Posted in Recipes

Marinated grilled steak , oven herb & garlic roasted potatoes with steamed broccoli

A different steak!

This recipe has been a huge success. The potatoes are parboiled, drained & cooled off. Later on they are baked into the oven with olive oil, garlic & lemon thyme.

The steak is grilled in a grill pan & later on marinated for 4 minutes on each side in a combination of lemon thyme, lemon zest, lemon juice, garlic & some grinned black pepper & some Maldon sea salt. The broccoli are steamed & then placed into the same marinade as the beef.

The potatoes are hot & the meat & broccoli are semi warm when they will be eaten, this is excellent in the hot summer,…

Recipe: For 2 persons, with extra potatoes

Ingredients:

* For the oven roasted potatoes:

about 600 gr potatoes, peeled, washed, precooked, drained & cooled off

1 fat clove of garlic, peeled & finely cut up

3 or 4 fresh sprigs of lemon thyme, washed, dried on kitchen paper & sprigs cut off

a bit of fruity olive oil

* For the broccoli:

300 gr of green broccoli florets

* For the steak & for the marinade afterwords:

2 flat steaks, about 170 gr each, cleaned

olive oil

5 or 6 sprigs of fresh lemon thyme, washed, dried on kitchen paper, sprigs cut of ( no stalks )

2 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & finely cut up

40 ml of a fruity olive oil

juice from 1/2 lemon

finely grated zest from 1/2 lemon

a few grinds of black pepper

1/ teaspoon of Maldon sea salt, or less

Method:

1. You have already parboiled the potatoes, so you don’t have a lot of work left.

Preheat the oven to 250°C./482 F for about 10 minutes.

2. During that time, you can prepare the marinade for the steaks. Take a medium-sized shallow bowl where the steaks can fit in, side by side. Take all the ingredients for the steak marinade & combine them together, except the steaks. Do not add the steak!! The marinade is used for after grilling!!

3. When the oven is preheated, place the potatoes in a non stick roasting tin & add the ingredients for the oven roasted potatoes. Lay the potatoes in 1 layer, side by side. Add the cut up garlic pieces, add the lemon thyme leaves & add some fruity olive oil, not too much. Then take your hands or a spoon & mix everything around in the tin so that the potatoes are covered with the oil & the garlic & the lemon thyme are evenly divided. Roast for about 40 to 45 minutes in the oven. Roast for about 20 minutes on 250°C/482 F. Then turn the oven down to 225°C/437 F. Roast further for about 20 to 25 minutes until the potatoes are semi golden in colour. Turn the oven off. Let the potatoes sit in the oven.

4. In the meantime, take a large pot & fill the bottom with hot water. Place a fitting steamer in it & add the washed broccoli florets, side by side. Place the lid on the pot but keep one side a bit open with a wooden spoon to let the hot steam evaporate. Steam for about 3 to 5 minutes until al dente. During steaming, you might have to add some hot water to the pot. Don’t add too much water so that the water doesn’t touch the broccoli! When al dente, turn the heat off & set aside. Place into a fitting bowl. Keep warm.

5. When you are going to steam the broccoli, heat a large griddle pan on a high heat. Brush the cleaned steaks with olive oil. When the griddle pan is super hot, add the steaks. Grill on each side until it reaches your satisfaction. Add some grinds of black pepper & a tiny bit of Maldon sea salt on the steaks.

I like my steak à point. Grill on 1 side for about 3 minutes & then the other side for about 2 minutes depending on the thickness of the cut. Then turn over & grill for about 1 minute on the 1st side. You can grill your steak to your likeness.

6. Check if your steak is ready, then lift them out of the pan & place into the shallow dish with the marinade in it. Slice the meat into 4 or so & tuck the steaks into the marinade. Put some of the marinade over the steaks. Place a lid on the dish. Marinate for about 4 minutes per side.

7. When the broccoli is cooling, add some of the marinade from the meat on top of the broccoli florets & mix carefully with a spoon so that the broccoli can absorb the marinade. Place a lid on the bowl. Marinade it for about 3 à 4 minutes.

8. Take your plates & plate up. Place the meat on the plate & pour the marinade the juices on the meat. Lay the marinated broccoli on the side & place the marinade on top. Place the potatoes on the side. Enjoy!

The potatoes are hot & the meat & broccoli are semi warm when they will be eaten, this is excellent in the hot summer,…

This is lovely enjoyed with a glass of white wine like Dannie De Wet, Lime stone Hill Chardonnay, Suid-Afrika 2008. This wine tastes like there are little bubbles in the wine. A fruity wine, but not too sweet. It is just perfect!

♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

72 thoughts on “Marinated grilled steak , oven herb & garlic roasted potatoes with steamed broccoli

  1. Mjam…Sophie! This dish looks perfect! You are so clever to combine all of those flavours so well! Great dinner! I love the wine pairing too!

