Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Rhubarb chocolate compote & a rhubarb-ginger vodka in progress,…

on 13/08/2013
A delectable rhuabrb chocolate compote!

A delectable rhubarb chocolate compote!

Yesterday, I received a whole bunch of fresh rhubarb from a neighbour’s garden! I made this lovely Vegan & Gluten-free tasty rhubarb chocolate compote yesterday afternoon. It needed to be in the fridge overnight to let the flavours mingle & to get a bit thicker.

MMM! :)

MMM! ๐Ÿ™‚

I also began making a home-made rhubarb, ginger vodka but it need to be in a sterilized bottle for 1 month. I need to shake the bottle up & down each day. I need to store it in a dark cupboard for 1 month. So, if you have a lot of rhubarb to use up, make my tasty rhubarb chocolate compote to begin with,…or make this soon to be lovely rhubarb-ginger vodka! I will give you updates soon,…

My lovely rhubarb-ginger mix, soon to be a lovely rhuabrb-ginger wodka!

My lovely rhubarb-ginger mix, soon to be a lovely rhubarb-ginger vodka!

First, my rhubarb chocolate compote recipe:

For 3 smaller jam pots:

Ingredients:

1 kg or cleaned rhubarb, cut into 2 cm pieces

2 teaspoons of ground cinnamon

coconut sugar: 9 tablespoons

chocolate shavings, at least 74% cacao, 8 to 9 tablespoons

2 teaspoons of gluten-free vanilla extract/ I used home-made

1 tablespoon of water

Method:

1. Take a large cooking pot & add all of your ingredients in it, like this:

All the yummy ingredients for my rhubarb chocolate compote!

All the yummy ingredients for my rhubarb chocolate compote!

& cook on a medium fire until it all comes together & it forms sort ofย aย compote. Stir often. Do not let the sugar burn!! Lower your heat if you need to. It took my gas fire about 10 to 13 minutes until it was just sublime. With this amount of coconut sugar, your compote will be a bit sweeter but not too sweet either. I used normal green-red rhubarb for this but if you only use the red rhubarb stalks, you will need less coconut sugar! When your compote has been cooled a bit, pour it into lovely jam pots with fitting lid & place in the fridge to cool down completely, at least for 8 hours or overnight. The next day, your compote is really yummy & a bit thicker. You can taste the lovely rhubarb, a hint of cinnamon & a lovely chocolate taste! ๐Ÿ˜‰ MMMM!

How to use up?

1. It is lovely on its own, eaten with a lovely spoon, straight from the jar.

2. It is great swirled in a lovely soy or coconut yoghurt.

3. It is great on crackers or on toasted sourdough bread,…mmmm!

4. It is great warmly served: on top of home-made waffles, on top of pancakes, with yoghurt & muesli for a great breakfast
5. Use it for making desserts, like in crisps, crumbles or cobblers,โ€ฆ
Yummy!

Yummy!

Now, for this tasty rhubarb-ginger vodka, in progress,…

MMM,..;after 1 mobth, it will be,..

MMM,…after 1 month, it will be,…

Recipe: For 1/2 bottle of rhubarb-ginger vodka/ This mix is not Gluten-Free because of the vanilla extract & the vodka, of course!

Ingredients:

You will need to have a sterilized bottle, like mine above or a bigger one so that you can double my recipe & aย sterilizedย lid screw. You can do that by placing them, one cycle in the dishwasher or to boil them for 10 minutes & to use them instantly.ย 

250 gr cleaned rhubarb, cut into 1 to 2 cm pieces

115 gr white sugar

3 cm freshly peeled ginger, cut into smaller pieces

350 ml of a good vodka, I used Eristoff

zest of 1 unwaxed orange, ย ( no white bits please! )

Method:

1. Place every ingredient in this sterilized bottle & screw the lid, well back on. Label your ย bottle & shake your bottle up & down & place it in a dry dark cupboard for 1 month. Shake your bottle up & down a few times, each day. The next steps, I will share with you later,… Bye for now & enjoy, your rhubarb chocolate compote!,…:)

 

โ™ฅย Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! ๐Ÿ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. ย Spiced rhubarb compote!

2. Vegan double ginger & rhubarb jam

3. Home-made limoncello!

59 responses to “Rhubarb chocolate compote & a rhubarb-ginger vodka in progress,…

  1. Thomas says:

    Great idea with the rhubarb, ginger and vodka really love it ๐Ÿ™‚ so after a month please post on what it tastes like ๐Ÿ™‚ x

  2. Yum yum yum! I made rosemary, chilli vodka and peach, sage gin for my birthday and they were incredible. What good fortune that i have a bunch of rhubarb in my freezer- those falvours sounds heavenly!

