Posted in Recipes

Vegan spinach & broccoli soup, topped with smoked tofu croutons!

A tasty, smooth & silky broccoli soup! Vegan & GF!
A tasty, smooth & silky broccoli soup!
Vegan & GF!
Today, I made this tasty vegan broccoli & spinach soup. I served it with topped fried smoked tofu bits, for  a more filling & healthy meal! This is a more smooth & silky soup with a hint of vegan cheese flavour in it. ( nutritional yeast )
MMM!
MMM!

Read on How I made this lovely silky smooth soup!

Recipe: For a whole lot of soup = 11 cups = 2750 ml

Ingredients:

1 large head of broccoli, about 500 gr, big hard stem removed, cut into smaller florets, washed & cleaned

500 gr spinach leaves, cleaned, big stalks removed, washed & spun dry

nutritional yeast : 4 tablespoons

1 white onion, peeled & cut up into chunks

1 medium potato, peeled & cut up finely

3 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & finely cut up

1000 ml of a good hot vegan & GF vegetable stock

500 ml of unsweetened soy milk

black pepper, finely grinned

Maldon sea salt

200 gr of vegan & gluten-free organic smoked tofu, drained, pad dry on kitchen paper & cut into 0.5 cm chunks with a sharp knife / I use Provamel/ I used 1 pack of 200 gr smoked tofu for 4 persons! Add more for the rest of the soup! Just calculate!

a GF & vegan butter

Method:

1. Take a pressure cooker & heat up on medium high. Whet hot, add some knobs of GF & vegan butter & let it melt. Add cut up onion, garlic & potato chunks. Stir often. Fry for about 5 minutes. Now, add spinach. Push the spinach down into the pot & let it wilt a bit. Then, add broccoli florets. Push it down into the pot.  Add hot vegetable stock & stir everything round in the pot. Now, add nutritional yeast & unsweetened soy milk. Stir everything well round into the pot. Heat up on high.

2. When starting to boil, place the fitting lid of the pressure cooker in place like you normally do. Leave it on the high heat for about 6 to 7 minutes or until the nozzle is sizzling all the time. Now, turn the heat off & with help of a large wooden spoon, set the nozzle open & set the steam free! Leave it there until there is no steam left. Carefully, remove the lid.

3. Mix the soup, in a few batches, until completely smooth. I did this in 2 times, using My Vitamix. I mixed it completely fine. Now, taste your soup. I added 15 grins of finely milled black pepper & 1 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt.

4. In the meantime, heat a non-stick pan on high heat. Add a knob or 2 of vegan & GF butter & let it melt. Add the chunks of smoked tofu & fry until crispy & browned on all sides. Season with Maldon sea salt & finely grinned black pepper. Taste!

5. Laddle your soup in soup bowls & divide your smoked tofu croutons over the top, in the middle of your soup. Happy Eating! ;)

 

Stay tuned, Subscribe by email through the link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,850 email Subscribers! It is free! 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! 🙂

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Vegan courgettes & spinach soup, topped with smoked tofu croutons!

2.A rustic spinach & green aspargagus soup

3. Sophie’s vegan cheddary cheese spread ( using nutritional yeast )

4. Vegan baked brown rice with broccoli in a cheesy sauce ( using nutritional yeast )

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

90 thoughts on “Vegan spinach & broccoli soup, topped with smoked tofu croutons!

  1. This looks amazing, Sophie! I could tell you used your Vita-mix…it’s so silky smooth! What a healthy, nutritious soup. Very good idea for the croutons!

  2. I never had a soup like this. I have had broccoli soup. This soup has a nice rich color which I bet translates to a lot of good nutrients! Very pretty to look at. 🙂

  3. pretty:-) That is a whole lot of soup, Sophie! Love the green and those croutons are just plain mouthwatering. They would make great snacks, too, yes?

  4. Such a fab ideas to make tofu-croutons. I can just imagine them on my next soup or salad!

    1. Yes, they are pretty good & tasty, fried in some vegan butter & added sea salt flakes & black pepper too! 🙂 Enjoy! x

  5. yay i love that a vitamix was involved! i’m currently obsessed with my vitamix. i love the tofu-crouton idea too!

    1. I also love my Vitamix. You can only buy it in 2 shops in Belgium! I love my power machine a lot! It stands on my kitchen counter!

  6. Isn’t this so pretty! I bet it tastes as good as it looks too 🙂 I’ve never seen smoked tofu, but I’ll be on the look out!

  7. That’s a beautiful looking soup, Sophie. So colourful. I love how vibrant the green is and of course, no soup is complete without croutons! xx

  8. So green, so good! I was just thinking of trying out tofu croutons, so thanks for confirming in advance that it definitely would be a delicious concept. 😉

    1. Yes & here it is smoked tofu croutons, well fried of course & seasoned with sea salt & black pepper! ooh so good!

    1. Oooh,…thanks so much, Bernice! 🙂 Thanks!!! xxx I do accept them but don’t write about them anymore!! Much appreciated too!

  9. I love the wonderful green and it is so healthy and nutritious. Thank you for sharing this beautiful recipe.

    1. Yep: it is a great & tasty idea! On top of that I used smoked tofu: that is way better here! fried of course!

  10. Tofu croutons? I’ve never had that. Usually I avoid tofu since I think it tastes a bit like..nothing, but smoked tofu really sounds delicious. Thanks for all your healthy food inspiration:)

  11. Lovely looking soup! I don’t think I’ve seen smoked tofu before. Is the texture much different from the usual packaged variety?

  12. Enjoyed this soup over the weekend…eating the leftovers over wheat penne tonight. Substituted coconut milk for the soy…it was delicious, thx so much!

  13. Smoked tofu croutons sound unreal! I’ve never cooked tofu I have to admit, but I do love to eat it out. Maybe one day soon I’ll be brave enough to try it at home. The colour of the soup is fab too!

Comments are closed.