Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Vegan cashew, chocolate & pumpkin spread!

on 29/11/2012

You know by now, that  I like to make tasty & invented cashew cheese spreads, all invented by me, moi! :)

I do think a lot of you have tried a few of them like my vegan strawberry cashew spread, this was more like a thicker vegan strawberry cashew yoghurt,  my vegan pear & cashew cheese spread & my vegan rucola ( arugula ) cashew cheese spread. If you liked & loved them the same way, as my husband & I did , then I know you will love this home-made cashew, chocolate & pumpkin spread! Check it out!

How to use it all up?

1. It is great to eat like that, with a lovely spoon, straight from the jar!

2. It is excellent as a lovely cheese spread on some toast or on a lovely sandwich!

3. It is great too, as a lovely spread onto pancakes!

4. Lovely to pour over your morning muesli!

5. Pour it over vegan ice-cream!

6. It is lovely to enjoy, smeared onto a fresh slice of bread!

7. Lovely to eat on a slice of vegan cake

MMM! All vegan goodness!

Read on How I made it! 🙂

1. Pumpkin, chocolate & cashew spread: For 5 smaller jam pots!

3 cups of raw & un-roasted cashews, soaked for 1 night in clear water, well-rinsed & well-drained

2 cups  home-made roasted pumpkin purée

1 cup of vegan chocolate drops, similar to milk chocolate!

4 to 5 tablespoons maple syrup, I used 4 tablespoons

2 teaspoons of  home-made pumpkin pie spice

Method:

1. First, melt your vegan chocolate drops ” au-bain-marie “. Let it cool a bit. Pour it into your Vitamix. Place all of your ingredients in this order into your Vitamix or power-blender. Place the tamper into your fitting lid & press the power on, go from low-speed, from 1 to 10 & push onto higher power. Use the tamper & push all the ingredients into the blades & blend until it is to your  liking. I blended it for about 1 to 2 minutes. I checked the consistency & tasted it. It was ready. Turn the high power off, turn the lower speed from 10 to 1 & turn the power off. Taste! Mine tasted fabulous!! It is a bit sweeter but not too sweet.  If you don’t have a Vitamix, mix everything well with an emulsion blender & then after mashing & puréeing the cashews, whisk everything well together. Taste much in between. You must taste the chocolate, the pumpkin spice & the cashews in the background. But I had to place my creation in some lovely jam pots with fitting lids & placed them in the fridge to cool off & to stiffen up a bit. They were great & thick enough as it is & they were ready to use & to eat up! This vegan pumpkin, chocolate cashew cheese spread is so tasty! If the pots are in the fridge for a longer time, you must stir into the spread with a smaller spoon so that the maple syrup is well incorporated into the mix. Yummy Yum!

Great to give away as a special food gift, at Christmas! Store in the fridge.

A tasty & wanted food gift!!

An excellent & tasty vegan food gift!!

 

Stay tuned, Subscribe by email through the link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,850 email Subscribers! It is free! 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! 🙂

Sophies Foodie Files

65 responses to “Vegan cashew, chocolate & pumpkin spread!

  1. Saskia (1=2) says:

    That looks amazing. I think you could market your spreads Sophie. Seriously. Love the pretty wrapping. I think I’d go with option 1, straight from the jar!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Ooh,..well thanks so much, Saskia! I invented this this morning! It had to be perfect & spreadable too. It is like a cashew butter: so rich & healthy at the same time too! 🙂

  2. Katarina says:

    This sounds fantastic, and can be used with many things!

  3. lou meynen says:

    Hello Sophie,
    It looks very deliciious. The presentation is also very special. I’m looking forward to receive such a colourful present. Just a small one?
    love, mamalou

  4. Barbara says:

    You’re right, Sophie! This looks great and what a perfect hostess gift!

  5. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie – that sounds so delicious! How healthy too. I would love that on some gluten free toast – yum!!!

  6. boeddhamum says:

    MMMMM, this looks great, Sophie, I can almost taste it, yum!!
    What a lovely wrapping too!

  7. Whoa – so creative, Sophie!

  8. Sarah says:

    Very nice looking!

  9. Liz says:

    Oh my gosh–that looks amazing! I will make it for sure as always looking for recipes using pumpkin puree. Funny that you’ve posted this, as I made a peanut butter (not vegan:-() yesterday and put it on FB. Also made chocolate-hazelnut spread. Check them out by looking up deLizious Food Communications on Facebook. Sounds like we think the same way re: food. Love the name of your blog, btw.

  10. Koko says:

    What a treat! This is the best one yet! I think this would make and amazing gift in a pretty little jar for Christmas. My friends and I are making eachother gifts this year. I just might have to do this!

  11. This spread look so tasty my friend, I would buy a stock load 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  12. Hotly Spiced says:

    I love the image of the jar all done up as a gift. What a yummy sounding spread and it has such a lovely colour xx

  13. Yum! It looks so delicious… and look at the colour. I bet it tastes soooo yummy. I love how you have wrapped it up! So cute 😀

  14. Tandy says:

    This is very inventive Sophie 🙂

  15. Hi Sophie – Oh my, that does look good, so creamy and spreadable. You are always so wonderfully creative.

  16. rebecca says:

    this is fun would love it on a bagel and great gift idea

  17. Norma Chang says:

    I would love this as a dip for apple slices.

  18. Looks like a great spread, and I like all the ways you can eat is.

  19. Adriana says:

    I enjoy experimenting with pumpkin or squash in unusual dishes, but I would never have thought of adding it to a nut butter/spread. I’m not a big fan of cashews, but this is definitely something I want to try. Thank you for sharing the recipe:)

  20. What a great idea! Such a sweet gift! It looks like you could eat it all up with a spoon 🙂
    Delicious Sophie!

  21. This sounds and looks terrific!

  22. I like option a Sophie! Eating it straight from the jar with a spoon! 😀

  23. Tammy says:

    Looks so yummy!

  24. Sophie, not only does this sound delicious, but what a lovely gift!

  25. Oh Sophie this sounds heavenly!
    Way better than PB

  26. Vanessa says:

    Love the packaging and the little “made by me” ribbon! What a fantastic gift idea!

  27. Ooh, I’m making this. Like, right now…

  28. Pure vegan genius!

  29. tahinitoo says:

    This looks incredible! I am making it next week!!

  30. Dina says:

    You’re great ,Sophie – what a lovely idea! Mmmmmmmh…. 🙂

  31. efili says:

    good design of gift 🙂

  32. What a great treat Sophie! This would make a lovely Thanksgiving hostess gift. 🙂

Comments are closed.
