Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Vegetarian potatoes patties with a salad & piripiri sauce

on 06/07/2009

Vegetarian potatoes patties with a salad & piripiri sauce: a divine dinner!

I wanted to make a vegetarian meal, but with a difference. I was out of ideas & I borrowed a book from the library. It is a yummy vegetarian book. It is called: World food café 2, easy vegetarian recipes. The authors are Chris & Carolyn Caldicott. This recipe was a success with me & my husband!

Printable recipe here!
Recipe: For about 13 to 14 patties
Ingredients:
** for the potatoes patties:
300 gr of peeled, sweet potatoes, cut into chunks
300 gr of peeled, normal potatoes, cut into chunks
2 teaspoons of cumin seeds
6 cloves
1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon of turmeric
1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
1/2 teaspoon of ground cardamom
2 tablespoons of sunflower oil
1 tablespoon of freshly grated peeled ginger
1 large onion, peeled & finely cut up
1 medium red bell ( sweet ) pepper, washed, cleaned, pits & white bits removed, cut into little pieces
115 gr of corn, well rinsed & drained from a can
1 egg, beaten with fork, loosened
1 handful of fresh coriander leaves, washed, cleaned & finely cut up
black pepper
Maldon sea salt
a bit of butter or gluten-free baking margarine
3 tablespoons of sunflower oil.
**For the piripiri sauce: ( For 314 ml of sauce )
4 medium-sized red chili peppers, seeds & top removed, finely cut up
3 cloves of garlic, peeled & cut into pieces
1 teaspoon of Pimentón de la vera, the dulce, the sweet version
1/2 teaspoon of grinned black pepper
1/2 teaspoon of grinned Maldon sea salt
30 ml of fresh lemon juice
20 ml of fresh lime juice
62 ml of soft olive oil
** For the salad:
2 little gem lettuces, washed, cleaned & bottom cut out. Spun dry. Leaves taken off.
1/3 cucumber, washed, dried on kitchen paper & cut up in fine round slices
250 gr of soybean sprouts, well rinsed
Method:
1. A few hours before dinner , you can cook the potatoes together in a large pot until tender. Drain well & set aside. When cold, place into a bowl & place a lid on. Place into the fridge until ready to use.
2. A few hours before dinner, you also can make the piripiri sauce. Take a food processor & place all the ingredients in it & pulse until it is all a smooth paste, a smooth sauce. Place into a jam pot & place the screw on. Put into the fridge.
3. When you are ready to make dinner, take the potatoes & the piripiri sauce out of the fridge.
4. Take a little non stick pan & heat up on medium. Add the cloves & the cumin seeds. Shake the pan from time to time. Dry roast the spices. Their fragrance will come out & your kitchen will scent lovely! Watch out because you don’t want to burn your spices. When their fragrance has come out, take the pan off from the heat. Turn the heat off. Place the spices in a pestle & mortar & grind them really fine to a powder. Add the cinnamon, cayenne pepper, the turmeric & the cardamom powder. Mix them all together.
5. Take your wok & heat up on medium high. Add the 2 tablespoons of sunflower oil & smear all over the wok. When hot, add the finely diced onion & the cut up red bell pepper. Fry until they are soft. Add the grated fresh ginger & the corn. Stir fry for a few minutes & add the spice mix. Stir well. Let it fry for another minute & set aside. Turn the wok off.
6. Place your cold potatoes in a large bowl , add a bit of butter or baking margarine. Mash. Add the spiced vegetable mix. Stir well. Add the beaten egg, the finely cut up coriander leaves & a bit of salt. Mix . Taste. The mix is really sticky. Makes about 13 to 14 flat patties out of it. Take a large non stick pan & add about 2 to 3 tablespoons of sunflower oil. Heat up on high. Add about 4 patties in the hot pan & fry on both sides until golden. Drain on kitchen paper. Do the same with the rest of the spice vegetable mix.
7. In the meantime, take your wok, add a bit of sunflower oil & heat up on high. Add the soy bean sprouts & wok until golden. Remove from the wok.
8. Take your large plates & plate up.
Enjoy! ♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! 🙂

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:
1. Sophie’s vegetarian home-made haloumi burger ( Vegetarian )
2. Sophie’s spiced bean burgers ( Vegetarian )
Vegetarian Potatoes Patties With A Salad & Piri Piri Sauce on Foodista
101 responses to “Vegetarian potatoes patties with a salad & piripiri sauce

  1. Dirk says:

    Yum, Sophie! Those sweet potato, potato & vegetable spiced patties look incredibly yummie! I just love that piri piri sauce: spicy! yum!

