Posted in Recipes

Vegan spelt savoury scones!

Tasty vegan spiced spelt savoury scones!
Tasty vegan spiced spelt savoury scones!

Hello, my friends! Long time no see! The last 2 weeks, I lost my blog mojo. I didn’t feel to cook nor bake. Then, I fell from the stairs in my home & my husband got sick as well. 😦

But now, I am better & my husband is okay too. Now, I have plenty of energy again to cook & bake! Let’s get on with it! I invented these tasty savoury vegan scones. They are a bit spicy at the end of your tongue with the smoked spicy paprika in it! They are tasty on their own, sliced open, layered with a vegan cheddar cheese slice or eat them, sliced open, with some vegan butter smeared on them, lovely to enjoy with a home-made vegan soup, yum yum! πŸ˜‰

Tasty vegan savoury scones, baked with lots of love!
Tasty vegan savoury scones, baked with lots of love!

Make these tasty savory scones now! You need them in your life,…;)

Recipe: For about 15 smaller round scones, diameter 5 cm

Ingredients:

* The dry ingredients:

350 gr light organic spelt flour

20 gr baking powder

100 gr vegan vegetable fat, in chunks / I use Trex

150 gr vegan green olives stuffed with red bell pepper, out of a can, rinsed & drained well, each filled olive, cut up into 2 or 3 slices

60 gr canned corn, rinsed & well-drained

20 grins of finely milled black pepper

1 teaspoon of crushed Maldon sea salt flakes

1 teaspoon + 1/2 teaspoon of spicy smoked paprika ( PimentΓ³n de la Vera, the spicy version.)

1/2 teaspoon dried shalot granules

* The wet ingredients:

80 gr silken tofu, well-drained

150 ml unsweetened soy milk

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 200Β° C ( 400 F ) for about 10 minutes. I always use a fan oven. Adjust your oven to the right temperature, if you need to.

2. Take a large bowl & ad spelt flour & baking powder. Mix well with a spoon. Take your Kenwood-bowl from your Kenwood kitchen robot. Sieve the flour & baking powder. Place the dough hook. Add the vegetable fat. Mix on low-speed together. Scrape the sides of the bowl often & remix. Add the cut up olives, corn, shalot granules, 20 grins of finely milled black pepper, 1 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt & 1 + 1/2 teaspoon of smoked spicy paprika. Mix well.

3. Now, add wet ingredients to this mix. This is the silken tofu & soy milk. Mix until well joined on higher speed. Taste. It has to taste good & a bit spicy. Don’t knead the dough too long with the dough hook. Flour a Silpat or a kitchen counter well with the same light spelt flour. With floured hands, place your dough onto the Silpat. Knead for 1 minute or so, until the dough comes together, but not too long. If your dough is too wet, add about 1 to 3 spoonfuls of the same flour to the wet dough & knead it until it comes together.Β Make a rounder shape, about 1 cm thick. With your 5cm cutter, flour it on the insides to prevent sticking. Make rounds into the dough & place them spaced apart onto a clean Silpat on an oven rack for stability. Re-use the other rest of the dough & do the same. Bake in the preheated oven for about 13 to 15 minutes until slightly golden on the sides & on top. Mine took 15 minutes. Place the risen baked scones on a wire rack to cool down. When cold, place into a cookie or cake box. But I assure you, they won’t last that long! πŸ™‚ They are lovely & airy on the inside!

A lovely airy & tasty interior!
A lovely airy & tasty interior!

How to enjoy them?

1. Great on their own, sliced open & layered with a good vegan cheddar slice !

2. Great Β sliced open, smeared with vegan butter, just like that!

3. Very tasty, sliced open, smeared with vegan butter enjoyed with a home made vegan soup

4. They are also tasty, sliced open, smeared with vegan butter & eaten with a great vegan salad!

5. Lovely to enjoy with a vegan hot stew. Yummy yum!

MMM! Sliced open, smeared with vegan butter & vegan cheddar slices!
MMM! Sliced open, smeared with vegan butter & vegan cheddar slices!

 

Stay tuned,Β Subscribe by email throughΒ the link belowΒ to getΒ my new cool newsletters aka posts!Β Join 1,850 email Subscribers! It is free!Β 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! πŸ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

88 thoughts on “Vegan spelt savoury scones!

  1. Ugh!! So sorry to hear you’ve been down and out – – but glad you’re both feeling better and back into blogging. We’ve missed you!

    These scones look wonderful – – love the smoked paprika :-)!

