Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Home-made refreshing ginger ale: version 1!

on 10/06/2013

P1200719watermark-1

My husband Peter made this home-made refreshing ginger ale, version 1! He made this 2 days ago, when the weather was really hot in our garden. We needed something refreshing to cool down a bit & this is what he invented! Yummy, I say! All hail to Peter! πŸ˜‰ This home-made ginger ale is a tasty drinkable food gift and a great appetizer drink too! πŸ™‚

MMM! Vegan & Gluten-Free!

MMM! Vegan & Gluten-Free!

Recipe: For a whole lot of ginger ale

Ingredients:

5 cm of freshly peeled ginger, grated finely with a ginger peeler/ if you do not have that, grate very finely

2 liter of water

juice of 1/2 lime

4 tablespoons of pure maple syrup

Method:

1. Bring your 2 liters of water to the boil. When boiling, adΒ grated ginger, lime juice & leave to boil for about 30 seconds to 1 minute.Turn the heat off & place fitting lid on. Let it infuse for about 15 minutes, off the heat.

2. Now, pour your hot liquid through a fine sieve above another clean large pot. Now, ad 4 tablespoons of maple syrup & stir to dissolve into the hot liquid. Pour ginger ale into a fitting bottle or fitting bottles & screw the lids on. Place into the fridge to cool off completely.

3. When you are ready to drink your ginger ales, shake the bottle or bottles well up & down before pouring them out, to shake the sediment off the bottom of your bottle so that your leftover ginger bits are equally divided in your drink. Pour into 2 x 330 ml glasses until 3/4 full, add into each glass 4 to 5 ice-cube rounds & top of with a fresh sprig of mint! Enjoy instantly with a loved one! πŸ˜‰ Yummy! You can taste the lovely ginger in your throat & the mint & ice makes it all so refreshing!!! Yummy! Thanks Peter! πŸ˜‰Β 

β™₯Β Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! πŸ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Home-made limoncello!

Home-made limoncello, lovely wrapped!

Home-made limoncello, lovely wrapped!

 


80 responses to “Home-made refreshing ginger ale: version 1!

  1. Thomas says:

    Hi made this a few times in summer. It’s really one if my favorite summer drinks πŸ˜‰

  2. Tammy says:

    I am going to make some ginger kefir when I get home. Great idea!

  3. Aoife.D says:

    What a yummie and refreshing drink Sophie! I’ve heard it’s quite warm on your side of the world at the moment so I hope this kept you cool. I recently tried to make an alcoholic ginger ale but haven’t quite perfected it yet, so I’ll just have to stick to your delicious version for the meantime!

    • Sophie33 says:

      It was warm for 5 day in a row but it is much colder today. MMM,… I like the sound of that alcoholic version too,..;I can’t wait until you perefcted it, Aoife!

  4. Poppy says:

    Looks so clean and fresh Sophie!

  5. redrice57 says:

    Takes me back to being a kid again….love this stuff!

  6. Awesome! I’m buying some ginger root today!

  7. Thanks!I’ll be making it for sure! I love ginger ale

  8. Koko says:

    This is soo weird!! Just YESTERDAY I was saying to my boyfriend that we should try making homemade gingerale together!! Well now I know where to find the recipe!! Too funny! It looks so refreshing!

  9. This is cool! πŸ™‚

  10. I’m going to give this a try, it looks refreshing and well.. perfect! Thanks!

  11. Lovely – this is my wife’s favourite. She’ll be delighted with this!

  12. So simple! Do you need to sterilize the containers first, like with canning?

  13. Saskia (1=2) says:

    So there are two talented cooks in your house! Have never made ginger ale before. This looks great Sophie (and Peter).

  14. Norma Chang says:

    The sounds refreshingly delicious and so easy. Thank you Peter.

  15. katrina berg says:

    Oh this is exactly what I need today! Thanks so much lovely Sophie, now I just need to hsve you over to drink one with me! xo

  16. Liz says:

    never would have guessed the maple syrup or lime juice. Am so intrigued!

    • Sophie33 says:

      You need that 1/2 lime juice & maple syrup adds a bit of sweetness to it & dissolves really well. This ginger ale isn’t that sweet, just right!

  17. Bernice says:

    This looks so refreshing on a hot day!

  18. Hotly Spiced says:

    This is a great recipe, Sophie. I’m sure the ginger would be very good not only on a hot day but when you are sick with the flu – I’ve heard ginger is very good for coughs, colds etc xx

  19. Jim Brennan says:

    Sophie, the ginger ale sounds so refreshing. The perfect time of year. And lemoncello! Love it. My son makes lemoncello as well. As usual, you do an unbelievable job and always a pleasant surprise.

    • Sophie33 says:

      Yes, yes, yes! That’s great to hear that your son is also a limoncello maker & lover! πŸ˜‰
      Thank you, Jim!

  20. That sounds like the kind of thing I could drink by the gallon! Ah, it really would be the perfect summer drink.

  21. Starr says:

    I’m not a fan of carbonated drinks and have only ever seen those fizzy ginger ales. This sounds like a great alternative, and so refreshing!

  22. Such a refreshing drink, I could drink this forever πŸ˜€

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  23. Ali says:

    I love ginger ale, this looks so refreshing!

  24. What a great recipe, Sophie! Thank you for sharing it with us! πŸ™‚

  25. Bashar A. says:

    Your creativity in the kitchen always amazes me πŸ™‚

  26. Sophie, this is one my favorite drinks and now I get make it at home — woo-hoo! And I can grow ginger in my new greenhouse.

  27. gotastΓ© says:

    This drink is so good for our body! Priceless.

  28. Katarina says:

    This is a great drink on warm summer days! Thanks for sharing!

  29. Can’t beat homemade refreshing ginger-ale! So delish, Sophie! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  30. Sophie– what a cool idea!

  31. Amber says:

    Homemade ginger ale is the best, isn’t it? I made some last summer and just can’t go back to the store-bought variety. So yummy!

  32. This looks so delicious, refreshing and simple to make! I will definitely try this Sophie.

  33. Kavita Joshi says:

    love your blog full of so many healthy ideas dear πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.