  2. Reeni♥ says:

    These look delicious, Sophie! Especially with the sauce to spice things up!

  3. What a delicious meal! Every part looks great, and I really want to taste that sauce.

  4. Diana H says:

    I like that you mixed the different potatoes, and gave it a little kick. This meal is a great idea.

  5. yum yum! that sauce looks fabulous! 4 chilis? sign me up!!

  6. Wow, yet another delicious recipe to try – the dish looks fantastic! I love all the combinations of flavors!

  7. Junglefrog says:

    While I am certainly not a vegetarian I do love to eat vegetarian dishes and this looks wonderful. I just always have a hard time convincing my other half he really should be trying this… He likes his meat….! Men…

  8. Oh, yes, I love spicy food….piripiri sauce makes a perfect dip too! btw, are the cumin seeds you used caraway seeds or those Asian cumin?Angie's Recipes

  9. The kind of meal I love! Everything looks delicious!Cheers,Rosa

  10. Robin Sue says:

    Since I love sweet potatoes I think I would really like these. SO full of flavor!

  11. Jef Boven says:

    Dear Sophie, again a creative and healthy try! I'll try to oonvince my wife to stick to your line. But I suppose it's hopeless.Your racing Jeff

  12. Laura says:

    I love the name piripiri, I wonder where it comes from.The patties look so yummy.

  13. These look great! The piripiri sauce really ties it all together.

  14. I love vegetarian patties too! Sometimes I think I prefer them to meat patties. Nice idea serving them with piri piri sauce!

  15. Kate says:

    That looks so great!

  16. I would love this meal but my husband would want to know where the meat was….That sauce looks/sounds fantastic (on just about anything!).

  17. Prue says:

    I opened up your site and just exclaimed YUM! These look delicious Sophie!!! You have one lucky husband!

  18. Juliana says:

    Wow, these potatoes patties sound and look so tasty with all the spices in it…I'll not miss the meat 🙂 The sauce looks terrific…spicy…yummie!

  19. I like making vegetarian dishes from time to time even though I like meat a lot. Your piri piri sauce definitely catches my attention. Love to try one day.

  20. I've never heard or piripiri sauce. I'll have to keep it in mind for my vegetarian guests.

  21. …plate up! That's so cute but hungry now.So yummy.

  22. dada says:

    l'illusion est parfaite;-) Delicious meal with a special sauce, lovely!

  23. Chef Chuck says:

    Hi Sophie, The potato patties look so flavorfuland so crispy, yumm.

  24. Wow, the piripiri sauce definitely caught my attention! Awesome! The potato patties look very yummy!

  25. Kerstin says:

    I love all the spices in these – yum, yum!

  26. Elra says:

    I really like this vegetarian dish. Oh, I love the piri piri sauce very much!

  27. Selba says:

    It sounds so delicious and also healthy 🙂

  28. Donna-FFW says:

    LOVE the vegetarian potato patty. What a terrific idea. It sounds wonderful. The sauce MMMMM.

  29. I love Sweet potatoes! and with all those spices I'm sure this dish is bursting with so much flavor.. I love it!

  30. Anna says:

    Piripiri Sauce sounds delicious, anything with lots of chillies grab my attention. Is that an African recipe? Looks yummy.

  31. Claudia says:

    I adore vegetable patties and make some Indian spiced ones. I am loving this – especially that sauce for some heated flavor! And how pretty!

