Posted in Recipes

Vegan, Gluten-Free apple porridge!

This morning, I made this lovely & easy Gluten-free & vegan breakfast! It has been a while, that I made a home-made porridge, let alone GF! So, I made this tasty breakfast!

A yummy breakfast that Is vegan + Gluten-Free!!!
A yummy breakfast that Is vegan + Gluten-Free!!!

Read on How I made this:

A divine GF & vegan breakfast! Yummy too!
A divine GF & vegan breakfast! Oat Apple porridge with coconut sufar caramelized apple chunks!

Recipe: For 1 person

Ingredients:

** For the GF porridge:

60 gr Gluten-Free oats

360 ml unsweetened soy milk

1/2 pink Lady apple, peeled, cored & finely grated

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1 tablespoon of powdered coconut sugar

** For the caramelized apples:

1 + 1/2 pink lady apple, peeled, cored & cut into bite-sized chunks

1 tablespoon of powdered coconut sugar

knobs of vegan GF butter

Method:

1. First, make your GF oat porridge. Pour unsweetened soy milk in a medium cooking pot & bring to the boil. Add GF oats & stir. Cook your oats until they have absorbed most of the milk, stirring often. This took me 8 minutes or so.Turn heat lower if you need to. While the GF oats are cooking, add 1/2 grated apple & stir. Add 1 tablespoon of powdered coconut sugar & let it melt into the hot mix. When your GF oat porridge is ready, take of the heat & add 1/4 teaspoon of ground cinnamon & stir into the mix. Taste! It has to taste great!

2. In the meantime, take a medium non-stick pan & heat up on medium high. Add a few knobs of vegan & GF butter & let it melt. When hot & melted, add apple chunks & fry for about 5 minutes, turning once & when they are beginning to soften, add 1 tablespoon of powdered coconut sugar & let it melt. Turn apple chunks over & see that they get coated by the sugar. Cook them for another 5 to 8 minutes until ready, browned on all sides & cooked through. Do not let the apple chunks burn! Lower the heat if you need to!!! They will caramelize well!! MMM!

3. Now, plate up! Place all of the GF porridge in a lovely clean bowl & top with the caramelized apple chunks! Dive in instantly! Happy eating!

β™₯ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook now! πŸ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Sophie’s Gf buckwheat porridge with apple juice & cinnamon apples with caramelized coconut sugar

2. Apple & cranberry infused oatmeal with cranberries, pecans & cinnamon

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

87 thoughts on “Vegan, Gluten-Free apple porridge!

  1. Hello Sophie
    It looks again very adorable and so easy to make it myself..
    Enjoy the cooking that might give you a new recipe!
    Mamalou

  2. Yum, looking at this I suddenly mind it a lot less that spring has not really set in yet and I am still craving comfort food for breakfast!

  3. This looks amazing! And I keep so many of these ingredients on hand regularly… A nice hearty breakfast for a colder than usual spring!

    1. So true, Amber! Today, we had our 1st day of Spring: 24Β°C! Ooh yes, baby & thi breakfast got me going for 6 hours ( I went biking 42 km!! )

      1. Wow, that sounds gorgeous! It’s 12Β°C and rainy here… which is quite warm considering it was snowing just last week.

  4. Wow, that`s looks yummie – I am getting hungry.
    Although I am not a vegan, not even a vegetarian, I really like your recipes. Thank you very much πŸ™‚
    Have a great week and happy cooking.
    By the way I am getting a new kitchen tomorrow πŸ™‚
    Klausbernd and his busy Bookfayries Siri and Selma

    1. Mission accomplished! πŸ™‚ I am not a vegan nor a vegetarian myself, Klausbernd!!!

      A new kitchen sounds so exciting!! Good luck with it all! xxx

      1. Well, I am just painting with the help of my dear Bookfayries. The colour: three shades of gray and black granite tops. And when all is done we will go on cooking your recipes.
        Have a good week
        Klausbernd and his busy Bookfayries Siri and Selma πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      2. Love to hear this. I went for black granite – but, oh dear, if the granite will come. They granite People were supposed to come today – at least it`s already cut.
        I thought that you would have a great kitchen.

  5. Ohhhhh yum. It’s Sunday morning and I’m up way to early for my liking. I can’t imagine anything better than that porridge right now. Bookmarked for sure! I must try!

    1. It was Sunday morning over here at well, so I made this while my hubby was still sleeping! I needed this power breakfast because afterwards I biked for 42 km! I didn’t was hungry for about 6 hours!!

  6. I love your idea of adding caramelized apple to the top of your porridge dish! Yum! I’m usually just sprinkling cinnamon on top. This would make a lovely weekend breakfast dish for us.

  7. We are just starting to feel the cool tendrils of winter coming on and this magnificent post can’t come too soon…any more delicious recipes will be MOST welcome Sophie! πŸ™‚

    1. Porridge vs Oatmeal

      Oatmeal is a kind of porridge. Any grain served hot in the shape of a cereal is porridge.

      Oatmeal is made by processing oats. Oatmeal could consist of crushed oats, rolled oats, or cut oats in oatmeal cookies, or they could be mere coarsely ground oats.

      Porridge on the other hand is a basic dish which is made by boiling crushed oats or another meal in either water or milk. Other meals used for porridge include wheat, rice, peasemeal, barley and cornmeal.

  8. I made porridge today too, though mine didn’t look (nor I’m sure taste) nearly as delicious as yours. Those caramelized apple look absolutely mouthwatering!

  9. Sophie– I want to try this on our oatmeal– but I have never heard of coconut sugar!! Can I use regular or brown sugar instead? It looks yummy.

    1. What is coconut sugar?
      Coconut blossom sugar is an alternative sweetener. It is beet sugar-free. It is also called Gula Java Brut. This is 100% unsweetened coconut blossom sugar. It is slighty brown in colour. It has a lower glycemic index than agave. It’s GI index is 35. Agave is 40. It also has a lot of minerals and vitamins.

      Gula Java is coconut blossom sugar from Java. Harvested by tapers high in the coconut trees, the sweet nectar from the coconut blossom is a cherished resource. Above the log fire, the nectar slowly changes into a delicious, unrefined rich sugar as it is gently stirred in the pan, allowing you to enjoy its sweetness and soft caramel flavour at any time of the day.

      But it isn’t as sweet as normal sugar. It is great in cobbler’s, in crumbles, in cakes, in desserts, etc. You can also use it in savoury dishes.
      I made a few recipes with it and I love it. It is also great in unsweetened yoghurt,… it adds a nice crunch.
      I use it in nearly all my recipes, it is expensive though & I buy it in my food health shop like Bioplanet! I now use podered coconut sugar! For finer results!

      A recipe using it :

      https://sophiesfoodiefiles.wordpress.com/2010/10/15/sophies-healthy-gluten-free-and-sugar-free-banana-and-almond-butter-cake-with-dark-chocolate-chips/

  10. That looks very healthy, perfect for breakfast. Your caramelised apples look very inviting. I probably can eat a bowl of it without the oat πŸ˜€

  11. What a delicious breakfast Sophie…and yes the caramelized apples on top of the oats look great.
    Hope you are having a wonderful week πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.