  3. Hotly Spiced says:

    How lovely to be given some home-grown rhubarb. It looks like you made the most of the bounty. I’d love to try rhubarb with vodka xx

  4. I am going to plant rhubarb soon! Can’t wait to read about your vodka ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Tammy says:

    Off to make vodka!!

  6. Eva Taylor says:

    I have some rhubarb in the freezer that also came from a friends garden, these are two really great ways to use them up!

  7. ritavegas says:

    I really wanna see how it will be after a month! It looks really yummy! I post it and I’ll make it for sure! I love ginger!

  8. Adrian Lupsa says:

    Amazing! Unfortunately, in the region where I live, rhubarb is not very common. You can find it sometimes at the supermarket, but it’s quite expensive. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I’m going to try it one day. Maybe I should try to grow my own. ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. Don’t see rhubarb these days…I think the season is over here. Your homemade compote looks delish!

  10. Are you kidding me? Rhubarb. Ginger. Vodka. Sounds SO delicious! Can’t wait to give it a shot.

  11. lou says:

    Hallo Sophie,
    Limoncello, o.k.! The proof of the pudding is in the eating. I’ll be your volunteer.
    Cheers.
    Mamalou

  12. Norma Chang says:

    Rhubarb, ginger and vodka, that’s sounds like a wonderful combo and bet delicious.

  13. wow very creative love the idea of adding choc

  14. CortneyStanchfield says:

    Wow this looks amazing Sophie! Bring me some please! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Koko says:

    OMG! This compote looks to die for, and VODKA!? Rhubarb vodka?? I’m in!!! It sounds great…I can’t wait to see how it turns out! What an awesome idea!!

  16. What a wonderful compote, am I can actually try this now ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Glad to be back!
    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  17. Never thought of chocolate and rhubarb together! It looks yummy. I’m just starting to see rhubarb in the stores – got to love late summer produce!

  18. Katarina says:

    Wow, what a great creation. I love rhubarb ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. I saw the word VODKA and I had to check this out! Two yummy recipes girlfriend!! I’d love to have dinner at your house one day. Celeste ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. Homegrown rhubarb is amazing! I find that it’s incredibly sensitive to the environment where it’s grown, so the flavors can vary wildly, and each garden has its own terroir. That reminds me, I really should go pay a visit to my rhubarb-growing friends, too… Especially because I’m dying to make this recipe- Incredible!

  21. Blond Duck says:

    Sounds delicious!

  22. Karen says:

    I’m looking forward to the updates…especially the infused vodka.

  23. Carolyn Jung says:

    Oh wow, that ginger-rhubarb vodka sounds killer good. Mmm, I can just imagine it muddled with a little fresh mint.

  24. Liz says:

    Lucky to have a neighbour with rhubarb in the garden. This sounds delicious and what is coconut sugar, if I may I ask? Do I just make it myself? thanks for sharing!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Coconut blossom sugar is a low GI & it is very nutritious too. Here is a good link. I only use maple syrup & coconut sugar as my sweeteners.
      Coconut blossom sugar is an alternative sweetener. It is beet sugar-free. It is also called Gula Java Brut. This is 100% unsweetened coconut blossom sugar. It is slighty brown in colour. It has a lower glycemic index than agave. Itโ€™s GI index is 35. Agave is 40. It also has a lot of minerals and vitamins.
      Gula Java is coconut blossom sugar from Java. Harvested by tapers high in the coconut trees, the sweet nectar from the coconut blossom is a cherished resource. Above the log fire, the nectar slowly changes into a delicious, unrefined rich sugar as it is gently stirred in the pan, allowing you to enjoy its sweetness and soft caramel flavour at any time of the day.
      But it isnโ€™t as sweet as normal sugar. It is great in cobblerโ€™s, in crumbles, in cakes, in desserts, etc. You can also use it in savoury dishes.

      https://sophiesfoodiefiles.wordpress.com/2010/10/15/sophies-healthy-gluten-free-and-sugar-free-banana-and-almond-butter-cake-with-dark-chocolate-chips/

      • Liz says:

        Thanks so much for introducing me to Coconut Sugar. I love learning new things and I’m also curious so I must find it and taste it and use it. Is it more likely to find it in a health store or just a normal grocery store? I shall be on the lookout, today or tomorrow. Thanks, Sophie, taking time to pass on this information! Wish you a lovely day!

  25. Liz says:

    Both yum, but what a great idea to add the ginger to the vodka! Made rhubarb vodka a month or so ago, and it’s good, but would be better with ginger I’m sure. Rhubarb is a treasure for sure.

  26. MMmmmm… love and missing rhubarb so much! Love the idea of ginger vodka!

Comments are closed.
