Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Vegan Gluten-free refreshing breakfast smoothies!

on 11/06/2013
Vegan & Gluten-free!

Vegan & Gluten-free!

This morning, I made these yummy drinkable breakfasts! I wanted to use gluten-free oats in here too, to make it more filling. This is what I made in a few minutes using my beloved Vitamix! πŸ˜‰

One drink really fills you up!

One smoothy really fills you up!

Make it now! πŸ™‚

Recipe: For about 6 cups = 1500 ml

Ingredients:

2 cups of soy milk

2 medium ripe bananas, peeled & cut into chunks

2 cups of hulled, cut up strawberries

1 cup of medium Gluten-free whole oats

2 teaspoons of ground cinnamon

2 tablespoons black chia seeds

10 dried apricots

1 cup of ice

If needed: some powdered coconut sugar to sweeten

Method:

1. Take your Vitamix container & place every ingredient in this order in it. Place the fitting lid on with the tamper in it. Blend on full power speed for about 1 to 2 minutes, using the tamper to push the ingredients down into the running blades. Turn all power off & taste. It has to taste well. You must taste the bananas & strawberries. If it is not sweet enough for you, add 1 to 2 tablespoons of coconut sugar. Pour into lovely smoothy glasses & enjoy instantly with a loved one! πŸ˜‰ Happy Drinking!

β™₯Β Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! πŸ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Vegan & GF mango clementine smoothies with black chia seeds

2. Vegan & GF cashew, chocolate & pumpkin spread chia smoothies

42 responses to “Vegan Gluten-free refreshing breakfast smoothies!

  1. This sounds so good! I have been drinking my breakfast lately too! This recipe has a lot of “goodies” in it!!!

  2. Saskia (1=2) says:

    Looks lovely Sophie, as always. Dried apricots sound like a great addition to a smoothie, and a good idea for when the household fresh fruit supplies are low later in the week! Haven’t heard of gluten-free oats – I thought oats had naturally-occurring gluten in them? Is there a process they go through to become GF? Intrigued!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Yes, I don’t know but tehre is a huge difference. Gf oats don’t make my belly upset & sometimes, normal oats do,because of the gluten in there! I feel btter using GF whole oats.

  3. This looks so creamy and delicious and not healthy at all (I mean that in a good way because it looks so good! :)).

  4. Hotly Spiced says:

    This looks wonderful. Love how it has dried apricots in it! xx

  5. I have never used chia seeds. Need to find them.also first time hearing coconut sugar.., thanks for introducing me to 2 new ingredients ;).

  6. Here’s a Toast to your Smoothie, Sophie. It looks quite filling and oh so delicious! I had no idea there was gluten free oats. Must see if I can find some for my grandson.

    Thank you so much for sharing the drink and the tip!

  7. Tammy says:

    I love cinnamon in my morning smoothie.

  8. Liz says:

    another Vitamix triumph! πŸ™‚

  9. Koko says:

    Ooh dried apricots sound great! I’ve never used these in a smoothie before, but I bet the ol’ vitamix would blend them up so nicely! Good idea!

  10. Jim Brennan says:

    How do you make everything look so darn delicious?

  11. Juliana says:

    Oh Sophie, this smoothie sounds and looks delicious, great way to start the day…
    Hope you are having a lovely week πŸ˜€

  12. gotastΓ© says:

    Perfect energy drink to start the day! Great job Sophie.

  13. Tandy says:

    Sounds really delicious πŸ™‚

  14. This looks so tasty!

  15. We have smoothies all the time! Love the added apricots here πŸ™‚

  16. afracooking says:

    I have had so little time to cook at the moment, but I am sure there will be time for this amazing smoothie!

  17. Bernice says:

    All the ingredients look great – not sure what black chia seeds are. I like healthy beverages and a great way to start your morning!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Chia seeds are grown commercially for its seed, a food that is rich in omega-3 fatty acids, since the seeds yield 25–30% extractable oil, including Ξ±-linolenic acid .

      Chia seeds are typically small ovals with a diameter of about 1 mm (0.039 in). They are mottle-colored with brown, gray, black and white.
      One one ounce (28 gram) serving of chia seeds contains 9 grams of fat, 5 milligrams of sodium, 11 grams of dietary fiber and 4 grams of protein.

  18. lefoodsnob says:

    I am in love with the idea of putting oats in a smoothie. I have a friend who makes a coffee, chocolate, banana, oat smoothie every morning before work. This looks great. Thanks for sharing!

  19. Amber says:

    What a lovely smoothie! We have smoothies most mornings, I’ll have to give this a try!

  20. Poppy says:

    Yum, I love oat based smoothies, so creamy!

Comments are closed.
