Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Vegan Christmas Stollen, my way!

on 17/12/2012

Recently, I had the idea of making a vegan Christmas Stollen. Normally, a Christmas stollen has dried glacé cherries, nuts, candied peel & dried fruit like sultanas in them. I don’t like a lot of these ingredients so I had to make & invent one, my way. I don’t know if you still can name it a stollen but I love it anyway! So did my husband Peter. I know that you all will love it too! 🙂

MMM! Vegan Christmas Stollen, my way!!

MMM! Vegan Christmas Stollen, my way!! An Excellent food gift too! 🙂

Normally, a Stollen is a fruit cake, more like a bread, containing dried fruit and often marzipan and covered with sugar or icing sugar. The cake is usually made with chopped candied fruit and/or dried fruit, nuts and spices. Stollen is a traditional German cake, usually eaten during the Christmas season. It is made with yeast, water and flour, and usually with zest added to the dough. Candied orange peel and candied citrus peel ,raisins & almonds, and different spices such as cardamom & cinnamon are added. Other ingredients, such as milk, sugar, butter, salt, rum, eggs, vanilla, other dried fruits, nuts and marzipan can also be added to the Stollen dough. Except for the fruit added, the dough is quite low in sugar. The finished cake or bread is mostly sprinkled with icing sugar. The traditional weight of a Stollen is around 2 kg, but smaller sizes are now available. I didn’t add icing sugar on top! I did it this way:

MMM! All vegan goodness!

MMM! All vegan goodness!

MMM!

MMM! A perfect vegan view of heaven!

Read on for more deliciousness,…

Recipe: For 1 very large Christmas stollen

Ingredients:

65 gr organic light spelt flour

435 gr organic white bread flour

1 flax egg (= 1 tablespoon ground flaxseed + 3 tablespoons water, whisk well together, leave to be for 10 minutes, to form a sort of gel-like consistency, to thicken a bit instead of 1 egg! )

100 gr vegan dried cranberries

50 gr unsweetened coconut flakes

50 gr roughly chopped walnuts

100 gr dried soft apricots, finely diced

50 gr dried mixed tropical fruit, ( I used a mix of papaya, mango & banana )

50 gr dried dark sultanas

150 gr dark cane sugar

100 gr vegan butter, room temperature, cut into smaller knobs

225 gr warm soy milk, not hot!!

1/2 teaspoon of sea salt flakes, crushed + 1/8 teaspoon extra

1 teaspoon of ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon of ground mace ( foelie in Dutch )

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

3 teaspoons of dried yeast

2 teaspoons of home-made pumpkin pie spice

200 gr of a good vegan & Gluten-free almond marzipan

Method:

1. Take your Kenwood & attach the dough hook. Place the 2 flours into the Kenwood bowl & mix. Add dried yeast, flax egg, vegan butter, brown cane sugar, warm soy milk & sea salt into the bowl. Knead until you have a soft dough, for a few minutes on medium to higher speed. You can also do this by hand. Stretching & kneading the dough well until you have an elastic dough but still soft. I took the dough, with floured hands, out of the bowl & scattered some flour onto my Silpat. I kneaded the dough for a few moments extra with my hands. It was perfect. I put it back into my bowl. While the dough hook was o & working, I added the dried cranberries, the soft apricot pieces, the coconut flakes, the dark sultanas & the tropical mix too. I also added the chopped walnuts to the dough mix. Mix well until all is beautifully incorporated. Stop the machine from time to time, to add the dough that is on the sides of your bowl & mix again. Add cinnamon, ginger, mace & home-made pumpkin pie spice. Mix well into the bowl. Flour your Silpat or your kitchen counter & flour your hands a bit. Take the dough out of the bowl & knead a bit with your hands until ready. This took only 1 minute. See that the dried fruits are all well mixed into the dough. Place the dough back into the bowl & place cling film over the top of the bowl & place in a warm place or above your central heating. That’s what I did. Leave it there to rise for the 1st time. I needed 90 minutes. If you have a very warm place, you will only need 60 minutes or so. The dough must be risen 2 its size! Check often!!

2.  Put the dough back onto your floured kitchen counter or floured Silpat & knock the dough back & flatten it out. See picture:

Flatten the dough well!!

Flatten the dough well!!

3. Shape your 2 rolls of marzipan, into a longer finer sausage shape & place them neatly in the middle of the dough, horizontally too. See picture:

4. Now, fold your dough around the marzipan pieces. Tuck, the ends of each dough side well over the marzipan pieces, like this:

The marzipan has been tucked in well!

The marzipan has been tucked in well! Just before the 2nd rise!!

5. Shape the dough like a bread. Place it on a special Silpat, especially for baking breads. Place it onto a baking tray. Place cling film over the top, loosely & place near a warm fire, to let it rise for the 2nd time.

You want it to rise for 45 minutes or a bit more. When the dough is nearly well risen, preheat your oven to 180°C (350 F ) for 10 minutes. Place the dough onto your your baking tray, in the middle of your hot oven & bake for about 30 to 35 minutes. My Christmas stollen was ready after 35 minutes. My Stollen baked for 20 minutes on 180°C ( 350 F ) & then 15 minutes on 175°C. Test with a little pin into the center of your stollen, to see if it is baked properly. It was! Otherwise, put it back into the hot oven. Transfer carefully to a wire rack or 2, to cool off completely. Just before serving, dust with icing sugar or not! Your choice! 🙂 Enjoy it too, my lovely ones! xxx

 

Stay tuned, Subscribe by email through the link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,850 email Subscribers! It is free! 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! 🙂

Sophies Foodie Files

59 responses to “Vegan Christmas Stollen, my way!

