Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Vegan carob mousse with strawberries! ( Gluten-Free too! )

on 21/04/2013
A tasty vegan & Gluten-free carob mousse with strawberries!

A tasty vegan & Gluten-free carob mousse with strawberries!

Today, I made this tasty vegan carob mousse with fresh strawberries! I made these tasty vegan & Gluten-Free carob mousses because I prefer carob instead of cacao powder. It doesn’t give me any headaches! I also added sliced fresh ripe strawberries & topped each strawberry base with 1/4 teaspoon of powdered coconut sugar for a bit of a sweeter flavour. The contrast with the cashew carob mousse & the strawberries was & is just perfect for the palate! πŸ™‚ Enjoy!

MMM! Vegan & Gluten-Free deliciousness!

MMM! Vegan & Gluten-Free deliciousness!

Read on How I made this tasty dessert,…

Vegan & Gluten-Free carob mousse!
Recipe: For 3 persons

Ingredients:

1 heaped cup soaked & drained cashews = 150 gr, soaked overnight or for at least 6 hours:

( How to soak raw unsalted cashews?) You take 1 cup of raw, unsalted cashews & place them in a fitting bowl. You add 2 cups of clean water to them & mix well with a spoon. You place a fitting lid on & put it into the fridge for overnight or for at least 6 hours! After that, the nuts are more soft & have a softer taste. You drain them well under running water & rinse off the excess of water. Do not use the soak water!!!! Now, they are easier to digest, healthier & creamier for you too. Use them now!

1/4 cup + 1 tablespoon of water

3 tablespoons of maple syrup, grade C

3 tablespoons of carob powder

pinch of Maldon sea salt

6 larger fresh strawberries, cleaned, hulled & each strawberry cut into 4 slices

3/4 teaspoon of powdered coconut sugar, divided in 3 equal portions, aka 1/4 teaspoon + 1/4 teaspoon +1/4 teaspoon of powdered coconut sugar

Method:

1. Take your Vitamix & add drained soaked cashews & 1/4 cup of water. Add 1 tablespoon of water extra. Place fitting lid on & the tamper too. Blend on full power & push the tamper up & down because you want to push down the cashews into the running blades. Stop the machine & check consistency. Blend again & again until the cashews form a smooth& silky structure. The cashews will thicken the mousse later in the fridge. So, do not add more water!!!!

2. Add carob powder, maple syrup & pinch of Maldon sea salt. Mix on high-speed until fully joined with the cashew mix. You must taste the carob flavour, cashews & the sweeter taste too!

3. Take 3 fancy smaller dessert glasses & place the fresh-cut up strawberries in the bottom of each dessert glass. I added 2 cut up strawberries per dessert glass, in the bottom, in 2 layers. I topped each strawberry layer with 1/4 teaspoon of powdered coconut sugar to give a sweeter touch aka taste later on. Do this the same way with the 2 other desserts too. Pour or spoon the mousse all over it, evenly divided between the 3 glasses and let the mousses set up a bit in the fridge, for at least 3 hours. The mousse will get shiny & will firm up a bit.

Happy eating! πŸ™‚

β™₯ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! πŸ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Vegan & Gluten-Free banana, carob & avocado pudding!

2. Vegan, Gluten-Free chocolate mousse

3. Vegan & Gluten-free banana, avocado & chocolate pudding!

4. Vegan creamy banana puddings!

5. Vegan, Gluten-Free Strawberry Puddings, yes!

76 responses to “Vegan carob mousse with strawberries! ( Gluten-Free too! )

  1. Now that does look good. First thing tomorrow. I’ll soak the cashews tonight.
    Thanks Sophie

  2. Saskia (1=2) says:

    Looks and sounds beautiful Sophie. Love that second photo – it’s headed straight for my mouth.

  3. Katarina says:

    Yummy, it looks fantastic! Hugs!

  4. Hotly Spiced says:

    Love the look of this. Must try soaking some cashews. Haven’t done that before xx

  5. twbarritt says:

    Your mousse looks silky and delicious! Thanks, Sophie!

  6. Liz says:

    Mousse–woo hoo! Looks decadent and tasty πŸ™‚ love that you make it work with carob.

  7. Just bought some raw cashews and went looking for a recipe, but this one showed up in my e-mail Thanks!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks! Enjoy! I also have a lot of cashews recipes on my blog, under recipes by ingredients & You will directly see if they are vegetarian, vegan , dairy-free &/or gluten-free! πŸ™‚ xxx

  8. afracooking says:

    This mousse looks heavenly – so velvety!

