Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Vegan, Gluten-Free spiced oven roasted vegetables & chickpeas!

on 24/06/2013
Spiced oven roasted veggies & chickpeas! :) MMMMMMMMMM!

Spiced oven roasted veggies & chickpeas! πŸ™‚
MMMMMMMMMM!

Yesterday, I made this tasty spiced oven roasted vegetables side dish. I had a few veggies in my fridge to use up. I also had some spices in my cupboard & thought these would be the perfect combo & I was right! I served this fragrant & tasty side dish with fried sweet potatoes & a Vegan Gluten-free soy veggie burger. Check it out! πŸ™‚

Confetti aubergines!

Confetti aubergines!

This is a fantastic easy roasted side dish!

Recipe: For 1 large oven dish, enough for 2 persons

Ingredients:

* For the veggie mix:

2 large confetti aubergines ( eggplants ), cleaned, cut into bigger rounds, each round cut up into 6 pieces,Β the big stalks are very prickly!!!! Watch out when you grab them!

2 medium young green courgettes ( zucchini ),Β cleaned, cut into bigger rounds & each round cut into 2

1/2 red paprika, cleaned, pits & white bits removed, cut into strips

1/2 orange paprika, cleaned, pits & white bits removed, cut into strips

1 can of chickpeas, rinsed & well-drained, chickpeas put onto a clean towel & with another clean towel put on top, try to dip dry the chickpeas so that they are dry to go into the oven & that you can get rid of the white husks around each chickpea

1 red onion, peeled & cut into smaller wedges

* For the spice mix:

2 teaspoons smoked sweet paprika, the dulce version

2 teaspoons garam masala

1 teaspoon + 1/2 teaspoon turmeric ( Curcuma )

1 teaspoon Maldon sea salt, crushed between your hands

8 grins of finely milled black pepper

5 to 6 tablespoons of a fruity extra virgin olive oil

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 200Β° C ( 400 F ) Β for 10 minutes. I always use a fan oven. Adjust your oven to the right temperature.

2. In a large non-stick oven dish, place all of your veggies & chickpeas in it, evenly divided but the chickpeas can be under, besides & on top of the veggies. Place every spice over your veggie-chickpea mix, evenly scattered. Finally, pour your fruity evoo all over it & with clean hands, mingle everything together. Place into the hot oven & roast for about 30 to 35 minutes until fragrant, roasted & ready. After 15 minutes of roasting, turn the veggies over for an equal bake & not to burn the veggies! Lower the temperature, if you need to. My veggies were ready after 35 minutes of roasting. Wait for 5 minutes & then instantly serve them with whatever you want. This is so tasty with fried sweet potatoes & a Vegan GFsoy veggie burger! πŸ™‚ MMM!

β™₯Β Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! πŸ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. 2 lovely vegan + Gluten-free sweet potato fries recipes!

2. Spiced oven roasted veggies served on GF brown rice pasta!

3. Oven roasted salmon on a bed of oven roasted spiced veggies, with quinoa!

4. A vegan & Gluten-Free festive Moroccan dinner!

85 responses to “Vegan, Gluten-Free spiced oven roasted vegetables & chickpeas!

  1. Tammy says:

    I am looking for the LOVE button. Yum Sophie. This is perfect for me.

    • Sophie33 says:

      I don’ t have a love button? Thanks, my friend! I had never toasted chickpeas before & it is so tasty & apart too! MMMM!

  2. Yumm… My absolute favorite πŸ™‚
    I do that often too…
    Try the Indian kitchen king masala from MDH brand, if you can find one.. It is awesome too:)))..
    Great side dish!

  3. Also oven roasting chickpeas…. Wow… Very creative. Have to try that!

  4. We call those aubergines “Chinese Eggplant” πŸ™‚ Looks great!

  5. I decided to experiment with going gluten-free for a month to see if it helps my allergies, so I’m so glad I ran across this recipe. This looks wonderful Sophie! Celeste πŸ™‚

  6. Ally says:

    Oh wow, this looks delicious Sophie! Perfect for the wintery weather at my place.
    πŸ™‚ I hope you are well.

