Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Vegan spiced parsnip & smoked tofu burgers!

on 03/01/2013
MMM! A divine smoked tofu & spiced parsnip vegan burger!

MMM! A divine smoked tofu & spiced parsnip vegan burger!

Hello,…my friends! Long time no see !!!! Welcome to the new Year! Yeah!!!! 2013 will rock! So, do these tasty invented spiced vegan parsnip burgers! I haven’t eaten any parsnips yet this wintertime & I wanted something different so I invented these beauties! Vegan spiced parsnips with red onion slices & smoked tofu too! πŸ™‚ These are a bit spicy but not too much. So good, so tasty & all vegan too! πŸ™‚ xxx Yum Yum, I say!
All vegan goodness!

All vegan goodness!

These are very tasty easy to make vegan burgers,…With Sophie’s twist, of course! πŸ˜‰

Recipe: For 5 burgers, each 5 to 7 cm longΒ 

Ingredients:

** For the burgers:

550 gr peeled parsnips, cut into bite sized chunks ( weighted when peeled & cut into chunks )

1 red large onion, peeled & cut into finely sliced wedges

garlic powder: 1 teaspoon

ground cumin: 1 teaspoon

red-hot curry powder, I use Sharwoods: 2 teaspoons & 2/4 teaspoon

finely milled black pepper: 15 grins

Maldon sea salt: 1 teaspoon

smoked tofu, 110 gr, well-drained & pad dry on kitchen paper, cut into thinner strips & then crosswise into bite sized chunks

Panko breadcrumbs: 50 gr!

vegan butter to fry

** For the caramelized red onions:

2 red onions, peeled & cut into fine wedges

black pepper

Maldon sea salt

vegan butter

** For the rest:

vegan hamburger buns

tomato ketchup

veganaise ( I use home-made )

Method:

1. Cook your parsnip chunks in boiling water until cooked through. It took me 10 minutes. Drain & mash well.

2. Fry your red onion wedges in some vegan butter for 2 minutes. Add 1 teaspoon of hot curry powder & add the ground cumin too. Add sea salt & 5 grins of finely milled black pepper. Stir often. Fry until cooked through & tender. Add this to the mashed parsnips. Taste!

3. Add some vegan butter & let it melt on higher heat. Add smoked tofu strips & add 1 teaspoon of hot curry powder. Stir often. Fry until golden on all sides. Add to the mash. Taste! Add 1 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt. Mix through the mash. Taste! Add another 10 grins of finely milled black pepper. Mix with a spoon & taste again. I added an extra 2/4 teaspoons of the hot curry powder. Mix well. It was ooh so tasty. You can taste the spicedΒ curry in your throat & you can still taste the sweeter parsnip. Add 50 gr of Panko breadcrumbs & mix well. Shape 5 patties aka burgers out of them with wet hands. Lay them onto plates & place cling film over them. Place them in the fridge to stiff up a bit for at least 4 hours.

4. Just before eating, take the plates with the burgers out of the fridge. Remove cling film. Fry them in a really hot pan on both sides in some vegan butter until golden brown on both sides. These burgers are firm in the pan but in your bun, they will soften a bit. In another pan, fry your red onions until browned & cooked through for about 10 minutes. Season with black pepper & Maldon sea salt. Set aside & keep warm.

5. Now, plate up. Grab your vegan burger buns & cut them open. Smear some veganaise on your bottom bun. Top with a juicy hot burger & top that with the fried red onions. Smear tomato ketchup on your top inside bun & close your tasty bun! Enjoy it twice! I served 2 burgers per person! πŸ˜‰ Happy Times!

 

Stay tuned,Β Subscribe by email throughΒ the link belowΒ to getΒ my new cool newsletters aka posts!Β Join 1,850 email Subscribers! It is free!Β 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! πŸ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like other veggie burgers & parsnip recipes:

1. Sophie’s halloumi burger

2. Sophie’s spiced bean burgers with cheese inside

3. Gluten-free & vegan smoked tofu, new peas & sweet potato burgers!

4. Vegan & gluten-Free red bean burgers

5. Vegan Asian sweet potato & bean burgers!

6. Mushroom & nut burger

7. Roasted parnsips with rosemary & balsamic vinegar

8. Baked parsnips with sage & soy cream

9. Maple & cognac marinated pork chops with a parsnip & potato mash

64 responses to “Vegan spiced parsnip & smoked tofu burgers!

  1. Commence salivation

  2. Oh my gosh, that looks AMAZING!! I’m drooling πŸ™‚

  3. The burger looks fantastic!

  4. Koko says:

    Oh my gosh, I would never think to put parsnips in a veggie burger!! This actually looks so real like a chicken burger or something! You could fool everyone, but I don’t think you would need to, once they bite into this delicious burger!!