  1. Saskia (1=2) says:

    This looks beautiful Sophie. Love the addition of coconut and cranberries – very festive! Love your step-by-step photos too.

  2. Stollen ❤
    The traditional one is covered in powdered sugar, too.
    I also like the idea to add cranberries…

  3. Whoa!! That is a thing of beauty! I want to make this!

  4. That looks lovely. I would love to try a peice!

  5. Wow Sophie that looks SO fantastic 🙂

  6. Ally says:

    Wow! Very impressive! I think I will have to make this. I have all of the ingredients except the dried tropical fruit, cranberries and the marzipan. I’m heading to the shops today anyway so I will add them to my list!

  7. Cate says:

    Looks delish! I shouldn’t have read your post while hungry! 🙂

  8. Katarina says:

    I like your version of the christmas stollen!

  9. Lisa says:

    What a tasty and gorgeous stollen, Sophie! Only you could come up with one that’s vegan and looks that good! Happy Holidays to you and yours, my sweet friend, although I’ll definitely be back before Christmas! xo

  10. boeddhamum says:

    What a beautiful Christmas treat, Sophie, looks delicious!
    Happy Xmas,
    ❤ Linda

  11. Ali says:

    I love your stollen! I don’t like a lot of the ingredients you listed in the original recipe either, but yours looks delish! (I would still have to leave the sultanas out though!)

  12. Barbara says:

    I don ‘t like a lot of the ingredients in traditional fruit cake either, Sophie. But I do like what you’ve chosen to put in your stollen and, best of all, that lovely marzipan surprise in the center.
    It’s a lovely looking loaf!

  13. Koko says:

    This is amazing!! I actually think I would LOVE this version of stollen. It has such a lovely ingredients (I’m not fond of those other ingredients as much, just like you!). I’ve had stollen only once, but it was such a treat! So tasty! I would like this one even more!

    Did you get my card?? I sent it….maybe a week or two ago??

    • Sophie33 says:

      I am happy that you love my vegan stollen:!! Yeah!!! I received your lovely beardy snowman-card this midday with the post! Yes! It is a beautiful one too & your Christams & New Yer’s wishes were lovely & fun too to read! 🙂 xxxxxxxxx

  14. Very impressive Sophie. I love the idea of the tropical fruits. Makes me miss the Caribbean at Christmas.
    Sam

  15. Juliana says:

    Looks beautiful Sophie…especially with all the fruits and spices…I love marzipan.
    Have a great week my dear 🙂

  16. Somer says:

    That’s totally a vegan view of heaven!

  17. catherinefarley says:

    It wouldn’t be Christmas without my mom’s wonderful stollen. Your version is beautiful, Sophie, and I know it is delicious.

  18. thombeed says:

    Hey Sophie … I made one too, but including all the things that you do not like 🙂
    Great job it looks very good…. Yes the marzipan is a MUST !!!! 🙂

  19. Hotly Spiced says:

    I love stollen and yes, you only see it at this time of year. How clever you are to adapt the recipe and have it turn out so well. I can imagine this had amazing flavour xx

  20. Tammy says:

    I love your baking Sophie. Merry Christmas!

  21. lou says:

    Hello Sophie,
    Your baking vegan stollen tasted very very jummy! Congratulations.
    Also Happy Christmas and Joyful New Year.
    Mamalou

  22. Phil Gayle_For Singles and Couples says:

    Sophie between you and my wife…tut tut…you’re just not good for my waistline. lol!
    Enjoy your holidays honey. 🙂

  23. Oh wow, this looks incredibly festive and delicious! The perfect thing to bring to any holiday party! Thank you so much for the flax seed egg idea, too – I will have to try it! Happy holidays. xx

  24. I was just about to make a stollen, when a friend brought a delicious cranberry and marzipan one as a gift from Germany. Next year. Intrigued by your vegan version – I use lots of butter in mine usually 🙂

    • Sophie33 says:

      I also changed my dried fruits &etc & added dried coconut flakes too! Also, i added dried banana pieces & added tropical fruits too! 🙂

  25. Amber says:

    I love your version of the stollen Sophie! It looks delicious! The original recipe sounds very sweet in comparison.

  26. birrrd says:

    Hi there,

    I was wondering if you have any experience regarding storing the Stollen? I know that traditionally Stollen is made about 6 weeks in advance, covered airtight and stored, I just don’t know if I can apply this technique to every recipe. Well, anyways, would help me a lot if you had stored it for like two weeks, because I want to send one per mail which would be about that time frame.
    Apart from that – thanks for the recipe and for sharing it with the rest of us!

    birrrd

  27. This would make a lovely Christmas hostess gift Sophie! Love it! 🙂

  28. Klausbernd says:

    I love Stollen. And you wouldn`t believe it for 4 years now or so we have a German Supermarked in Norwich and there I bought Stollen today – half of it is already gone. I will try your recipe – baking is more my thing than cooking. Thank you!
    Love
    Klausbernd

  29. Poppy says:

    This is having it’s second rise as I write Sophie! So far so good! I used traditional fruit and no nuts and used allspice and cinnamon for a more traditional stollen! Can’t wait! X

Comments are closed.
