Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Vegan & gluten-free Asian marinated tofu pieces, wokked veggies & brown rice noodles!

on 10/01/2013

This evening, I made this tasty asian inspired tofu marinade & this tasty vegan & gluten-free dinner! Yummy Yum!

MMMM! A divine & tasty vegan & gluten-free dinner!

MMM! A divine & tasty vegan & gluten-free dinner!

Recipe: For 2 persons

Ingredients:

** For the firm tofu marinade:

1 block of 250 gr firm tofu, rinsed, pressed & drained well, pad dry on kitchen paper

3 tablespoons vegan & gluten-free light superior soy sauce

3 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & finely cut up

2 cm of fresh ginger, peeled & finely cut up into chunks

1 teaspoon of hot chili sauce

2 tablespoons mirin

3 tablespoons Chinese wok oil ( it has sunflower & roasted sesame oil in it )

** For the rest:

250 gr vegan & gluten-free brown rice noodles

1/2 large aubergine ( eggplant ), cut into smaller chunks

1 cleaned radicchio, 2 outer leaves removed, cut up into smaller shreds & hard bit cut out too

75 gr of finely cut up wok veggies ( white onion slices, carrot strips & leek parts )

Method:

1. Prepare your marinade. Add every ingredient for your marinade except the tofu in a medium bowl & whisk it all together. Taste! It has to taste good but not too spicy. Prepare your tofu. Place your tofu horizontally on a chopping board. Slice into 10 thicker slices. Then, crosswise slice each piece into 2 similar triangles. You now have 20 pieces of tofu. Place it in 1 layer in a fitting bowl & pour the marinade all over it. See that you have bits & pieces placed on top of each tofu piece. Take a bit of the marinade & pour this over the 75 gr wok veggies. Mingle with a spoon. Place into the fridge to marinate too.Place cling film over the top of the tofu dish & place in the fridge to marinate. Place into the fridge for about 2 hours. In half of the marinating time, turn your tofu cutlets over so that the other side will be marinated too.

2. When you are ready, to make dinner, take the tofu cutlets out of their marinade & keep the marinade to use on your other veggies in your wok. Place them on a Silpat on an oven tray or an oven tray with baking paper on it. Bake in a preheated oven of 200° C (400 F ) for about 13 minutes & then turn the cutlets over & bake for another 10 minutes.

Cook your brown rice noodles according to your package instructions. Drain well. I use an electric wok. Smear it in with Chinese wok oil. Fry aubergine pieces into this oil & add a splash of hot water. This gives steam to the pieces. Wok until ready. Transfer the aubergine pieces to a clean bowl. Add a splash of the wok oil & swirl around. When hot, add 75 gr of the marinated wok veggies & add the shredded radicchio leaves too. Wok until al dente. Now, add the other wokked veggies back to the wok & also the drained cooked brown noodles. Now, add the last splashes of the marinade to the wok & wok until ready or until your liking.Turn everything round in your wok so that every ingredient is well mingled. Taste! it has to taste fab!

3. Serve at once with a loved one & enjoy tis tasty Asian inspired dinner! Vegan & Gluten-Free too! 🙂 xxx

Stay tuned, Subscribe by email through the link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,850 email Subscribers! It is free! 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! 🙂

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Vegan marinated tofu & veggies stir fry

56 responses to “Vegan & gluten-free Asian marinated tofu pieces, wokked veggies & brown rice noodles!

  1. Saskia (1=2) says:

    This looks great Sophie. Love eggplant and love a bit of good wokkin’

  2. Liz says:

    that does indeed look divine and tasty:-)

  3. dumb77 says:

    There are pressed and hard tofu with lot of choices in Chinese grocery store, hope you are lucky enough to find them.

    Baking tofu…yet to try.

  4. A Table in the Sun says:

    I haven’t made a stir fry in quite awhile….and I do love eggplant!

    • Sophie33 says:

      We call it : aubergine! The purple veggies in here & also the radicchio taste lovely & a bit different! I love it!

  5. Katarina says:

    Sophie, this looks so delicious! Thanks for sharing!

  6. Blond Duck says:

    I’ve always wanted to try brown rice noodles!

  7. Ally says:

    Yum Sophie, it looks delicious.
    I love the idea of brown rice noodles. I haven’t seen any in my hometown, unfortunately.

  8. hotlyspiced says:

    What an interesting dish, Sophie. I would never have thought to add raddichio xx

  9. What a healthy and delicious meal 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  10. boeddhamum says:

    Nice flavouring and marinating, Sophie

  11. My kind of healthy and delicious lunch! I love tofu!

  12. Koko says:

    What a creative Asian style stir-fry! The tofu looks especially good….and like some others here, I wouldn’t have thought to add radicchio. Awesome meal!!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks so much, dear Koko! Yes, I thought purple veggies would be awesome in contrast & taste & flavour with the other things! 🙂 I was right!

  13. Claudia says:

    I love how you spiced this up, Sophie. Adding a lot of zing to a healthy meal proves that eating healthy doesn’t have to be bland.

  14. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie – this sounds hearty and delicious – plus super healthy too!

  15. Norma Chang says:

    Great looking stir-fry and I am sure tasty. Adding radicchio is a great idea. Healthy and yummy.

  16. Lisa says:

    He he..I know you don’t eat meat, my talented meatless friend 🙂 Whenever I post a really graphic meat dish, I’m always a little worried about what my vegetarian and vegan friends will think! Will they stop reading me? I have a ‘boning chicken’ thing coming up and all I can think is..Umm..they definitely won’t like that! OK, enough about that! Although I don’t eat tofu very often. your preparations make it look so good, this one being no exception! Lve a good stir-fry and I’m definitely going to try it! 🙂

    • Sophie33 says:

      I am not a vegan & do eat meat 2x:week only & my husband too! But being completely vegan isn’t that easy! We just ate venison last night! Yum! But thanks for the compliments!

  17. Candy says:

    This looks great!

  18. noodles :Q_____
    except of eggplants, which I do not tolerate, a lovely dinner for me too!!! 😉

  19. Bashar A. says:

    I had some tofu with yellow curry last night… it reminded me of you & all your great vegan meals 🙂

  20. Bernice says:

    It looks really good. I have never cooked with tofu – I am a bit unsure on how to use it. We do like Asian food so I will have to try this recipe!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks so much, Bernice! Enjoy! You also can find other tofu recipes on my page: recipes by Ingredient! 🙂

  21. I would love to find some brown rice noodles!

    • Sophie33 says:

      I can find them in my local Bioplanet shop! It is an organic food health shop & sometimes in my local Chinese Supermarket!

  22. katrina berg says:

    yummm , my favorite veggie is aubergine 🙂 And thx for the tofu marinade, I can’t wait to try it! xo

  23. I would really love this for dinner tonight but I only have five minutes before dance class! (Not my class …though I could use the exercise!) yum!

  24. Tandy says:

    What an interesting meal Sophie 🙂

  25. Juliana says:

    What a great and healthy meal Sophie…
    Have a wonderful week!

  26. Carolyn Jung says:

    I’m a noodle fiend and can never resist one that has a little kick of heat, too. This one looks scrumptious.

  27. liveblissful says:

    Another great dish! I have to try making the tofu like that.

  28. Amber says:

    Great stir-fry Sophie! I love the marinade, it would give the tofu a great flavour! Yum!

Comments are closed.
