Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Brown rice with toasted walnuts, Moscatel vinegar roasted butternut & red onion, served with organic pork chops! Yum, I say!

on 24/01/2013
Tasty, tasty, tasty!

Tasty, tasty, tasty!

This evening, I made this tasty dish. A while ago, I received this beautiful edible gift from my aunt Vera. She bought it in Spain. It is a lovely Spanish Catalan Moscatel vinegar. Moscatel means, made from Muscat grapes.

Lovely Spanish Catalan Muscat vinegar!

Lovely Spanish Catalan Muscat vinegar!

MMM …

I didn’t make any dishes with it yet & suddenly, it came to me. I had a lovely ripe butternut pumpkin & had to use it too. I also had 2 lovely organic pork chops that I had to use up. So, I made this tasty combined dinner. These 2 side dishes are vegan & if you pair these dishes with vegan sausages or pepper & salted  fried tofu bits, you will have a totally guilt-free vegan dinner! Easy does it here too! 🙂 Enjoy! The Moscatel vinegar adds a lot of fragrance & a bit of sweetness to the butternut. You need this kind of pumpkin instead of the sweeter varieties because it can take the sweetness of the vinegar!

All of these flavours work beautifully together! Yum Yum yum!

MMM!

MMM!

Recipe: For 2 persons

Ingredients:

* For the Moscatel oven roasted butternut pieces, red onion & garlic:

4 tablespoons evoo

1 + 1/2 tablespoon Spanish Moscatel vinegar

10 grins of black pepper

1/2 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt

1/2 big fat red onion, peeled & cut into fine wedges

1 fat clove of garlic, finely cut up ( You don’t need more because otherwise the garlic flavour becomes overpowering in this dish! )

* For the brown rice with toasted walnuts:

2 sachets of each 125 gr brown rice, packed into easy to cook packets, that need 12 minutes of cooking. I use Uncle Ben’s.

1 big handful of walnuts, toasted in a hot non-stick pan for a few minutes until fragrant! Do not let the nuts burn! Lower the heat if you need to! Chop the toasted walnuts into smaller chunks.

Maldon sea salt

* For the organic pork chops:

2 organic pork chops, that are Dairy-Free & Gluten-Free

vegan baking margarine

Maldon sea salt

black pepper

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 220°C ( 425 F ) for 10 minutes.

2. Cook your brown rice according to your packet instructions. Drain well & fluff your rice up with a fork. Add toasted walnut pieces. Add some knobs of vegan butter & let it melt into the hot rice. Keep warm. Add a bit of sea salt & mix with a spoon.

3. At the same time, take a large non-stick roasting tin, add butternut pieces, red onion wedges & garlic pieces, all in 1 layer in the tin. Pour oil, Moscatel vinegar all over the tin. Add 10 grins of finely milled black pepper & 1/2 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt. Mingle well with clean hands! Place in the center of your oven & roast for about 20 to 30 minutes depending on your oven. In half og the baking time, turn the veggies over in the tin, to brown & roast evenly on all sides. When ready, turn oven off.

4. When the brown rice & veggies are nearly ready, fry your organic pork chops in some baking margarine on both sides until golden brown on both sides & the inside is just cooked. I seasoned mine with black pepper & sea salt on both sides. Now, plate up ! Place 2 to 3 tablespoons of your toasted walnut brown rice on one side of your plate, add the roasted veggies on the other side & serve each person a lovely organic pork chop! Deliciousness guaranteed!!! 🙂 Enjoy! xxx

 

Stay tuned, Subscribe by email through the link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,850 email Subscribers! It is free! 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! 🙂

Sophies Foodie Files

58 responses to “Brown rice with toasted walnuts, Moscatel vinegar roasted butternut & red onion, served with organic pork chops! Yum, I say!

  1. Karen says:

    What a delicious sounding meal. Isn’t it lovely when you find a new ingredient to experiment with in your cooking. I’m sure the vinegar paired wonderfully with the pumpkin.

  2. Vanessa says:

    The butternut squash immediately caught my eye! Looks fantastic.

  3. Holy moly! What a tasty combo!

  4. lou says:

    Hoi Sophie,
    It looks again very yumi yumi. Well done!
    You create a lot of very tasty food.
    Thank you.
    Mamalou

  5. Liz says:

    love trying new vinegars–pork chops seems a perfect combination:-)

  6. Blond Duck says:

    I bet this would be great with steak!

  7. The squash looks mouth-watering! great photo Sophie.

  8. Tandy says:

    That vinegar sounds very special Sophie 🙂

  9. Tammy says:

    Squash and vinegar sound lovely – Sophie!

  10. Koko says:

    I love butternut squash! What a lucky lady, to receive such a special vinegar! It looks so fancy…like a wine bottle! Yum!!

  11. That vinegar sounds perfect to make any dish special my friend 😀
    Lovely choice!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  12. Victoria says:

    I say ‘yum’ as well!

  13. I wish that I could get my hands on a bottle of that muscatel vinegar! This is a very creative and delicious looking meal!

  14. Norma Chang says:

    Love your butternut squash treatmment. I do not have moscatel vinegar but guess balsamic vinegar would make a good substitute.

    • Sophie33 says:

      yes, but this one is even better. I do that always with balsamic vinegar but with the white balsamic vinegar it would be better in flavour then the normal darker one!

  15. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie…your dinner sounds delicious! I love your butternut squash recipe….it would be lovely with a good Balsamic vinegar too!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Yes, but I do that always with balsamic vinegar but with the white balsamic vinegar it would be better in flavour then the normal darker one!

  16. This is my kind of meal! yum!

  17. MaryMoh says:

    I love rice and I love squash. So this dish will go down down very well with me….mmmm

  18. Looks very tasty and healthy as well!

  19. I love the sound of this meal! I haven’t seen moscatel vinegar but I’ll look out for it and hopefully we can get it here! 😀

  20. Bashar A. says:

    Looks good but I’ll have to try it with a different kind of meat, I don’t like pork! 😦

  21. Susanne Haun says:

    It looks great, Sophie!
    I’am only eating noodles with pesto today for lunch, next time I want to cook I look in your blog before….
    Greetings from Susanne

  22. Saskia (1=2) says:

    Yum Sophie. Love everything here, especially the pumpkin. Aunt Vera has very good taste – food gifts are the best!

  23. Bernice says:

    This looks wonderful!

  24. That vinegar sounds amazing Sophie…what a wonderful gift!! I bet it did give amazing flavor…those butternut look sooo delicious!!

  25. Barbara says:

    Are you kidding? I say DOUBLE yum!

  26. hotlyspiced says:

    What a yummy dinner. I would love to try the pork with that special vinegar – it sounds like a wonderful combination xx

  27. Sophie, this is my kind of meal–perfect for a winter night with friends or in the company of one. I still have quite a few pumpkins in my pantry, so I look forward especially to making the squash dish.

  28. Amber says:

    This dish sounds so interesting! I’ve never heard of Moscatel vinegar. What does it taste like?

Comments are closed.
