Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Hazelnut crusted redfish with a purple carrrot & sweet potato mash!

on 26/03/2013
Hazelnut crusted redfish with a purple carrotv & sweet potato mash!

Hazelnut crusted redfish with a purple carrot & sweet potato mash!

Yummy & tasty hazelnut crusted redfish with a sweet potato & purple carrot mash!

Yummy & tasty hazelnut crusted redfish, fresh from the oven!

Yummmm,…

Recipe: For 2 persons

Ingredients:

** For the hazelnut crusted redfish:

2 times clean redfish fillets, each about 220 gr, the thicker part

120 gr whole hazelnuts

50 gr vegan butter

50 gr white flour

1/2 heaped teaspoon of Maldon sea salt

10 grins of finely milled black pepper

** For the sweet potato & purple carrot mash:

400 gr sweet potatoes, peeled & cut into larger chunks

400 gr of purple carrots, peeled, cut into longer strips & each strip cut into 2 or 3, ( peel these carrots with plastic gloves on because they will bleed like red beets & you will end up with stains everywhere! 😦 

a knob of 2 of vegan butter

a splash of unsweetened soy milk

black pepper

Maldon sea salt

Special purple carrots!They taste like normal orange carrots!

Special purple carrots!
They taste like normal orange carrots!

Method:

1. First, preheat your oven to 210Β° C ( 410 F ) for 10 minutes. I always use a fan oven. Prepare your redfish fillets, take off the skin & remove leftover smaller bones, like this:

Cleaned redfish thicker fillets!

Cleaned redfish thicker fillets!

Place your 2 redfish on a clean chopping board & grin freshly milled black pepper & sea salt over them, on both sides. Take a food processor, place your whole hazelnuts, vegan butter & flour in here. Add Β 1/2 heaped teaspoon of sea salt & 10 grins of finely milled black pepper in here. Blitz or mix until your hazelnuts & the rest are fully mixed & you will end up with 2/3 mixed or blitzed hazelnuts. Taste the mix. Because of the butter, the pulverized hazelnuts will stick together, but not fully. Β Place your 2 redfish pieces in a fitting oven dish, that you have smeared in with vegan butter. Place a good thick layer of the hazelnut-butter-flour mix onto the top of each redfish. Pat it with your hands, so that the crust won’t fall down of each redfish. Something like this:

Hazenut-butter-flour crusted redfish, ready to go into the hot oven! :)

Hazenut-butter-flour crusted redfish, ready to go into the hot oven! πŸ™‚

If you have some leftover crust material, add it to your oven dish anyway, on the bottom sides. Place into the hot oven & bake for about 15 to 20 minutes depending on the thickness of your redfish fillets. Mine took 20 minutes!

2. In the meantime, boil your sweet potatoes in some salted water until cooked through. Drain & mash. Keep warm. Do the same with your purple carrots. Boil until tender & al dente, drain & mash them together with the sweet potatoes. Add some sea salt, black pepper, a few knobs of vegan butter & a splash of vegan unsweetened soy milk. Mash well. I love to keep my mash a bit rough so that you can still see pieces of the purple carrots! That’s the way , I like it. When your fish is ready & cooked through, test with a pin. If so, turn the oven off & take it out & place some aluminium foil over the dish to keep warm & let the fish rest for about 3 to 5 minutes. Serve instantly on some preheated plates. Enjoy! This is a very fine dinner, best enjoyed with a loved one! Enjoy with a good glass of Sauvignon wine! πŸ™‚

β™₯ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

 

Follow me on Facebook too! πŸ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Sophie’s home-made dry spiced rub & dry spiced rub whiting fillets, served with a spiced broccoli & potato mash

2. Roasted fish fillet with a lemon, garlic & parsley crust, with oven baked potatoes & a side green salad


69 responses to “Hazelnut crusted redfish with a purple carrrot & sweet potato mash!

  1. Liz says:

    Where did you find the carrots? What fun πŸ™‚

  2. ziabaki says:

    I love purple carrots! Yummy! Nice post my dear, I’ll have to try this. πŸ™‚

  3. Red fish and purple carrots, sounds wonderful! I have never tried purple carrots – do they taste different?
    XXX

    • Sophie33 says:

      I mixed the purple carrots with sweet potatoes because their flavours go so well together! πŸ™‚
      They look different but they taste the same! πŸ™‚

  4. Gorgeous purple carrots! I’ve actually never had them before, but I hope I can find them someday soon. They seem like such a colorful treat. In the meantime, I’d still be just as happy to make your delicious mash with the regular old orange variety. πŸ™‚

  5. Bernice says:

    Purple carrots! How interesting. I never saw them before – thanks for posting a picture! πŸ™‚

    • Sophie33 says:

      I can buy them at my local bioplanet! We can also buy white-orange carrots! They do taste the same like normal orange carrots though! πŸ™‚

      Just like I stated above:

      Peel these carrots with plastic gloves on because they will bleed like red beets & you will end up with stains everywhere!