  5. lucylox says:

    Mmmmm, these sound utterly yummy. I’d have never thought of spicy parsnips in a burger, but now I’m totally convinced! Definitely on the to do list. Happy 2013 πŸ™‚

  6. Somer says:

    Holy Cow Sophie, can’t stop drooling over these! They look fantastic!

  7. mmmarzipan says:

    These look amazing, Sophie!

  8. That made me want to lick my computer! These look delish, Sophie. Can’t wait to make them. Wishing you a year of wonder, love, abundance and miracles in 2013. Bless xx

  9. I love both smoked tofu (yum!) and parsnips so I should give it a try πŸ™‚

  10. Holy moly!! What a burger! Gorgeous!

  11. Blond Duck says:

    What do parsnips taste like?

    • Sophie33 says:

      They taste like something sweet, a more sweet & deep lovely flavour. They are a lot sweeter then carrots & they are thicker then carrots & have a more darker white skin! They are in season now!

  12. What a creative use for parsnips! I’m only a fair-weather parsnip fan and thus don’t cook with them often, but these burgers may be just delicious enough to change all that.

  13. Katarina says:

    Great recipe for burgers! Have a happy 2013!

  14. Ally says:

    Yum! I shouldn’t have read this while I was hungry. I want one, now!

    • Sophie33 says:

      They are easy to make so make one, right now! No wait, make them all! i assure you that you want more then 1! πŸ™‚

      • Ally says:

        I can tell that I would like 2…or 3! I will buy some parsnip tomorrow. This is a more adventurous use for parsnip than my usual use – vegetable soup!

      • Sophie33 says:

        I so agree! You could also use them in a mash & mix with normal boiled potatoes! Or as oven roastd veggies!

  15. Super inventive and beautiful, too! Can’t wait to try Sophie!

  16. boeddhamum says:

    I think these flavors work great, Sophie, sweet from the parsnips and salty/smoky from the tofu; I will definitely try them!!
    Have a great 2013, dear Sophie, with lots of love, great food (experiments) and travels,

    ❀ Linda

  17. Anna says:

    These look spectacular! 2013 is shaping up to be a tasty year πŸ™‚

  18. Norma Chang says:

    Very creative way to use parsnips. Your burger sure looks wonderful, way to start the New Year.

  19. wow very creative I want to reach in and take a bite

  20. tahinitoo says:

    I absolutely love parsnips, especially in savory recipes. Thank you for sharing this recipe – it’s now officially on my meal list for next week!

  21. zestybeandog says:

    I need to cook with some parsnips! This looks great!

  22. Brittany says:

    This burger looks DELICIOUS! It would be a good change up from my usual black bean burger.

  23. Absolutely the most creative use of parsnips I’ve ever seen! Thank you so much for sharing your delicious-looking burgers!

  24. Tammy says:

    I am in love with parsnips and always have. This is a fantastic idea and I am bookmarking this for the future. Thank you so much sophie! Happy New Year!

  25. katrina berg says:

    mmm parsnips! Definitely going to try this one!

  26. Sophie, your recipes and food photography are both wonderful. I’ll stop by again.

  27. sweetveg says:

    Wow! So many great ideas in one burger! Parsnips, fried smoked tofu, red onion, hot curry powder. What a great combination of flavors and textures. Really inspiring. Thanks!

  28. narf77 says:

    YUM! I just popped over to see who my last “follow” was on Serendipity Farm and here you are, all tucked away and hiding when your blog is so amazing! I SO want this burger…I don’t just want it, I need it. I am currently being a very VERY good girl and cleaning out my system with all sorts of green things and as soon as I am able to dip my toe in the water that is mainstream vegan grub, this awesome burger is going to be woofed down before my brain can register it. Have I learned much from my green smoothie challenge? NO! πŸ˜‰ I want/need these burgers stat!

    • Sophie33 says:

      πŸ™‚ hahahahahahaha! I am not vegan but do eat, cook & bake vegan 5x/week! Check out my other vegan recipes filed under category vegan!

      • narf77 says:

        Too amazing for words and very innovative too. Steve (long suffering other half) is omni and would love the recipes that aren’t vegan. I am not a sad intolerant vegan who can’t even look at recipes with meat in them…I am just a common or garden vegan who loves veggies and the health that veganism brings πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to explore your wonderful blog, you really are a clever girl πŸ™‚

      • Sophie33 says:

        πŸ˜‰ Thanks!

Comments are closed.