  9. Starr says:

    Carob mousse sounds delicious, Sophie! And using cashews as the base is brilliant! Thanks for sharing.

    • Sophie33 says:

      You are so welcome, dear Starr! Enjoy! I am already thinking of new cashew mousses for in the future! …:)

  10. Looks amazing, I’ll try to make this!

  11. uberdish says:

    I made a similar dessert for the kids the other night and they loved it. My recipe didn’t have the soaked cashews, though. I will try your recipe next – looks delish, especially with the lovely strawberries!!

  12. winnymarch says:

    i try this at home.. so cool thank u sophies, u do great job

  13. it’s looks really smooth mouse…
    never had any raw cashew nuts before,
    don’t you think that i can used the caramel roasted casher for this recipe???

    • Sophie33 says:

      I don’t know them at all but if you use raw cashews & soak them, they become very creamy & have another conistency,…So i don’t think so!

  14. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie this looks really yummy and healthy too!

  15. narf77 says:

    I made something like this by accident yesterday. I was making my breakfast green smoothie and had a leftover avocado so after adding my big bunch of spinach and everything else I tossed in the avocado and instead of using water, I used chickpea kefir I had been experimenting with and ended up with pudding! I ate my breakfast smoothie with a spoon and it was delish :). I am going to try your “real” pudding for breakfast today. Cheers for a great idea and for my soon to be happy tummy Sophie πŸ™‚

    • Sophie33 says:

      I know what you mean with the avocado. I did that too in 2 recipes to make a vegan pudding & added 2 very ripe bananas too. See the links under my post, to see & find the other 3 recipes! This is more a mousse because of the soaked cashews! Enjoy, xxxx

  16. Balvinder says:

    We do use cashews all the time but never added to carob or cocoa powder. It looks delicious!

  17. Bernice says:

    This looks fabulous!! The mousse looks nice and creamy! yum!

  18. I’ve had a bag of carob powder sitting around in my pantry for ages, but I never think to use it in place of cocoa, since I am a bit of a chocolate fan. This is one dessert where I would happily stick with the carob- That looks fantastic!

  19. I get so used to reaching for chocolate EVERY DAY that I forget about carob. This is gorgeous!

  20. Tammy says:

    Love that you are doing more and more raw and vegan recipes.

  21. Koko says:

    This looks so good! I love your pink spoon, too. Cacao gives you headaches?! Maybe just too much of an energizing food….I’m glad you can enjoy carob! The healthiness in this recipe is amazing, but I know it would taste amazing, too! I can’t wait until it’s strawberry season here, and we can get the yummiest, juiciest strawberries to use in recipes like this!

  22. Bashar A. says:

    Looks insanely delicious πŸ™‚

  23. Looks delicious as usual πŸ™‚

  24. Phil Gayle_For Singles and Couples says:

    Yum yum…
    Sophie…if not a restaurant, then at least a cook book. πŸ˜‰

  25. What a delicious looking recipe – healthy πŸ˜€

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  26. Norma Chang says:

    Agree with Uru, delicious and healthy.

  27. Carolyn Jung says:

    Forget dinner. I’ll have dessert first now. I so want to dig a spoon into that.

  28. I just love this raw stuff, nice and simple too. Well done, this is the kind of stuff that is a staple in my kitchen πŸ™‚

  29. Thomas says:

    I have to try this one… another Lecker mousse πŸ™‚

  30. gotastΓ© says:

    this is such a lovely creation my friend…absolutely delicious!

  31. Sunny says:

    Yum!! Another must-try from you, Sophie! I love carob chips – now I have to look for the powder! πŸ™‚

  32. Somer says:

    Simply gorgeous and divine Sophie! I could really sink into that!

  33. Poppy says:

    This looks amazing! Vegan mousse is more often than not, tofu based so this is a great alternative for those avoiding soy! Plus I just love how creamy cashews are when blended! πŸ™‚

    • Sophie33 says:

      yes, me too, dear Poppy! I love them so much. I also love my home-made cashew milks too. You can find the recipes under recipes by ingredient, under cashews!

  34. Amber says:

    Great mousse! I’ll have to keep this recipe handy for strawberry season… which should be starting in a few weeks here!!!

  35. OMG yes, these look perfect! I’m trying them!

  36. Yum – so luscious!!! Celeste πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.