  7. veghotpot says:

    Yummy this is my perfect tray of food!! Mouthwatering photo, Im hungry now ahaha

  8. I keep hearing about how great roasted chickpeas are.. and then you post this. Now I have to try it!

  9. Liz says:

    Those look so so good! Wow–am especially impressed by the spice mix. Great depth of flavor, I’d bet. hungry now πŸ™‚

  10. Koko says:

    Ohhhh my goodness. This looks AWESOME. Again, roasted veggies are my fav!! And I’ve never used an aubergine like that before, it’s beautiful. I want to eat this all up right now!!

  11. Beautiful aubergine! Roasting makes veggies taste so much better!

  12. katrina berg says:

    Beautiful & festive! Can’t wait to try it! xo

  13. afracooking says:

    This recipe looks so easy and SOOO tasty! And I learned that these beautiful aubergines are called “confetti aubergines” πŸ™‚

  14. As you already know, I lo~ve aubergines. This creation of yours is as good/healthy as it gets. I think I’ll have this with some yogurt! Mmmm! πŸ˜›
    p.s.
    1) I don’t know what it means: SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free! RSS – Posts
    2) Just a suggestion: Where you have ‘You might like’, linked thumbnail-photos with captions would be nice too. πŸ˜€

    • Sophie33 says:

      Me too! What I wrote at the end of my post, is that you can subscribe to my blog, though Rss-posts & click onto that last link to be directly subscribed on my RSS posts. great hey?
      That suggesties is a really good one.

  15. Ahhhhhhhh I love roasted veggies!!!

  16. Bashar A. says:

    Good lord, I’m salivating…luckily for me, its lunch time (as I run to heat my food πŸ™‚ )

  17. These look full of flavour Sophie! Delicious, I’ll bet.

  18. Delicious Sophie! Love the addition of chickpeas! πŸ™‚

  19. I love roasted veggies. This looks great!

  20. Thomas says:

    Hi Sophie I love making these roasted veggies too πŸ™‚ What do you mean you do not have a LOVE button verwonderd !!!!!!! πŸ™‚ x

  21. Norma Chang says:

    Love your combination, I could just have this for a meal may be with the addition of a green salad.

  22. This is my absolute favorite kind of meal! I can never get enough roasted vegetables. It’s definitely a case of “simpler is better.” πŸ™‚

  23. Roasted veggies are my fav! I’ve never tried roasting chickpeas before; how cool! Looks delicious!

  24. Lilly Sue says:

    Yum! I love roasted veggies πŸ™‚ So flavorful!

  25. These vegetables are healthy and delicious πŸ˜€

    Cheers
    CCU

  26. Katarina says:

    Looks great Sophie!

  27. gotastΓ© says:

    Oh mmmyyyyyy…….these looks just awesome! The eggplants are beautifully caramelised. I need a big bowl and a good bottle of white.

  28. twbarritt says:

    Delicious! Last year, I discovered how wonderful roasted chickpeas taste – what a great idea to combine them with other roasted vegetables!

  29. Juliana says:

    Nice combination of veggies and yes the chickpeas sounds great with all the spices…yum!
    Have a great week Sophie πŸ˜€

  30. Hotly Spiced says:

    Your spiced oven roasted vegetables look great and would be a dish full of flavour and goodness to be sure. I love how colourful this is xx

  31. I love roasting veggies (so easy!) I like your combo with the chickpeas and the spice mix. πŸ™‚

  32. Roasted chickpeas are so tasty, right? And roasting it with other veggies definitely makes a delicious meal itself πŸ™‚

  33. Liz says:

    I love chickpeas and roasted vegetables. This must taste delicious. I should try coz I always have chickpeas in stock. Thanks for sharing this. Have a wonderful day!!!

  34. YUM! I could eat this for breakfast, lunch AND dinner Sophie!

  35. lefoodsnob says:

    I have a friend who says she loves roasted vegetables so much she wishes McDonald’s would start selling them. I will have to share this recipe with her. And maybe McDonald’s too?

  36. This look savory delicious. I think the chick peas would absorbed all those carmelized veggie flavors. thanks for the recipe Sophie!

  37. Yum! This looks delish! Great job!

  38. Amber says:

    Yum! This looks amazing!

Comments are closed.
