Posted in Recipes

A quick tasty vegan lunch!

Today, I made this tasty lunch. Check it out!

MMM! All vegan goodness!
MMM! All vegan goodness!
A quick & tasty vegan lunch!
A quick & tasty vegan lunch!

Quick & easy to make,…

Recipe: For 3 larger oval filled pita pockets

Ingredients:

1 x 200 gr packet of wheaty vegan gyros ( These vegan gyros are packed in their sauce. This product does not has any soy Β in it. Wheaty is based on wheat protein!!! ) , (Β Ingredients are: water, wheat protein* (30%), high oleic sunflower oil*, yeast extract, spices*, onion*, thickening agent locust bean gum*, rock salt.
* = certified organic )

Wheaty Vegan gyros!
Wheaty Vegan gyros!

1 green bell pepper, cleaned, deseeded & cut into thinner strips

1 large red onion, peeled & finely cut up

1/2 Β jar of Β 340 gr cooked corn, rinsed & drained well.

3/4 Β can of 400 gr, red cooked kidney beans, mine were organic, well rinsed & drained

3 vegan oval pita pockets

black pepper

Maldon sea salt

vegan butter

** To serve: some shredded iceberg lettuce & some veganaise. I use home-made.

Method:

1. In a large pan, fry your onion & bell pepper pieces in some vegan butter until nearly ready. Season with some Maldon sea salt & grins finely milled black pepper. Stir often.

2. Now, place your onion & pepper pieces to one side of the pan & add some vegan butter. Add the vegan gyros to the other side. Fry this on higher heat until warmed & browned on all sides for a few minutes. The vegan gyros are a bit to salty for me so I added black pepper to the pieces. Fry until ready. When nearly ready, add the red beans & the cooked corn to the pan. Stir everything round so that everything is well combined into the pan. Warm the beans & the corn up. Check the seasoning again & taste. It has to taste fab!

3. In the meantime, prepare your vegan oval pita pockets according to the instructions on your packet. I sliced my oval pita pockets open with a bread knife on the most larger side. ( See pictures above ). Add some shredded iceberg lettuce in the bottom of each pocket, not too much. Add the gyros, bean, corn, red onion & pepper mix to it all. Stuff the pita full. Now, if you like top with a dollop of veganaise! I ate one without it! Happy Eating, my lovely ones! πŸ˜‰Β Stay tuned,Β Subscribe by email throughΒ the link belowΒ to getΒ my new cool newsletters aka posts!Β Join 1,850 email Subscribers! It is free!Β 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

37 thoughts on “A quick tasty vegan lunch!

  1. Looks yummy ,I’m heading towards my kitchen. I’m hungry.Lovely vegan.Interesting those gyros.

    1. Gyros , normally are made of marinated pork strips that you eat with potatoes & stir fried peppers & onions. It is really tasty & easy tmake. You can buy it like that in our shops. These are a vegan version of it! πŸ™‚

  2. This looks so yummy Sohpie! Not to mention pretty simple! πŸ™‚ Yum, I’ll have to try a variation of it soon.

  3. another yummy vegan food example and you are still not vegan lol I love the gyros πŸ™‚ great job Sophie πŸ™‚

  4. What an excellent lunch! I love a pita pocket stuffed with good things!

  5. I wish we had that vegan gyro “meat” over here! It looks fantastic, the wrap you made from it looks soooo good!

  6. Yum!! Quick, easy, TASTY lunch! I’ve never seen vegan gyro meat here, but I’ll keep an eye out!

  7. So jealous that you have easy access to Wheaty products. I’ve only had their spacebar sticks but those were amazing enough to convince me that the whole brand is fantastic.

Comments are closed.