  2. I kept thinking they’d be delicious with soup, and then I saw you agreed πŸ˜‰
    Once I have more time (and energy) for cooking I’ll give them a try

  3. Well…we all get the blues…sometimes(not all of us will admit it..),and those scones, yes, they are smiling ..yum yum

  4. So sorry to hear you hurt yourself and have been missing your mojo too !
    Glad you feel better πŸ™‚
    Those scones look divine Sophie – yum!
    XXX

  5. Hello Sophie,
    Your scones look very special. It inspires me to bake them, too.
    mamalou

  6. A break is sometimes as good as a rest πŸ™‚
    Welcome back, I missed your posts…. and I’m loving the sounds of these scones. Perfect for a lunch πŸ™‚

  7. What beautiful looking scones. I’m sorry to hear you fell down the stairs – that would have been very frightening. I hope you’re not too bruised and battered. And welcome back – I was wondering what was going on in your life xx

  8. Happy you guys are feeling better! These look great. I love recipes with spelt. Is vegan vegetable fat shortening? we don’t have shortening here, so I dont really know what it is. But is vegan butter ok to use instead?

    1. I think soyes: Shortening is any fat that is solid at room temperature and used to make crumbly pastry. In pastries such as cake, which should not be elastic, shortening is used.

      Although butter is solid at room temperature and is frequently used in making pastry, the term “shortening” seldom refers to butter but is more closely related to margarine.

      So, if you don’t have vegetable fat aka shortening use margarine but no butter!

  9. Gorgeous! You are seriously talented in the kitchen:-) But so sorry to hear about your fall. Glad if everyone has recovered.

  10. Sorry to learn about your fall and that your husband was not well. Glad you are better and your husband is OK. I would like the scones with cheddar cheese and soup.

    1. Thanks, dear Saskia! You can have 2, if you like. One will really fill you up, for about 1.5 hour, if you lay it with vegan cheddar sliced cheese!

  11. Sophie! So sad to hear about your fall and Peter’s sickness- that sounds terrible! I admire your positive attitude though, and I’m so glad you’re ready to back up and into the blog again! I had been wondering where my favourite foodie blogger was!

    What a way to start back up- these scones look amazing! I know I would love the smoked paprika in them. I want one warm and sliced open with some butter. Yummmmmmm!

    1. πŸ™‚ Thank you, derar Koko! I knew that you would digg these tasty savoury scones, all vegan too! πŸ™‚

  12. I’m sorry to hear about your fall, hope it’s nothing serious! I have been missing your writing and recipes, so I’m happy to hear from you again! I love scones and these sounds so delicious!

  13. Spelt is one flour that I actually don’t keep on hand regularly! I just never think to use it, which is a real shame, especially considering how delicious those scones look. I’ve definitely been indulging my salt tooth more lately after a bit of a dessert overdose, so I love the sound of these savory baked goods.

    1. I use light organic spelt flour because it is more healthy then normal white flour & it fills you up longer. I like it the healthier way! a bit!

  14. Hi Sophie, glad to hear you’re on the mend, these look tasty and are packed with lots of flavour πŸ™‚

      1. So true & they have a more nutty flavour! I love using wholemeal & light splet flour, but only organic ones!

  15. Glad you’re feeling better, Sophie!
    Your scones are fabulous. I have GOT to try spelt flour. And yes, with soup, perfect.

    1. Thanks, dear Barbara! πŸ™‚ It is a must, buy organic too! I loev to use white spelt flour instead of normal organic white flour for better flavour & because it is more healthier too!

  16. Sorry you took a spill, Sophie. I’m happy to read that both of you are doing better now. There are so many yummy ingredients in your scones. I just know they are delicious.

  17. This recipe went on the list for hubby to make. I’m thinking that I’d love these scones with my homemade soup.

  18. Sorry to hear that you and your husband were not well, and glad to know that now you have all your energy back…yay!
    These savory scones look great…and yes filled with cheese look even better.
    Enjoy the rest of your week Sophie!

  19. These look wonderful! I like that you added smoked paprika – nice touch. And I am glad you are feeling better!

  20. Oh so sorry to hear you were both sick! Glad you’re getting your mojo back…scones and savory…two of my favs! xo

  21. Oh my, you fell down the stairs?! Hope you were really ok, and your hubby is all better now. These scones look great! Good to see you have returned and got your mojo back…sometimes a break is necessary to keep the creative juices flowing πŸ™‚

  22. Oh dear Sophie! I’m sorry to hear that you had a bad fall. I definitely noticed your absence. It’s great to ‘see’ your enthusiastic and cheery self again.
    These scones look delicious. They would be great for my kids’ lunch boxes. πŸ™‚

  23. Glad that you’re back, but *ouch* falling down the stairs and becoming sick, -it would also make me lose my mojo:/ Hope you and your husband are both better now. The scones certainly look good:)

  24. Oh so sorry to hear about your unlucky spell. Glad to hear that you are better & very happy you are back to blogging as this is a fabulous recipe!

Comments are closed.