Posted in Recipes

Spiced & fragrant oven roasted beetroot wedges

Today, I have bought 2 bunches of baby beets in my organic shop. I wanted to roast them with a hint of warmth & a bit of spice so I came up with this. This is a lovely vegan & gluten-free side dish, excellent with new cooked potatoes. I served my beets with a fried organic pork chop.

While the beets are roasting, the house smells so lovely & nice! You will see! The beets are tender & a bit sticky too!

Tasty & fragrant roasted beets! Ooh yeah!
tasty beets ready to be savoured!

MMM,…You know you want them,…Make them right now!

Raw beetroot wedges before going into the hot oven!

Recipe: For 2 persons

Ingredients:

2 bunches of baby beets, greens & tops cut off, peeled & cut into 4 ( in wedges ), enough for 2 persons! I always ware plastic gloves to prevent staining everywhere!

1 tablespoon of fresh rosemary leaves, washed, pad dry on kitchen paper & cut finely

1 tablespoon of fresh lemon thyme, washed, pad dry on kitchen paper & cut finely

1/4 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt flakes

1/4 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon of dried red chili flakes

2 tablespoons of a fruity EVOO

1 tablespoon good balsamic vinegar

1 tablespoon red wine vinegar/ this enhances the beetroot flavour!!

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 200° C (400 F ) for 10 minutes. Place your beet wedges in 1 layer in a non-stick oven dish. Scatter your herbs, your salt, your cinnamon, your dried chili flakes all over the beets. Now, drizzle the olive oil, the balsamic & red wine vinegar all over the beets. With clean hands, mingle everything together. It already smells wonderful!

2. Bake in the oven for about 25 to 30 minutes. After 15 minutes, I turned my wedges over to prevent burning & to brown & bake evenly.

3. Turn off the oven & serve instantly with your other sides. Enjoy! Happy Eating! 🙂

 

Stay tuned, Subscribe by email through the link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,850 email Subscribers! It is free! 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! 🙂

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like other beet recipes:

1. Beetroot wedges in a balsamic & orange marmalade sauce

2. My beetroot soup

3. Beetroot risotto with ricotta & Parmesan

4. Ras El Hanout roasted carrots, beets & red onion wedges

5. Beetroot appetizers served in a witlof leave

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

54 thoughts on “Spiced & fragrant oven roasted beetroot wedges

    1. I think so too! 🙂 I have sown my mixed colourful beets a while a go & the seedlings are growing bigger every day! 🙂 Good luck!

  1. The beets look great Sophie. They would have been full of flavour with the vinegar, herbs and spices. I think the intense flavours would have complimented the pork chop beautifully xx

  2. Sophie, you are so clever! Who would have thought to add rosemary, thyme and cinnamon to their roasting beets??! Love it.

  3. They are one of the prettiest vegetables! The cinnamon interests me – never have done that before. Husband would smile a long time with this in front of him!

  4. Mmmm roasted beets! I love how caramelized they look. What a lovely side dish, or to top a salad with! Do you ever use the beet greens for anything, Sophie???

  5. I love beets so much, I can only imagine the sweetness that comes out of the beets upon roasting. And look at all of those lovely and intense herbs. Ingenious! Also, thank you for your tip about the vinegar! I will have to pair that with beets soon!

Comments are closed.