Posted in Recipes

Curried fennel, carrot quinoa soup ( Vegan + Gluten-Free!!! )

A divine healthy 1 pot meal! Hotly curried fennel, carrot & quinoa soup!
A divine healthy 1 pot meal!
Hotly curried fennel, carrot & quinoa soup!

Yesterday, I made this tasty one pot meal aka soup. It is more of a stew then a soup. If you have leftovers, the quinoa & veggies will soak up nearly all the liquid ( Vegan & GF stock ) that is left & you need more extra hot stock if you want it to be a soup!!!! You must add 500 ml to 1000 ml of a hot vegan & Gf stock & reheat it all!! So, on day 2, I ate this like a stew & reheated it but my husband ate it cold because it was a hot sunny day! It was still damn tasty! MMM,…!

Yum Yum Yum!!!
Yum Yum Yum!!!

Recipe: For a whole lot of soup!

Ingredients:

550 gr cleaned fennel, tubes & hard core removed, cut into bite-sized pieces ( weighted when cut up )

400 gr cleaned,peeled carrots, cut into rounds, each round about 0.5 to 1 cm thick ( weighted when peeled & cut up )

2 fat cloves of young garlic, peeled & finely cut up

150 gr rinsed, uncooked white normal quinoa

1500 ml of a hot vegan & Gf stock

4 heaped teaspoons of hotly spiced curry powder, divided into 2 heaped teaspoons + 2 heaped teaspoons

10 grins of finely milled black pepper + 8 grins of finely milled black pepper

1 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt, crushed in your hand

a fruity evoo

Method:

1. Take a large & deep cooking pot & heat up on high. When hot, add drizzles of a fruity evoo. Add garlic & fennel pieces. Add 2 heaped teaspoons of hot spiced curry powder & sauteé until browned a bit &  fennel pieces are less raw & caramelized a bit. This will take about 10 minutes or more. Add the carrot rounds & sauté them too, for about 5 minutes. Now, add rest of the 2 heaped teaspoons of hot spiced curry powder & stir well. Pour that hot Vegan GF stock all over it & add the rinsed uncooked quinoa. I added 10 grins of finely milled black pepper. Stir everything well round in the pot. I lowered my heat to medium high. My quinoa needed 12 minutes of cooking. I cooked my soup, for about 15 minutes. Stir often. Lower your heat, if you need to. Taste after 15 minutes of cooking. My fennel was just right & my carrot rounds were just cooked through. My quinoa was also ready. Check the seasoning again. I added 8 grins of finely milled black pepper & 1 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt. Stir & taste again! You must taste the hot spiced curry, the fennel & the carrots. You will end up with a golden-yellow soup! I did not mix my soup!! If you want, you can add more hot stock, but I didn’t do that! I served it straight away & enjoy it with a loved one! 🙂 MMM!

♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

 

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Vegan hotly spiced curried white cabbage & pumpkin soup!

2. My spiced up pumpkin soup!

3. Jerusalem artichokes & fennel soup!

4. Tomato soup with fennel & haloumi croutons!

5. Corn & fennel soup with Parmesan thyme crisps!

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

46 thoughts on “Curried fennel, carrot quinoa soup ( Vegan + Gluten-Free!!! )

    1. It isn’t that spicy but just right! It is only 4 heaped teaspoons of hot curry powder over 1 big filled pot!

  1. YUM! This soup looks fantastic Sophie! Nothing I love more than a 1 pot meal 🙂 It’s been so warm here in British Columbia that I have to hold off making soup for a little while, but I will save this recipe for a cozy rainy day – perfect! Have a great weekend!

  2. It’s never occurred to me to put quinoa in a soup, but what a fantastic idea. It would work so well with broth. My tummy rumbles… 😉

  3. All I ever used quinoa was, in liue of rice and in salad. Never thought of it in a soup. I’m going to try it in a soup too! I like all the ingredients. Thanks! 😀

  4. This soup looks tasty and nutritious! I love the addition of the quinoa – a great way to add protein. Looks like this would be a good recipe to make on a rainy day!

  5. Hello Sophie,
    It’s a good idea to put guinoa in the soup. Well done! A new recipe for us to think about..
    Mamalou

  6. What an original combination of flavours – I can really imagine the fennel lifting this to a very light and fresh soup!

    1. I try anything what is not supposed to be,….! 🙂 Yeah for you! quinoa: you will love it too! I love the white normal pne & red quinoa too, red quinoa is more a nutty flavour!

  7. That is a recipe I will try om a less hot day than today (it’s close to 100 degrees in NY today!). I love soup!

    1. Waw, that 37.7 °C! I just had to convert it !!! That’s way too hot but this is also best eaten freshly cold straight from ather fridge the next day! I ate it like that too! 🙂

  8. looks very good Sophie… love the fennel, carrot and quinoa with a curry flavour 🙂 Nice one 🙂

  9. Curried fennel sounds delicious, and with the quinoa for protein and to keep ya full, it DOES sound damn tasty!! I want some now!

Comments are closed.