  6. Love the carrots and the dish sounds lovely. πŸ™‚

  7. liveblissful says:

    all sounds delicious! love the mash and the hazelnut crust

  8. I’ve heard that nutritionists say that people don’t eat enough dark purple vegetables so these purple carrots would fit the bill very nicely! πŸ˜€ Lovely recipe Sophie!

  9. Koko says:

    Look at those carrots! They are so beautiful- I can’t wait until our farmer’s markets start…I bet I could find some carrots like that! I love fish…and hazelnut crusted…Mmm! Divine!!

  10. I LOVE sweet potatoes and fish. The combination is delicious! A perfect dinner.

  11. Bashar A. says:

    30 more minutes and its lunch time.. this is not helping… I’m starving πŸ™‚

  12. afracooking says:

    This crust is a fabulous idea – I imagine the crunchy texture of the nuts paired amazingly with the delicate fish

  13. Beautiful fish and carrots! I rarely see purple carrots. My market carries rainbow carrots which has 1 maybe 2 purple carrots in the batch. Lovely post.

  14. Norma Chang says:

    I planted purple carrots last year but they did not grow well, going to try again this year and hope they do better.

  15. juliana says:

    I never seen purple carrots…they are beautiful and your fish looks delicious Sophie…thanks for the recipe and hope you are having a wonderful week πŸ™‚

  16. Blond Duck says:

    I love redfish! But they don’t have purple carrots here I’ll definitely try the sp mash!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Befotre creating this dish, I only had falt redfish fillets, I love the bigger parts way more: a lot more flavour too! πŸ™‚

  17. This reminds me that I have some purple carrots in the fridge that I haven’t tried yet. Your hazelnut crusted redfish looks amazing!

  18. Tandy says:

    this sounds sounds so good Sophie! I wish my purple carrots would hurry up and grow πŸ™‚

  19. gotastΓ© says:

    This is such a creative recipe. I would really like to taste the hazelnut crusted fish! extraordinary! Well done my friend.

  20. Barbara says:

    Clever way to do the fish, Sophie. I will try it. As for the sweet potato mash….YUM!

  21. Somer says:

    What a delicious mash! I would be all over it!

  22. never had or seen any purple carrot before, lucky you Sophie….
    i guess fish and nut’s cruated ain’t fall apart to win everybodies heart….

  23. Chef Randall says:

    Great recipe Sophie. As always you give it a twist. I never had purple carrots before.

    I have my own website now at http://www.savorthefood.com. Your invited to check it out. Our blog is Fun with Food. πŸ™‚

    Chef Randall

  24. katrina berg says:

    I have some hazelnuts just waiting to be used πŸ™‚ xo

  25. hotlyspiced says:

    I love purple carrots – they just look so pretty. I haven’t tried them in a mash with sweet potato. We can buy sweet potato here that is purple so the two together would look really pretty xx

  26. Karen says:

    That sounds like a nice dinner. Thanks for the tip about the purple carrots staining.

  27. narf77 says:

    The mash looks yummo Sophie and I could crust some tofu with that gorgeous nutty mix. Have a great Easter and well done on the fishy bit for Good Friday…Steve had to make do with eggs on toast as he was too lazy to go out in the Mumbly Cumumbus (his boat) to catch any fish πŸ˜‰

  28. this looks great love hazelnuts and love all the colors

  29. I am really hungry now my friend, this looks too good πŸ˜€

    Cheers
    CCU

  30. Ana says:

    Hi I’m Ana from Fooduel.com. It is a site in which users vote recipes
    from 1 to 10.

    There is a ranking of the best recipes and a profile with your voted recipes. Each recipe has a link to the blog which belongs the recipe. This way you will get traffic to your blog.

    It’s easy, fast and fun. The best Photo recipes will be here.

    I invite you to enter, add your blog and upload a recipe with a nice photo.

    You are able to see your stats:

    -Number of visits to your blog from Fooduel.com.
    -Number of votes received every day
    -Number of votes received by each category
    -Number of votes for each grade (1-10)
    -Number of votes for each recipe.

    Look this example of one profile stats: http://fooduel.com/stats1.png

    We would love that you participate with some recipe.Look Amazing!

    Regards

    http://www.Fooduel.com

  31. Kiran says:

    I recently discovered hazelnuts and cannot stop snacking on it! Love fish and I can’t wait to use hazelnuts to make it πŸ™‚

  32. Cindy says:

    Looks delicious. That hazelnut crusting for the fish sounds amazingly good. I will have to try next time I make fish πŸ˜€

  33. Thomas says:

    yummy like u πŸ™‚ Love your food :O)

  34. Amber says:

    This whole meal looks absolutely amazing! However, I think my favourite part is your sweet potato and carrot mash! It’s very colourful and sounds delicious! Can’t wait to try it out myself!

  35. Chef Doru says:

    Looks awesome! where did you find those weird carrots?

Comments are closed.
