Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Sophie’s Divine Summer coloured salad!

on 27/06/2013
A divine Seasonal strawberry, Buffalo mozzerella, muliticoloured tomato salad!

A divine Seasonal strawberry, Buffalo mozzarella, multicoloured tomato salad!

Yesterday evening, I made this tasty & divine multi coloured tomato & Buffalo mozzarella salad! I added fresh strawberries to it. Drizzled it with a divine aged balsamic vinegraitte & devoured it instantly with my loved one! This is easy to make, great in textures & flavours & great for dinner parties too! This is lovely with a crisp chilled rosé wine, like this lovely Fair trade rosé: Koopmanskloof, pinotage rosé, Stellenbosch 2012, wine of South-Africa! 

I buy mine in De OxfamWereldwinkel.

My lovely Rosé wine!

My lovely Rosé wine!

Read on how I made it all!

Check it out, my lovely one’s!

MMM!  Easy to prepare & great for a dinner party too! ;)

MMM!
Easy to prepare & great for a dinner party too! 😉

Recipe: for 2 full plates

Ingredients:

3 to 5 green zebra tomatoes: hulled, cut into thinner slices, so that you end up with 12 slices!

9 red cherry tomatoes: cut into 28 yellow cherry tomatoes, cut into 2

6 Kumato cherry tomatoes: cut into 2

10 yellow cherry tomatoes: cut into 2

black pepper

sea salt

3 handfuls of rocket leaves: cleaned & torn into 2 or 3 with your hands

1 + 1/2 of a good Italian brand Buffalo mozzarella balls, well-leaked out, pad dry on kitchen paper, cut into smaller rounds & then into 2

8 large basil leaves, cleaned & torn into smaller pieces

2 tablespoons of toasted pine nuts

10 large fresh strawberries, cleaned, hulled & sliced into 2 or 3 slices

balsamic vinaigrette:

a good old dark balsamic vinegar: 6 tablespoons

a fruity evoo: 10 tablespoons

black pepper, finely milled: 10 grins

Maldon sea salt: 1 teaspoon, crushed in your hand

 

 

Method:

1. Firstly, make your vinaigrette. Take a medium jam pot with fitted lid & add 10 tablespoons of a fruity evoo, 6 tablespoons of a good old dark balsamic vinegar, 10 grins of finely milled black pepper & 1 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt flakes, crushed in your hand. Screw the lid on & shake your jam pot up & down & up & down until the whole dressing is well emulsified. Taste. It has to taste fabulous! Set aside.

2. Take a medium bowl & ad rocket leaves (arugula ). Add 2 to 3 tablespoons of that balsamic vinaigrette over it. Add 3 grins of finely milled black pepper & a pinch or 2 of sea salt. With clean hands, mingle everything together. It has to taste fab! Take 2 lovely white plates & place onto each, in the middle, a good handful of the rocket mix. Spread it out a bit. It forms the base of your salad.

3. Around your salad, place 6 slices of your green zebra tomatoes, onto each plate. Divide your yellow cherry tomatoes, your Kumato cherry tomatoes & your normal red cherry tomatoes, over your 2 salads. Arrange them so that it all looks very nice & tasty! Arrange your sliced strawberries, between your tomato collection! Do that for the other plate too. Now, place your Buffalo mozzarella all over your salad & tuck it in besides your tomatoes & strawberries, all evenly divided between your 2 plates. Add your torn basil leaves, & scatter them all over your 2 plates. see that they also end up on your fresh strawberry slices because fresh basil goes so well with fresh strawberries! 🙂 Scatter your toasted pine nuts all over your 2 plates & finally, mingle your vinaigrette again because there will be separation between the oil & vinegar when it stands for a bit on the table. You don’t want that! Drizzle about 2 tablespoons of that tasty vinaigrette all over your salad & also so that some strawberry slices are covered with it! The balsamic vinegar goes so well with everything that is onto your divine plate! Tuck in straight away & place your dressing on your table, for extra vinaigrette, when you are eating your salad! A divine, tasty & seasonal top salad! Enjoy! Happy eating!

♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

 

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Sophie’s seasonal smoked fish sald with an avocado-coriander & orange dressing!

2. A vegan marinated top salad with a grapefruit maple dressing with smoked tempeh!

3. Sophie’s old Summer salad with fresh plums, sheep’s feta cheese & a plum dressing!

73 responses to “Sophie’s Divine Summer coloured salad!