  32. cindy* says:

    i've been craving potato pancakes…yum! these look delicious sophie 🙂

  33. Kristen says:

    I love the idea. I like to mix sweet & regular potatoes too, with all that other stuff in there I bet they are delicious. The only problem is that I have an addiction to piripiri, like that is a problem. :)The salad sounds lovely and crunchy, I haven't thought much of adding bean spouts to my salad, wonder why?Great Post!

  34. Zoe says:

    mmm..potato pancakes..im in heaven

  35. Wow, those look fantastic!I get cook books from the library all the time! My library has a ton of them!Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  36. Valérie says:

    This sounds (and looks) delicious! I love all the spices in the potatoes and sauce! Wonderful stuff!

  37. Koko says:

    Sophie, this looks wonderful! And vegetarian- just perfect for me!! I've never tried piripiri sauce before- sound DELISH!

  38. Sofía says:

    What a delicious meal! Yummy. Really good blog… regards!

  39. Chrystal says:

    You know we love potatoes! A winner there. The piripiri sauce also sounds delicious.

  40. Olga says:

    ooh, that's like an Indian twist on latkes ;)Looks great!

  41. This looks fantastic and the spicy sauce puts it over the top! Yum!

  42. Yum! These potatoe patties look delicious! I love the spicy piripiri sauce. I just love meals like this one. Such a great combination of flavorful ingredients!

  43. burpandslurp says:

    Oh thank you SO much, Sophie! These patties are something I would truly adore and which WON'T have any leftovers! And the piripiri sauce! Awesome!

  44. I love vegetarian food…not that I am or will ever be, but they always are tasty and interesting…I suppose to make up for that lack of meat.Ronell

  45. Trupti says:

    those patties looks mouthwatering.TruptiFashion Deals For Less Recipe Center

  46. Muneeba says:

    don't you just love how versatile and delicious potatoes are?? your veggie meal looks wonderful and filling … with that long list of ingredients, it HAS to taste good!

  47. Lo says:

    The flavors in those potato patties sound outstanding. I'm a huge fan of piri piri — and it looks like it's a great accompaniment for this meal. Might have to try that myself sometime!

  48. Sara says:

    I love the sound of this! I'm always looking for more vegetarian recipe ideas.

  49. Ricardo says:

    What made you come up with that Idea, it looks amazing healthy and super delicious, especially the sauce I love piripiri sauce ..but this you already know as you teasing me 🙂 xxx

  50. maris says:

    These look excellent! I love sweet potatoes and I bet they add so much flavor to these.

  51. This is the first I've heard of piripiri sauce and it sounds delicious. I could just pour it over these vegetable patties!

  52. I'm always on the look out for vegetarian dishes to serve my vegetarian friends when we have them over for dinner. Who wouldn't love these, even if you weren't vegetarian. Thanks for the great recipe.I've been on holiday for the last couple of weeks with no internet. I've missed my friends and it's good to be back.Sam

  53. Dr. Lauren says:

    Wow, those pancakes look incredible. Yum

  54. Oh, I know my family will LOVE this. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  55. Huum un vrai régal ces pancakes!! ça me fait tellement penser aux steak soja! :PMerci beaucoup pour cette recette que je garde dans ma tête afin de la reproduire très bientôt! 🙂

  56. Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is fantastic, let alone the content!

  57. Ella says:

    Hey friend can i publish some paragraph of your article on my little blog of university.I have to publish a good articles out there and i really think your post Fits best into it.I will be grateful to give you an source link as well.I have two blogs one my own and the other which is my college blog.I will publish some part in the university blog.Hope you do not mind.

  58. Thanks for the good writeup. It actually used to be a leisure account it. Glance advanced to more delivered agreeable from you! By the way, how could we be in contact?

    • Sophie33 says:

      Hello there,

      You will see on the top of my home page: Contact Sophie! Just click onto this & fill in the required things & I will get back to you! 🙂

  59. Only a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw outstanding pattern. “Better by far you should forget and smile than that you should remember and be sad.” by Christina Georgina Rossetti.

