Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

A quick & tasty pasta dish!

on 21/02/2013
Don't you want to dig in?MMM!

Don’t you want to dig in?
MMM!

Yesterday evening, I made this tasty & easy pasta dish. It is quickly to make, tasty, a bit spicy & tangy with the white balsamic vinegar!

Recipe: For 3 persons, with seconds

Ingredients:

350 gr organic white spelt penne

1 big handful of pine nuts

340 gr of smaller cherry tomatoes, in 3 different colours, each cut into 2

green pesto: 2 to 3 tablespoons / I use Bertolli

Maldon sea salt

black pepper

white balsamic vinegar : 2 to 3 tablespoons

300 gr spicy organic pork sausages, the casings ( this is the skin ) removed, the meat squeezed out & torn into smaller chunks

a fruity Extra Virgin Olive Oil ( EVOO )

Method:

1. Cook your organic spelt penne according to your packet instructions. Drain & keep warm. At the same time, take a large non-stick pan & heat up onto medium high. Place your nuts in here. Toast your pine nuts for a few minutes until browned on all sides & until they are fragrant. Shake them around in the pan. Prevent burning! When brown & toasted, place them in a little bowl. Using the same pan, heat it up on high, add a few swirls of a fruity evoo & heat up. Place the spicy sausage bits in your hot pan & fy until ready & cooked through. Stir often. Remove the fried sausage pieces from the pan & keep warm. Add a swirl or 2 of that fruity evoo into the hot pan & swirl around. Place the cut up tomatoes, cutsize down into the hot oil. Add some sea salt & black pepper. Add 2 to 3 tablespoons of white balsamic vinegar. Turn the tomatoes over & fry for 1 minute or 2. You don’t want the mini tomatoes to fall apart!

2. Add 2 to 3 tablespoons of the green pesto to the hot pasta & stir around. Add fried sausage bits & scatter the toasted pine nuts over the pasta dish. Mingle well with a spoon. At last, add the fried tomato pieces & all the juices from the pan too. Mingle carefully, trying not to break up the tomatoes. Check your seasoning. I added a bit of sea salt & extra grins of finely milled black pepper. Enjoy instantly, with a loved one! Happy Eating! 😉 This is so good, so tasty, spicy, a bit tangy with the tomatoes & the white balsamic vinegar too! 🙂 Yum!

 

Stay tuned, Subscribe by email through the link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,850 email Subscribers! It is free! 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! 🙂

A good quality white balsamic vinegar!

A good quality white balsamic vinegar!

White organic spelt penne!

White organic spelt penne!

40 responses to “A quick & tasty pasta dish!

  1. I LOVE pine nuts with pasta. Well, pine nuts seem to be a favourite added to all sorts lately. So yummy 🙂

  2. Dina ♥ says:

    Me too, I love nuts with pasta., espceially the pine nuts. This is just what I need, Sophie. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe. 🙂
    Best regards
    Dina

  3. Ali says:

    Yes! I do want to dig in! That looks so delicious! I love pine nuts in pasta and salads too! Perfect dish 🙂

  4. hotlyspiced says:

    You won’t believe it but I made a very similar pasta last night. It was spelt pasta with cherry tomatoes and pork and fennel sausages. But we didn’t have the white balsamic vinegar and I’m a huge fan – just love that taste. Will definitely have to give your version a go! xx

  5. Mitzie Mee says:

    I love pine nuts and they go so well with pasta. Delicious!

  6. afracooking says:

    So simple and sooo delicious looking! A great combination of flavours and textures!

  7. Koko says:

    Mmmm this looks soooo yummy!!!! Comforting, warm, and filling and so satisfying with the hearty spelt pasta. Yum!

  8. I love the combo of pine nuts and tomatoes, such a great pairing in pasta

  9. Norma Chang says:

    Love this, I too am very fond of pine nuts.

  10. woodentaste says:

    A marvellous -distinctive “Sophie touch” to every dish on this site..magnetising!!!

  11. Liz says:

    beautiful and simple:-) I could even pull this off on a weeknight! Thanks for a great idea.

  12. never seen any white balsamic vinegar befor..
    is’t it the same taste with regular or aged balsamic vinegar?

  13. Jim Brennan says:

    My mouth is watering

  14. Bernice says:

    This looks wonderful! I like quick and easy to make. 🙂

  15. clems28 says:

    cette petite sauce au pesto, la saucisse (pas végétale pour moi) : ça me plaît !

  16. scott2608 says:

    It looks tasty!

  17. I love this my friend, definitely would devour it 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  18. Bashar A. says:

    Added to my recipe list… I think I can try this, thanks for sharing Sophie 🙂

  19. Tammy says:

    You know Sophie, I rarely eat meat – except for a dish like this one. Spicy sausage and pasta – yum!

  20. gotasté says:

    I have yet to cook sausage without skin and that white balsamic vinegar is new to me. How does it taste like compared to the usual? Is it good for dipping bread with olive oil too?

    • Sophie33 says:

      yes, but these are organic sausages & spicy: that makes the difference! White balsamic vinbegar is more sour & a bit sweet. I don’t know! I never do that!?

Comments are closed.
