Posted in Uncategorized

CSC or CSI?

Ha, I got your attention now, don’t I? What are you thinking right now?

I love CSI series a lot & my favourites at the moment are CSI Miami & CSI Los Angeles, …ooh yeah! But because this is a foodblog, I chose CSC! CSC stands for Cumin Spiced Carrots! This sounds really good, doesn’t it? I just bought a new pot of ground cumin & I had to use it, right? So, I made this fabulous, tasty & easy side dish! The side dish is Vegan, Gluten-Free & Vegetarian. I served this fabulous roasted spiced side dish with a lovely sweet potato mash with olive oil & fried organic chicken pieces. This is equally tasty with tasty vegan chorizo sausages! MMM,…I assure you! You can savour it while watching your favourite CSI,…! πŸ˜‰

MMMMMMMMMMM! A lovely vegan, GF & vegetraian side dish!
MMMMMMMMMMM!
A lovely vegan, GF side dish!

I used a combo of purple & normal orange carrots here. I am sure you want to make instantly for yourself & your loved one: Success guaranteed! πŸ˜‰

Yummy for my tummy! :)
Yummy for my tummy! πŸ™‚

Recipe: For 2 persons with a lot of hunger!

Ingredients:

* For the CSC = Cumin Spiced Carrots:

615 gr purple carrots, peeled & cut into 2 horizontally or into 4 , if they are too thick ( weighted with peel on! )

270 gr normal orange carrots, peeled, cut into 2 or into 4 horizontally, if the carrots are too thickΒ ( weighted with peel on! )

3 teaspoons ground cumin

2 tablespoons of a fruity evoo ( extra virgin olive oil )

8 grins of finely milled black pepper

1/2 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt

* For the sweet potato mash:

600 gr sweet potatoes, peeled Β cut into smaller chunks

a fruity evoo, the same as above

finely milled black pepper

some Maldon sea salt

some herbamare salt

* To serve: I fried some organic chicken pieces in some fruity evoo & seasoned them with poultry seasoning on both sides. Fried until golden brown & cooked through. Then, I rested the chicken pieces for 5 minutes & kept them warm.

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 200Β°C (400 F ) for 10 minutes. I always use a fan oven. Adjust your oven to the right temperature. Place your sliced carrots, all in 1 layer in a large fitted non-stick oven dish. Drizzle your fruity evoo all over the carrots, evenly divided. Scatter your 3 teaspoons of cumin, grins of finely milled black pepper & your sea salt over it all. With clean hands, mingle everything together so that spices & oil have coated each piece of carrot, on all sides. Place into the center of the oven & roast for about 20 minutes until roasted & tender. Check often to prevent burning! Your house will smell amazing!

2. In the meantime, boil sweet potato pieces with some herbamare salt added, until cooked through. Mine took me 13 minutes. Drain well & steam the excess water off for 1 minute or so. Mash & add some grins of finely milled black pepper & some sea salt, but not too much. Drizzle a swirl or 2 of that same fruity evoo all over the potato pieces & mash well or until your liking. I added some extra sea salt & tasted it again. It must taste fab! Serve instantly with your CSC & your fried chicken pieces or vegan chorizo sausages! Happy eating! πŸ˜‰ MMM,…!!!

β™₯Β Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

 

Follow me on Facebook too! πŸ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

55 thoughts on “CSC or CSI?

    1. ooh yeah, NCIS Los Angelas is pretty good too! πŸ™‚ thanks for stopping by Susanne! Enjoy the CSC!!!! xx

  1. That reminds me… I’m out of cumin! I best buy some on my next grocery trip so I can try out these wonderful looking carrots!

  2. I would indeed like to make these instantly πŸ™‚ Cumin Spiced Carrots is a lovely thought. And I love how you turned it into reality! Yum yum yum.

  3. Great recipe Sophie! Roasted is already my favorite way to cook carrots, but I bet the cumin makes them just perfect!

    1. yes, yes, yes, Starr! πŸ™‚ It is just prefect with all of the rest! The flavours complement each other! πŸ™‚

  4. The sweet taste of carrots and cumin are such a terrific match. Roasting them like you did really enhances the flavors.

  5. The CSC meal sounds really yummy. And as I have lots of carrots right now I will try it out when my vegetarian neighbours come around for a meal. The recipe came to the right time because I never really know what too cook for them. Thank you πŸ™‚
    Have a happy day
    Klausbernd πŸ™‚

      1. But I tell you, carrots are not easy to grow. I was picking stones from the soil for days. But you are right they are very, very tasty. Now I have to prepare the dinner it`s hard work for me πŸ˜‰
        My dear friend have a great evening
        Klausbernd
        Siri and Selma are already in the kitchen shouting for me …

  6. I am too a fan of CSI…but CSI Las Vegas is my favourite πŸ™‚ Your cumin spiced carrots look mouthwatering.
    p.s I am so glad that you have tried and enjoyed the bread. Thanks, Sophie.

  7. I’ve never watched CSI, so I’m definitely going for the CSC instead! Carrots and cumin are a really tasty combination, and the sweet potato mash sounds lovely too.

  8. Love cooked carrots–they look so roasty good in your photo! and hmmmm, I’ve never watched CSI Los Angeles and that’s where I live. Maybe I should take a look at it.

  9. Hah! Love the CSI/CSC title. I’m kind of excited this was more about “CSC” and less about CSI because they look great!! Although I do enjoy a good episode of CSI πŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.