Posted in Recipes

Roasted salmon with green asparagus, a minted pea mash & potato croquettes !

A few days ago, I made this tasty fish dish. I served oven roasted grilled salmon fillets with a home-made minted pea mash, served with store-bought potato croquettes! I served some fresh young green asparagus tips with it! I served this for my husband Peter & I for our 6th wedding anniversary on Marth the 10th 2013. Yummy, I assure you!

A tasty fish dish!
A tasty fish dish!

MMM,…It is a very festive delicious Seasonal fish dish!

Recipe: for 2 persons, with bit of seconds

Ingredients:

** For the oven roasted salmon:

2 x each 220 gr of salmon fillet, cleaned & pad dry on kitchen paper

green fish herbs from a grinder ( my fish herbs had in it: marjorie, onion, garlic, fennel seeds, sesame, dill, oregano, basil, celery, parsley & thyme )/ I used Piet Huysentruyt

Maldon sea salt

Black pepper, finely milled

** For the potato croquettes:

enough deep freeze potato croquettes for 2 persons

** For the minted pea mash:

55 gr of fresh green mint leaves, cleaned, washed & spun dry

frozen smaller garden peas: 400 gr

50 ml of soy cream

1 big shalot, peeled & finely minced

2 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & finely minced

black pepper

Maldon sea salt

** For the green asparagus tips:

140 gr of fresh green asparagus tips

Method:

1. First, preheat your oven to 180°C ( 350 F ) for 10 minutes. I always use a fan oven. Adjust your oven to the right temperature.

2. Prepare your salmon fillets. Take a fitted oven dish & smear in with a fruity evoo. Smear your fish in with the same fruity extra virgin olive oil, on all sides. Grind your green fish herbs over each fish fillet & on the sides too. You want real good flavour from this. I scattered a bit of Maldon sea salt flakes & a bit of finely milled black pepper over the tops of each salmon piece. Place in the center of the oven & roast for about 30 to 40 minutes, depending on the thickness of your pieces. If it is thinner, you will need only 20 to 30 minutes. Check often.

2. After that, boil your peas in some salted water until cooked through. Drain well & set aside. In the same pot, add some baking margarine & let it melt. When hot, add garlic & shalot pieces & fry until browned & cooked through. Season with some salt, but not too much & finely milled black pepper. Let it cool down a bit. Now, heat up your soy cream & season with s & p. Add the peas to the hot soy cream & heat them through in here. Place the mint leaves in a food processor & add the peas-soy cream mix. Mix 3/4 fine. I wanted a more chunkier mash so I blitzed it thicker. Do what you want! 🙂 Taste! It has to taste fab! Heat up your 2 serving plates. At the same time, cook your asparagus tips for a few minutes until al dente & drain well. Keep warm.

3. Fry your potato croquettes in your fryer according to the packet instructions. Now, plate up! Place your roasted fish on one side, spoon your tasty pea-mint mash on the other side, spoon your cooked green asparagus tips, besides that & place your potato croquettes onto your plate & dig in instantly with a loved one! This is also great enjoyed with a good white wine, like an Australian wine, Chardonnay, Lindemans Bin 65, 2011. A perfect match or a good Sauvignon Blanc! 🙂

 

Stay tuned, Subscribe by email through the link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,850 email Subscribers! It is free! 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Sophie’s home-made dry spiced rub & dry spiced rubbed whiting fillets served with a spiced broccoli & potato mash

2. Oven baked salmon with Belgian white asparagus & oven baked potato wedges

3. Sophie’s salsa verde with pan-fried haddock pieces

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

60 thoughts on “Roasted salmon with green asparagus, a minted pea mash & potato croquettes !

  1. Happy anniversary to you 🙂 Looks yummy–the peas say spring is coming 🙂 Love the veggie goodness and the croquettes are so cute!

  2. Hello Sophie,
    What a lovely dish. It looks very delicious. I enjoy it very well.
    mamalou

  3. U don’t say yummy. ..YUMMY written all over it! !!excellent job my friend!!!

  4. Happy Anniversary Sophie and Peter – I hope it was a wonderful day. And I wish you both many many years of happiness!

  5. Happy Anniversary Sophie. Your husband must’ve been very appreciative of this beautiful dinner. The salmon looks lovely but it’s the minted pea mash that is calling my name! Yum.

  6. Happy Anniversary Sophie :). That was a magnificent meal and those croquettes look especially delish…might have to try them soon 🙂

      1. Isn’t it wonderful to be able to follow someone elses adventures on the other side of the world from your computer chair? 😉 You are a true vegan adventuress and I love your recipes Sophie 🙂 Are you going in the Vegan Virtual Potluck this year? I might even head on over there and make something this time 🙂

      2. Yeah! I wished you lived closer to me! We could cook together & use fresh veggies from your farm! We would chat all day long! 🙂

      3. I have some gorgeous Japanese eggplants going nuts at the moment along with lots and LOTS of ripe red tomatoes that need picking and spinach and silverbeet. I think I might have to pick something that uses all of them for my very first Vegan Virtual Potluck entry 🙂

      4. goodluck with creating an amazing vegan recipe! Experimant with spices, textures & flavours! I am very curious now!

  7. Happy Anniversary Sophie and Peter! What a lovely celebration dinner! That pea mash must be so tasty and refreshing!!

  8. That looks and sounds most delicious, dear Sophie!
    Have a great evening.
    Love to you from North Norfolk
    Dina

  9. A little late, but no less warm: my best wishes for your anniversary! Congratulations! And what a fabulous dinner to celebrate this special occasion!

  10. I need this minted pea mash in my life! So much more healthier and vibrant than any regular mash 😉

Comments are closed.