Posted in Recipes

A tasty Vegan & Gluten-Free refreshing side dish!

MMM8 Divine Vegan & Gluten-Free! :)
MMM8 Divine Vegan & Gluten-Free! πŸ™‚

A few days ago, I made this tasty side dish. It is a combo of purple carrots, sweet potato chunks mingled with fresh ginger & scallions. It so good. The flavour is even better, the next day, eaten like a cold salad, maybe with some grilled fish on the side. Or with a cold lentil- tomato- green salad. It is also very tasty on its own!

The ginger-spring onion paste!
The ginger-spring onion paste!

This is what you need:

Recipe: for 4 persons

Ingredients:

2 large sweet potatoes, peeled & cut up into smaller chunks

7 purple carrots, peeled & cut up into smaller chunks

Maldon sea salt

Black pepper

piece of fresh ginger, 5 cm x 2 cm, peeled & cut up roughly

5 spring onions, cleaned & white & green parts kept, cut up roughly

a fruity evoo

Method:

1. Cook your sweet potato & your purple carrots together in some salted water until al dente. Drain well & steam them a bit, to get rid of the excess of water. Keep warm.

2. Take your food processor & add spring onions & ginger. Blitz until it forms a sort of a past, like picture above! You want smaller bits of everything, mingled well together. Taste! It has to taste just right! I added a few pinches of sea salt & 8 grins of black pepper to it & blitzed it again until it tastes like you want it to be.

3. Fry your ginger-spring onion combo in some hot fruity evoo until a bit crispy. Add this to the sweet potato-purple carrot combo & mingle everything together. Serve instantly. I served it with fried organic marinated turkey pieces, a mixed green salad & sliced cherry tomatoes from my own garden! It is also very tasty, eaten cold, the next day with a lentil-green salad. Enjoy! πŸ™‚

β™₯Β Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

 

Follow me on Facebook too! πŸ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

50 thoughts on “A tasty Vegan & Gluten-Free refreshing side dish!

    1. Thanks, my friend! πŸ™‚ I try out new ideas & most of the time, they work out really well but sometimes they don’t! 😦 πŸ™‚ xx

  1. Carrot and sweet potato is a great combination of two ingredients I love very much and the addition of spring onions and ginger, adds so much flavour. Thanks I shall try this one. I always have carrots and sweet potatoes lurking around. Enjoy your weekend!

  2. I am intrigued! I second what Novice Gardener has already said–you are so creative, Sophie πŸ™‚

  3. These bright and simple flavors sound fantastic! I would love that herbaceous dressing on just about any veggie you can name, but the sweet potato and carrot combination does sound like a well-balanced choice.

    1. Thanks so much! I would think thei dresing would be great on top of roasted green asparagus! πŸ™‚ thanks, Hannah! x

  4. Mmmmmmmm. This ginger-spring onion paste looks super delish! I love anything with scallion and ginger especially in my Asian dishes! Would they work on any potatoes? I’m not too fond of sweet potatoes, except for Japanese ones.

  5. This sounds wonderful Soph!!! I adore sweet potato, I eat it at least a few times per week. I’ve never tried this way of cooking it though, sounds divine. Definitely on my to-try list! xx

  6. What a creative idea! I think I would loooove the ginger/ spring onion combo. I love recipes that are even better the next day…such great leftovers!

Comments are closed.