Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Organic pork chops in a grain mustard & orange sauce, with green beans & maple syrup coated sweet potato rounds

on 17/03/2013
A tasty & sublime dinner! That grain mustard &orange sauce goes so well on top of the cooked green beans!

A tasty & sublime dinner! That grain mustard & orange sauce goes so well on top of the cooked green beans & with the round sweet potato maple syrup coated circles!

This dinner, I made yesterday evening. I had some new organic coarse whole grain mustard in the house. I had to use it, didn’t I? It looks so special too, don’t you think?

Coarse whole grain mustard, organic too!

Coarse whole grain mustard, organic too!

I also bought organic boneless pork chops & wanted to make a sauce with it. So, I made this!

Recipe: for 2 persons

Ingredients:

** For the pork chops & sauce:

2 organic boneless pork chops, each 220 gr, so 440 gr in total

Maldon sea salt

black pepper, finely milled

coarse whole grain mustard : 2 tablespoons

freshly squeezed orange juice : 150 ml

dry white wine : 50 ml

baking margarine

sunflower oil

** For the green beans:

350 gr green beans, weighted when uncleaned, tops & tails removed, cut into 2 ( I had very large beans so I cut them into 2 or ย 3 )

Maldon sea salt

** For the maple syrup coated baked sweet potato rounds:

3 tablespoons maple syrup, I used organic & grade C

baking margarine

3 big sweet potatoes, peeled & cut into 3 thicker chunks, ( when cooked , drained, we cut them into 2 or 3, into 1 cm rounds )

Method:

1. Cook your sweet potato chunks in some sea salted boiling water until tender & cooked through. Drain well & cut each thicker round into 2 or 3 smaller rounds, each 1 cm thick. Keep warm. Cook your beans in some salted water & boil until just cooked through. Drain & keep warm.

2. When your beans are cooked, take a large non-stick pan & add some baking margarine. Now, season your 2 pork chops, on each side with Maldon sea salt & finely milled black pepper. In a hot Creuset pot, pour a few drizzles of sunflower oil & add few knobs of baking margarine & let it melt. When hot, add your pork chops & fry on both sides for 3 to 5 minutes until all sides are fully browned & you don’t see any raw meat. So until they are seared! Then, add 2 tablespoons of that whole grain mustard, add white wine & orange juice too. Stir everything round in your hot pot & place the fitting lid on. Leave your pork chops in here, but turn them over after 5 minutes & pour the sauce to be over the pork chops, now & then. Leave the pork chops in here for at least 10 minutes or until your sauce has been reduced & your pork chops are just cooked through. You still want the pork chops to be juicy & a bit pink inside but not raw! When you think your pork chops are ready & tender, take 1 out & place onto a chopping board & cut into the flesh. If ready, place back into the hot pot & place the lid on. Turn the fire off & let the meat rest for 5 minutes. Because you want themย to be juicy & tender on the inside! ๐Ÿ˜‰

3. In the meantime, fry your sweet potato rounds in some baking margarine, in a large pan until browned on all sides for about 3 to 5 minutes per side. Then, pour 2 to 3 tablespoons of the maple syrup all over it. Let it caramelize a bit & turn the potato rounds also over on the other side. Carefully watch it all so the rounds don’t burn!!! Lower your heat if you need to. When ready, turn heat off & keep warm.

4. Now, plate up & pour your sauce over your juicy pork chop. Place green beans & potato rounds on the other side. Enjoy instantly with a loved one! We had a bit of the sauce left, to pour over the green beans because they go so well with that lovely sauce! Enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚ xxx

Stay tuned,ย Subscribe by email throughย the link belowย to getย my new cool newsletters aka posts!ย Join 1,850 email Subscribers! It is free!ย 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! ๐Ÿ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

59 responses to “Organic pork chops in a grain mustard & orange sauce, with green beans & maple syrup coated sweet potato rounds

  1. lou says:

    Hello Sophie,
    Your dish looks like springtime. I like the beans and all the other ingredients. Well done!
    Mamalou

  2. Liz says:

    Yes, that looks like a great mustard. And perfectly paired with pork chops. Hurrah ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. afracooking says:

    Love the flavour combination of mustard, wine and orange!

  4. twbarritt says:

    Pork and grainy mustard is the perfect combination! Well done!

  5. Bernice says:

    What a wonderful, healthy dinner! I love that sauce – what a nice touch. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Can’t wait to try this! Sounds great!

  7. What an innovative flavour combination my friend ๐Ÿ˜€

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  8. gotastรฉ says:

    I love that mustard orange sauce. This is such a nice combination. It must be delicious!

  9. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie – this is so my kind of dinner…yummm!

  10. Derek Traver says:

    This looks fantastic! It’s been so long since I’ve had a good chop, I’m definitely going to have to try this with the whole grain mustard, white wine and orange juice.

  11. Koko says:

    I’m a big fan of wholegrain mustard- it’s so good! And I loooove that you sweetened the sweet potato rounds with maple syrup. I think that’s one of my favourite flavour combos! Lovely dinner!!

    • Sophie33 says:

      I never did that with my sweet potatoes before because I thought it would make them too sweet but it was more then okey: really tasty! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Norma Chang says:

    Delicious and well balanced meal, I am coming for dinner.

  13. Susanne Haun says:

    I like this kind of mustard, Sophie and I use it for many kinds of sauces.
    I will try your introduction.
    Greetings from Susanne

  14. Peter says:

    What a lovely looking meal, Sophie! I loved eating it too! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks, my love!

  15. Love whole grain mustard–have a jar in the fridge. And with orange juice!!–it sounds great. thanks Sophie.

    • Sophie33 says:

      And don’t forget the wine in the sauce! Just drink the same wine you have used in your sauce, in your mouth at dinner! ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Yum yum yum Sophie – what a treat ๐Ÿ™‚
    XXXX

  17. Blond Duck says:

    Could I use chicken for the pork? It sounds wonderful!

  18. Tandy says:

    I love mustard and have any and every variety you can imagine. Thanks for a great recipe for me to try ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. What a delightful dinner, do you do take-away? ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. theintolerantchef says:

    What delicious flavours indeed, I must make this at home soon- yummo!

  21. Bet the mustard sauce would go wonderfully with some chicken too. Your pork chop looks very succulent and delicious.

  22. juliana says:

    I still have a jar of this mustard…and all the ingredients…humm…started to sounds really good for dinner.
    Hope you are having a nice week Sophie ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. Dina says:

    Oh dear Sophie, now I feel so hungry!!! I love mustard, I’ll try this out at the weekend. Thanks so much for sharing!
    Have a great time.
    Love Dina

  24. Bashar A. says:

    I like mustard and I don’t like pork… might try this with chicken ๐Ÿ™‚

  25. Gosh, Lucky you not invited me there……
    i’m definitely not tharing those yum-yum goodness

  26. Mark Thomas says:

    This look really delicious! I love whole grain mustard. Thanks for the recipe.

  27. Ia says:

    Looks gorgeous! Must try this, whole grain mustard is now on my shopping list ๐Ÿ˜‰

  28. Karen says:

    The mustard orange sauce is perfect for pork chops.

  29. Pulled this one up here on my kitchen counter– making it tonight. Thanks Sophie!

  30. Amber says:

    What a lovely meal! It looks so deliciously colourful! Bryan has been asking me to make pork chops for a while — this looks like a great recipe to follow when I finally get around to it!

Comments are closed.