  2. Looks finger licking good Sophie. I like it that each thing can be cooked in tandem with the next, & they share flavours too. It's very interesting indeed! PS That challenge was posted in error. My apologies. I clicked that link instead of the Himalayas, which are now on! =)

  3. I've really come to appreciate marinating steak and what a difference it makes. Sometimes I'm lazy and skip the marinating and I'm always sorry that I did.Sam

  4. Good morning! You literally made my favorite meal. Quick question, pardon my ignorance but what is Maldon sea salt. I've heard about fleur de sel, Himalayan salt but never Maldon.Thanks for stopping by my site. I also had a quick question about sheeps milk ricotta. I have never heard about it before. How does it taste? Is it milder than goat milk ricotta? Thanks for all the valuable info!

  5. This wonderful summer traditional steak and potatoes almost melts in my mouth and all the flavor mingle in a rish, thick delicious very tasty!Thanks for stopping by :)http://foodcreate.com

  6. sophie.. this is so wonderful.. m sure gonna try this for dinner.. m sure my husbands gonna love this one.. yumm yumm!! all my type of ingredients 🙂 thanx a lot for sharing

  7. Sophie, can I be your neighbor 😀 just want to sniff that aroma or peek the juicy meat from your window 🙂 🙂

  8. i second deeba's comment–this is completely finger-lickin' good! granted, none of it is really meant to be eaten with one's fingers, but that wouldn't stop me. 🙂

  9. Yum! And you've stumbled upon one of my very favorite ways to cook potatoes! Sometimes I parboil… and other times I prebake, smash, season and bake again. Lovely either way!I love the Maldon sea salt for finishing, don't you?

  10. This is one gorgeous fresh meal! I love how you can do so much ahead of time and I love the use of lemons. So summery. The carnivore in my home will definitely appreciate that summer is not all about salads!

  11. ooh I so want some of this!!!I'm actually testing a recipe for chimichuri this weeekend, it'd go great w/your potatoes and broccoli.

  12. Yummy, steamy broccoli, garlic and herbs steak, what else I can ask? I love this kind of dish ,mostly with garlic

  13. Nice idea with the lemon thyme on the potatoes – I have some lemon thyme in a pot outside my back door but I never think of using it!

  14. Do you know Sophie – this looks fabulous. My husband has just had a look at your blog too and we think it is superb!

  15. This is the first time I have heard of marinating meat after the cooking process, in most recipes it comes before. Interesting idea, and looks fabulous. I love the roast potatoes too.

  16. your steaks look absolutely luscious. I once saw this post grill marinating thing on Nigella's cooking show, but haven't tried it yet, but now I definitely will.

  17. @ every one: the meat recipe is an adapted recipe from Nigella. She used ordinary thyme but I prefer lemon thyme because it has more flavour!the potato recipe is by me!! I am glad that you all liked it so much!!

  18. nOT THAT YOU NEED ANYONE ELSE TO SAY THIS LOOKS ABSOLUTLY DELISH…… LOLThanks for the blog comments!

  19. i grew up eating full meals much like this one!! i don't eat steak as much as I used to, but I sooo love it!

  20. I do consider all the ideas you have introduced in your post. They are very convincing and can definitely work. Nonetheless, the posts are very short for starters. May you please lengthen them a bit from next time? Thanks for the post.

  21. We still can not quite feel that I could become one of those studying the important recommendations found on your website. My family and I are sincerely thankful for the generosity and for offering me the chance to pursue the chosen profession path. Many thanks for the important information I acquired from your web-site.

  22. Good – I should certainly pronounce, impressed with your site. I had no trouble navigating through all tabs and related information ended up being truly easy to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it in the least. Reasonably unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or anything, site theme . a tones way for your client to communicate. Nice task.

  23. I’ll immediately snatch your rss as I can’t to find your email subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please permit me understand in order that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

    1. Hello there,

      You see at my homepage in the right bar on the top , you will find RSS: RSS posts & RSS comments. Below that: you will find my Subscription by email: put your email adresse in it & click onto Sign me up! & then you must go to your email & click onto the link to recieve my updates -posts! Thanks & enjoy my blog! 😉

  24. Very interesting details you have noted , regards for putting up. “Great is the art of beginning, but greater is the art of ending.” by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.

  25. Hello there, You’ve done an incredible job. I will certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I am confident they will be benefited from this site.

  26. Hi there! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I genuinely enjoy reading through your articles. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same subjects? Thanks for your time!

  27. Thank you, I’ve recently been searching for info approximately this topic for ages and yours is the best I have discovered till now. But, what in regards to the bottom line? Are you sure in regards to the source?

  28. I like what you guys are up too. Such intelligent work and reporting! Keep up the superb works guys I have incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my web site :).

  29. I like this web blog very much, Its a real nice position to read and get info. “Youth is a wonderful thing. What a crime to waste it on children.” by George Bernard Shaw.

  30. I really enjoy examining on this internet site , it contains excellent posts . “It is easy to be nice, even to an enemy – from lack of character.” by Dag Hammarskjld.

  31. You are my inspiration, I possess few blogs and often run out from post :). “Truth springs from argument amongst friends.” by David Hume.

  32. I’ve been absent for a while, but now I remember why I used to love this blog. Thank you, I will try and check back more often. How frequently you update your website?

  33. You could definitely see your skills within the work you write. The sector hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. At all times follow your heart. “The only way most people recognize their limits is by trespassing on them.” by Tom Morris.

  34. It’s actually a cool and useful piece of information. I am glad that you shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

Comments are closed.