂
    You have quite funny forks but I suppose my “normal” forks will do as well 😉 But Siri and Selma would love your forks, I know.
    With a big hug from the sea
    Klausbernd

  20. Mary Frances says:

    A light and tasty appetizer, and pretty too! That’s one to remember.

  21. Carolyn Jung says:

    Very resourceful. And you presented it so beautifully, too. Definitely an appetizer any guest would welcome.

  22. hotlyspiced says:

    These are very pretty and beautifully presented and would make a lovely entree for a dinner party. I haven’t heard of that type of ham before but it looks very good xx

  23. Ina gawne says:

    Sophie…I love your appetizer – how delicious, especially with home grown tomatoes – there is nothing better than that! 🙂

  24. I guess this kind of of apperizer is worth for the price,
    never hears about Bayonne ham, i think iberico is the best substitude

  25. Koko says:

    Wow, these look great!! I actually thought the ham was smoked salmon at first!! These look nice and fancy- a beautiful presentation!

  26. Karen says:

    With excellent ingredients like you used, your appetizers had to be an enjoyable way to start a meal.

  27. Sophie– these are SO cute! and look delicious! I’m totally doing doing this at our next dinner with friends. thanks for the great idea.

  28. Adrian Lupsa says:

    Really original idea. Never thought to serve an appetizer into a glass. 🙂

  29. Amber says:

    Oh! I would love to try the Bayonne ham! I love French foods!

  30. those little forks are so cute! nice touch.

Comments are closed.