  1. lou says:

    Hello Sophie,
    Your coloured salad looks very tastful and yummi, yummi! Well done!
    Mamalou

  2. Thomas says:

    Very colour and I bet it tastes very good te amo !! Sophie !!!!!

  3. Barbara says:

    Hi Sophie! I’ve never added fruit to my caprese-type salads, now I’m going to. What a lovely plate of healthy eating! Nice vinaigrette, too.

  4. Liz says:

    You have great salad recipes. It’s high time I tried out one or two of them. I have just been browsing and I saw many lovely salads. Thanks for making the cookies and the salad, I hope you enjoyed them. Thanks for visiting my blog many times, I always notice you! I love this salad too, it looks great. I haven’t tasted Zebra tomatoes yet, Do they taste good? Have a lovely day!!!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks so much, Liz! Xxxx I absolutely love your recipes too! The green tomatoes do taste great , a little apart but juicy & tasty too!

  5. This looks divine indeed! I will be making it soon!!!

  6. Liz says:

    Pretty! Would never have guessed strawberries and tomatoes, but you make it work 🙂

  7. Ina gawne says:

    Lovely salad Sophie…can’t wait for summer fresh tomatoes – so delicious!

  8. Tammy says:

    Rose is the perfect wine for your salad.

  9. Koko says:

    Tomato/Mozzarella salads are one of my FAVOURITE summer meals. And with all those beautiful multi-coloured tomatoes, it just can’t be beat! This looks truly mouth-watering. Paired with a rose it would be just perfect!! I have never thought to add strawberries to this type of salad but I will definitely be making this at some point this Summer! I’m leaving tomorrow for two weeks, so I can’t wait to see what you post and catch up when I’m back!!

  10. Summer tomatoes, summer strawberries, summer anything is so delicious! Top it with mozzarella and pine nuts… wonderful! 😀

  11. I absolutely love all the varieties of tomatoes going on here. It makes my tomato loving heart so happy!

  12. Norma Chang says:

    This salad says “summer”, so colorful and I am sure flavorful. Can’t wait for my tomato plants to produce.

  13. What a beautiful salad! And I love South African wine too 😀

  14. Hotly Spiced says:

    I love the variety of tomatoes – so much colour, taste and freshness. This is a lovely summer salad and yes, perfect with a chilled rose xx

  15. Lovely! Looks divine…can’t wait to have my garden beds installed…unfortunately it will most likely be next year that I can reap the benefits. Until then…farmer’s market here I come.

    • Sophie33 says:

      OOOh, that’s too bad to hear, Jenny! But my tomatoes don’ t produce any fruit at the moment so I bought them too! 😉

  16. Dear Sophie,
    that looks great! It makes me hungry – oh dear.
    With a big hug from the coast of North Norfolk
    Klausbernd

  17. afracooking says:

    This looks amazing – I have used strawberries in a lentil,basil salad but never paired them like this. Looks very tasty!

  18. Your summer salad looks gorgeous 😀

    Cheers
    CCU

  19. Britta says:

    That salad SCREAMS summer! I absolutely love it, wish I had it in front of me right now 🙂

  20. lefoodsnob says:

    Love the addition of strawberries in a tomato/mozzarella salad. Never would have thought of it. That looks sooooooooo delicious!!!

  21. Tandy says:

    Fantastic wine choice! I love a good pinotage rosé 🙂

  22. What a beautiful, colorful salad Sophie! I love all the different tomatoes you used and that vinaigrette looks to die for! Perfect for summer!

  23. Oh yum, this looks like summer! I love those green striped tomatoes!

  24. So so summery and divine!! This is indeed Sophie’s colorful salad 🙂

  25. Wow, this looks tasty and colorful! 🙂

  26. gotasté says:

    I love the varieties of tomatoes you can get over there Sophie. And the aged balsamic is a killer! I can’t even find it here. Great recipe!

  27. Katarina says:

    What a colorful and delicious salad! Have a great day!

  28. Bashar A. says:

    Interesting salad… looks delicious though 🙂

  29. wow I love those fresh green tomatoes! The salad must taste divine!

  30. gwynnem says:

    I do so love tomato season. Great post!

  31. Very pretty! A great combination.

  32. Amber says:

    Those zebra tomatoes are gorgeous! I tried growing a similar type a few years back… but I got impatient and picked them too soon. I never did figure out how to determine when they were ripe.

    The salad is so colourful, lovely!

  33. coconutcraze says:

    I like this salad for the variety of ingredients used and all the bright colours. I am sure no one can resist trying these at a dinner table.

Comments are closed.