  60. I really like your writing style, excellent information, thankyou for putting up : D.

  61. I was reading through some of your content on this internet site and I believe this website is really informative! Keep posting.

  62. I found your blog website on google and test just a few of your early posts. Continue to maintain up the superb operate. I just further up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Searching for forward to reading more from you in a while!…

  63. I think this site has some real superb info for everyone. “The individual will always be a minority. If a man is in a minority of one, we lock him up.” by Oliver Wendell Holmes.

  64. Really excellent information can be found on blog.

  65. Enjoyed examining this, very good stuff, thanks .

  66. I have been surfing on-line more than 3 hours these days, but I by no means found any attention-grabbing article like yours. It’s beautiful worth sufficient for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made just right content as you probably did, the net will be much more useful than ever before. “Wherever they burn books, they will also, in the end, burn people.” by Heinrich Heine.

  67. Bus Gdansk says:

    Great page, I like how the website looks! The style is great!

  68. dainese says:

    you’re really a just right webmaster. The website loading speed is amazing. It sort of feels that you’re doing any distinctive trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterwork. you have performed a wonderful job in this matter!

  69. Rattling nice design and good content material, nothing else we need :D.

  70. flowers says:

    As soon as I noticed this internet site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

  71. Some really good information, Gladiolus I detected this. “The minute one utters a certainty, the opposite comes to mind.” by May Sarton.

  72. great post says:

    I truly appreciate this post. I have been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thx again!

  73. Very interesting details you have mentioned, regards for posting.

  74. I have read a few just right stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how much effort you place to create one of these magnificent informative site.

  75. I got what you mean , regards for putting up.Woh I am lucky to find this website through google. “Since the Exodus, freedom has always spoken with a Hebrew accent.” by Heinrich Heine.

  76. serwis canon says:

    An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topic!.

  77. I truly appreciate this post. I have been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thanks again!

  78. you are actually a excellent webmaster. The web site loading pace is amazing. It sort of feels that you’re doing any distinctive trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterpiece. you have done a wonderful process on this subject!

  79. It is very good web site

  80. so much fantastic information on here, : D.

  81. Thank you! It is very good information

  82. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  83. Aw, this was a really nice post. In thought I wish to put in writing like this moreover – taking time and precise effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and not at all appear to get something done.

  84. Regards for helping out, wonderful info .

  85. I really enjoy looking at on this site, it holds good posts .

  86. You have brought up a very fantastic details , thankyou for the post. “For visions come not to polluted eyes.” by Mary Howitt.

  87. But a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw great design and style . “The worst-tempered people I’ve ever met were the people who knew they were wrong.” by Wilson Mizner.

  88. I’ll right away clutch your rss feed as I can’t find your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Please allow me recognize so that I may subscribe. Thanks.

  89. There is obviously a lot to know about this. I really didnt have a clue. Keep working ,great jop.

  90. You are my aspiration , I possess few web logs and rarely run out from to brand.

  91. I don’t ordinarily comment but I gotta admit appreciate it for the post on this amazing one :D.

  92. There is obviously a lot to know about ths. I really didnt have a clue. Keep working ,great jop.

  93. I consider something really special in this internet site.

  94. Dona Rozelle says:

    Hi there, simply turned into aware of your blog thru Google, and found that it’s really informative. I am gonna be careful for brussels. I?ll appreciate if you continue this in future. Numerous other people will probably be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  95. I like this weblog so much, bookmarked. “Respect for the fragility and importance of an individual life is still the mark of an educated man.” by Norman Cousins.

  96. You made some decent points there. I looked on the internet for the issue and found most individuals will go along with with your website.

  97. Tonita says:

    Utterly indited subject matter, Really enjoyed reading.

  98. This actually answered my drawback, thanks!

  99. I’m impressed, I must say. Really hardly ever do I encounter a blog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you might have hit the nail on the head. Your thought is excellent; the problem is something that not enough persons are talking intelligently about. I’m very joyful that I stumbled across this in my seek for one thing referring to this.

Comments are closed.
