Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Spring pea soup with ham grissini

on 02/03/2009

I craved for a soup! The sun was shining through the window, the birds were singing & I felt alive & happy!
Spring was there! The sun was shining & I had enough of root vegetables! I needed something fresh & green!!! So, I came up with this soup!
Printable Recipe
Recipe: For 4 persons
Ingredients:
1 large purple sweet onion, peeled & finely diced
250 gr potatoes, peeled, washed & finely cut up
800 ml of vegetable stock
250 gr of frozen peas ( it is not yet the season for fresh peas, what a pity!!!)
4 grissini
4 thin slices of smoked ham, like Parma ham
olive oil, a neutral one
Method:
1. Take a large cooking pot & heat up on medium high. Add 2 tablespoons of olive oil & heat up.
When hot & sizzling, add the finely sliced onion. Fry for about 5 minutes until tender. Stir frequently.
2. Now, add the diced up potatoes. Stir well. Fry for about 3 to 5 minutes.
3. Next, add the stock & bring to the boil. Heat up the heat on high. Boil until the potatoes are tender. With me, that took about 10 minutes.
4. Now, add the frozen peas & boil until tender & al dente. With me, that took about 8 minutes.
5. I did not sieve the soup because  I mixed the soup thoroughly  & so you keep the goodness in the soup!
6. You can add pepper if you like, but i didn’t do this because it tasted fab!!
7. Now, take your soup bowls & pour the soup in it. This is a thick soup!!
8. Take your grissini & wrap the ham tightly around it & place it over the soup bowl! This soup is lovely hot or cold!! Enjoy!!♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr


53 responses to “Spring pea soup with ham grissini

  1. Susanna says:

    This soup looks so fresh!!! Looks so good!!!!

  2. A delicious soup! Yummy!Cheers,Rosa

  3. It looks so bright and delicious!

  4. dh says:

    I looked up grissini to see what it was,and it said a thin breadstick. Is that right? Your soup looks lovely. When we were little we were the only ones I knew who ate pea soup and to make it kid friendly my father used hotdogs instead of ham. Your pea soup looks lovely, I’ll have to try it, I’ve never made any of my own.

  5. Tomas says:

    This soup with the ham grissini looks wonderful!!!! Thanks!

  6. duodishes says:

    OOOOh, ham grissini! Nice match for the soup.

  7. I am definitely starting to crave spring flavors even though there’s still snow outside (very unusual here in March). Your pea soup looks just lovely!

  8. Very luscious and delicious idea, Sophie! The soup is so vibrant and fresh-looking, and I love the crunchy addition of pencil-thin grissini and ham!

  9. Love the color of the pea soup. It does look like spring! I like the breadstick with ham – I could probably eat 10 of those.

  10. Sophie says:

    Thanks for those responses!dh: grissini means thin breadsticks, you are right! The smoked ham goes well with the bread stick & the peas!

  11. Hermana says:

    Thanks for this recipe, Sophie!!! It is easy yet so yummie:)!!!

  12. Beautiful color on the soup!And I must admit, I am completely addicted to grissini. I like to make them by running pizza dough through the fettucini cutter on my pasta roller.

  13. Ben says:

    Yes spring is in the air, can you smell it? I am so tired of this cold weather, hehe, but I think with a soup like this I can endure the few weeks left.

  14. Pam says:

    I love the color – what a beautiful soup.

  15. I too like the colors. I can imagine how inviting the aromas were while this was cooking!

  16. Lo says:

    OOh. Very nice. And that pea soup just wreaks of spring… fresh peas or not!

  17. Carolyn says:

    Actually, I got fresh peas at the market last week. They were amazing. But I love, love, love pea soup! And anything with ham or bacon, or both!

  18. I adore peas and pea soup and I think you pairing it with a ham wrapped grissini is a great idea!

  19. Helene says:

    I love soup any time, any day. This looks great.

  20. Maris says:

    I love just about any and every kind of soup. Pretty much the only qualification soup needs to have for me to like it, is that it needs to be called soup 🙂

  21. