Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Vegan stuffed pasta shell oven dish!

on 20/01/2013
MMM! Vegan stuffed pasta shells with oyster mushrooms, brown mushrooms, red onion, garlic, seitan mince in a lovely basil tomato sauce!

MMM! Vegan stuffed pasta shells with oyster mushrooms, brown mushrooms, red onion, garlic, seitan mince in a lovely basil tomato sauce!!! Normally, you add a lot of the sauce over the top before indulging but that didn’t gave me a good & tasty picture! I ate twice this serving! 🙂

I never made filled large pasta shells before so I had to change that, didn’t I? I also wanted a vegan version but didn’t want to use nutritional yeast because sometimes that can make foods really heavy. I wanted to keep it more lighter, clean & easy too. So, I made this: MMM!

Recipe: For 3 big portions

Ingredients:

1 bottle of 700 gr smooth  tomato passata ( = passata is an uncooked tomato puree that has been strained of seeds and skins. )

1 bottle of 700 gr tomato passata with smaller tomato pieces

1 tablespoon double tomato concentrate

1 big red onion, peeled & finely sliced into wedges

3 fat garlic cloves, peeled & finely cut up

sunflower oil

150 gr oyster mushrooms, cleaned & cut into bite-sized chunks

180 gr brown mushrooms, cleaned & cut into bite-sized chunks

350 gr seitan mince

270 gr big pasta shells: 100% durum wheat

black pepper

Maldon sea salt

Spanish spicy smoked paprika: pimentón picanté: 3 teaspoons

1/4 teaspoon dried thyme

3 teaspoons of dried basil

2 teaspoons dark cane sugar

Method:

1. Firstly, cook your big pasta shells in salted boiling water according to your packet instructions. Mine were cooked after 11 minutes. Drain well & with your hands, pull the shells from each other,placing them side by side with the holes upwards, to cool off a bit & to fill them up splendidly later on.

2. At the same time, take a large cooking pot & pour the 2 passatas in it. Add 3 teaspoons of dried basil, 1 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt & 10 grins of finely milled black pepper. Add 1 tablespoon of double tomato concentrate. Cook on higher heat. I added 2 teaspoons of dark cane sugar to prevent tasting that bitter flavour. Stir often to prevent burning. Reduce the sauce for about 10 minutes. Taste! You will end up with a basic tomato sauce, mildly seasoned but yummy. You also end up with a lot of sauce, but don’t worry , you are going to need it all! 🙂 Keep warm.

3. At the same time, sauté your garlic & red onion wedges with 1/4 teaspoon of dried thyme, in some hot sunflower oil, in a larger pan, until nearly cooked through. Stir often. Add 1/4 teaspoon of sea salt & 5 grins milled black pepper. Now, add the cut up oyster mushrooms to the hot pan & add 1 teaspoon of the smoked picanté paprika powder & stir everything well around in the pan. Fry until al dente & fragrant. Transfer this lot to a large pot with fitting lid, to keep seperate. Now, pour a swirl or two of sunflower oil & add brown mushrooms. Add 1 teaspoon of smoked picanté ( spicy ) paprika & sauté until cooked though. The house will smell amazing & rich when you are doing this. Transfer to the rest of the fried veggies pot. Now, add your seitan mince & fry for a few minutes until browned. Pour drizzles of extra sunflower oil to the pan, if you ned to. Add 1 teaspoon of picanté smoked paprika & season with a bit of sea salt & black pepper. The seitan mince has to taste divine! 🙂 Add this to the veggie mix & pour the hot tomato basil sauce over the veggie mix in the pot. Mix carefully with large spoon. Taste! It all should taste divine & yummy!

4. Preheat your oven to 220°C (425 F ) for 10 minutes. I always use a fan oven. Adjust your oven to the right temperature. Take 2 oven dishes & pour a layer of the veggies-seitan-tomato sauce over the base of each oven dish. Take the large cooked pasta shells & fill them with the mix, fill them up really good. Tuck each filled pasta shell, nicely,cosy besides each other. Pour a thin layer of the veggies-seitan-tomato sauce over the filled pasta shells, in each oven dish. But not too much sauce, you must still see bits of the edges of your filled pasta shells. Now, your sauce is all used up! 🙂 Bake in hot oven for about 20 minutes until nicely baked & browned. The sauce on the inside of each oven dish has reduced & is all nice a yummy too! 😉 Plate up & give each person, per plate, 4 stuffed shells to begin with & pour the hot sauce over it & enjoy it !!! Enjoy, my lovely ones!

 

Stay tuned, Subscribe by email through the link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,850 email Subscribers! It is free! 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! 🙂

Sophies Foodie Files

31 responses to “Vegan stuffed pasta shell oven dish!

  1. Aoife.D says:

    Stuffed pasta shells are one of my favorite things to eat, I’ve never tried a vegan version before but these look yum!

  2. Hotly Spiced says:

    What a yummy meal. This is perfect for everyone in my family – there would be no complaints! xx

  3. Looks very delicious, Sophie! 🙂

  4. This looks wonderful Sophie! Sounds scrumptious and I love the spicey smoked paprika…delish I bet!

  5. katrina berg says:

    Looks soo good! I love all the extra spices you included…one happy mouth 🙂

  6. Koko says:

    Your stuffed pasta shells look amazing!! I love how you did this with tomato sauce. When I used to eat a lot of cheese, I would love eating cheesy stuffed pasta shells. I haven’t had shells since then! I think your tomato version would be so much lighter and even better! I bet my serving would be that picture 3 times over!!!

  7. Suzanne says:

    I love stuffed pasta shells and your look delicious, it’s making me hungry right now and I’m wishing I had a plate full. Great job Sophie 🙂

  8. liveblissful says:

    Great job Sophie! It looks great. I wouldnt know it was vegan if you didnt say so. I didnt know you could buy seitan mince. I want to make it by trying to get hold of vital gluten in Australia.

    • Sophie33 says:

      Yes, we can buy seitan mince. I prefer seiatn above tofu anyday! I buy it at my local whole foods or biomarket!

  9. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie – this sounds so so good! I wish I could find GF pasta shells. It is fun to stuff veggies or pasta, plus it is so tasty…yum!

  10. thombeed says:

    Wow love to make this… I think I have all of the ingredients too 🙂 nice photos makes me hungry

  11. don’t you think that sheddered mushrooms stem is gonna make the sauce even better..
    i guaranteed it, since i’ve got to try this on my charity highschool bazzar…

  12. Looks delish Sophie! Hmmm… I always overeat on pasta as well– and this does look hard to resist!

  13. Oh my this has made me SO hungry

  14. Amber says:

    You had me at smoked paprika… that’s my favourite spice lately! This stuffed pasta looks absolutely amazing!

Comments are closed.
