Posted in Recipes

Ginger & lemongrass marinated lamb cutlets with verjuice oven roasted vegetables & served with boiled potatoes

A tasty & apart well-flavoured dinner!
Recently, I discovered Verjuice. Verjuice ( coming from the word: vertjus= green juice), meaning a very acidic juice made by pressing unripe grapes. Sometimes lemon or sorrel juice is added or herbs & spices to change the flavor.

 

 Wikipedia explains verjuice really good.

Here is the link: http://www.en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Verjuice

Australians use verjuice a lot in cooking & baking. The famous author Maggie beer has written a book on it, it is a cookbook with lovely recipes in it, using verjuice in nearly everything.
I marinated lamb cutlets in a mix of coriander leaves, mint leaves, ginger, garlic cloves, cut up lemon grass, a bit of olive oil & sea salt. They were marinated for 1,5 hour.
To the oven roasted vegetables , I added 3 cloves of garlic & 100 ml of Verjuice.
I served this with boiled potatoes.
The meat recipe is from Neil Perry!! The rest is from me!! He is an outstanding Australian cook!!
Recipe: For 2 persons
Ingredients:
* For the marinade:
2 cloves of garlic, peeled & finely cut up
2 stalks of lemongrass, peeled & thinly sliced
2,5 cm of fresh ginger, peeled & finely cut up
1 teaspoon of sea salt
3 tablespoons of fresh coriander leaves ( cilantro ), finely cut up
3 tablespoons of fresh mint leaves, finely cut up
40 ml of fruity olive oil
* for the meat:
8 lamb cutlets, I removed the bones & fat & cut the meat loose from the bone
1 large plastic Ziplock bag
* For the vegetables:
3 sweet bell peppers: I used 2 medium red & 1 yellow, cleaned, pits & white bits removed
2 large sweet onions, peeled & cut into wedges
3 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & finely cut up
100 ml of Verjuice ( Verjuice is gluten free!!! )
a few grinds of black pepper
a pinch of sea salt
Potatoes for 2 persons, peeled & cut up into 2, placed into cold water
Method:
1. First, make the marinade for the meat. Take a pestle & mortar. If you do not have that, take a foodprocessor.
2. Add the chopped up garlic, the cut up lemongrass, the cut up ginger & sea salt in the pestle & mortar. Using the pestle, grind into a rough paste.
3. Add the chopped up coriander & mint leaves. Grind again well. Stir in the olive oil, bit by bit until you have a looser paste. I used 40 ml because I had too. Maybe, you do not have to use all the oil, just wait & see if you need to put in extra.
4. Clean your lamb cutlets, if necessary & place into the Ziplock bag. Pour the marinade into the bag. Divide the marinade well over the cutlets!!. Close the plastic bag & massage the meat on the outside with your hands. Place the closed bag into a bowl in case of leakage. Put into the fridge for about 1,5 hours. You can marinate the meat up to 2 or 3 hours.
5. When you are ready to make dinner, 40 minutes before eating, take the bag with the meat in it out of the fridge.
6. Preheat the oven to 200 ° C. for 10 minutes. Take a large bowl & place all the vegetables in it. Mix well with a spoon. Now, add the 100 ml of Verjuice. Mix well. Pour those vegetables into a baking dish, evenly divided. Add a pich of sea salt & a few grinds of black pepper. Mix well. Place into the hot oven for 20 to 30 minutes. After 15 minutes, stir the vegetables round with a spoon to prevent burning on the top. The vegetables will be cooked trough after 20 to 30 minutes. So, check that out.
7. In the meantime, I cook the potatoes. They take about 15 to 20 minutes.
8. After 15 minutes, until the potatoes & vegetables are nearly ready, I preheat a large heat & place my large grill- pan on it. When hot, add the marinated lamb pieces. Put some marinade on top of the meat. Cook for about 2 minutes per side until ” rosé ” on the inside. Check that out by cutting 1 trough. The meat has to be rosé otherwise it will be tough & hard! You want moist & delicate meat! Put the meat off the grill & put it into a warm plate & cover to keep warm. Turn the heat off. Let it stand for about 5 minutes.
9. Now, plate up!!
This is lovely ! This is so good enjoyed with a glass of red Shiraz-Cabernet wine from Jacob’s Creek vintage 2006!!!

♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

45 thoughts on “Ginger & lemongrass marinated lamb cutlets with verjuice oven roasted vegetables & served with boiled potatoes

  1. I love these lamb cutlets with lemon grass and ginger. I’ve actually got defrosted lamb right now and just enough time to marinade before our dinner. I will run and make it right now!

  2. sophie- thank you so very much for your wonderful comments on my food blog. I just adore them!Plus, I must try this marinade!

  3. These lamb cutlets make my mouth salivary. I love them and you make me so curious about those lemon grass, we don’t have it here. But we have a lot of Verjuice. I love it so much that I sometimes drink just it. But generally we use it in vegetable dishes, especially in okra. I should try it in meat dishes as well. Thank you.

  4. Hi Sophie, I have never heard of this verjuice before. It sounds like it would be a really fresh tasting addition to a meal. This looks like a nice hearty dinner. Perfect!

  5. I learn something coming here. I never heard of Verjuice. Your meat looks so juicy and tasty Sophie.

  6. We love lamb and it’s great to see a recipe that goes beyond the usual mint or rosemary flavors. Lemongrass and ginger would pair so well with the flavor of lamb. And the pepper side is perfect – I was wondering what to do with the yellow and red ones I have in the refrigerator!

  7. Wow, Sophie! Now that is right up my alley. Have to get my hands on some Verjuice. In good news today, I found Halloumi at one of our grocery stores here in Miami. So now I can try out that recipe. The flavors in this sound so perfect! Do you think I could try it with pork tenderloin cutlets instead of the lamb?

  8. I didn’t know what Verjuice was. That’s verrry interesting! Ahaha – I’m so funny.Your dish looks and sounds great!

  9. YUM! Love lamb (had some at an Indian restaurant last night), but have never cooked it.I really like how you serve it with plain boiled potatoes: this is something my parents do often 🙂

  10. wow, sophie–great meal! restaurants would charge an arm and a leg for something like this! i don’t know a lot about lemongrass, but i’ll keep in mind the next time i’m dealing with lamb. 🙂

  11. See, this is what I’m saying!! You are always using interesting ingredients!! I love verjus! The first time I ever tried it was in the kitchen of a vineyard restaurant after I had my meal… someone at supper knew the chef, so he took us into the kitchen to show off a little 🙂 I ate it off a spoon, it was sooooo puckery tart!Thanks for this Sophie!

  12. Wow, beautiful char on that lamb… and verjuice!! I love that stuff! Thank you for the great recipe!

  13. Oh my, this looks amazing…Lamb is one of my favorites and all the ingredients you use in your marinade, outstanding! Thanks for sharing!

  14. I love learning about all of sorts of new ingredients from you Sophie, you have taught me so much! I would love to try this Asian fusion dish. I love the addition of verjuice, ginger, and lemongrass. They must wonderfully enhance the unique flavor of the lamb!

  15. Sophie you amazae in how clever and original you are with your recipes. I haven’t heard of verjuice before, but I am going to look for it and try it. Your lamb looks so savory!

  16. Verjuice is a great ingredient. There is a local winery that makes one I’ve heard is great but I haven’t been able to buy a bottle yet. I’ll save this recipe to try when I do.

  17. How did I miss this post? What a great recipe! Where do you suppose one would find this verjus? I am intrigued!

  18. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here. The sketch is attractive, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an nervousness over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again since exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this increase.

Comments are closed.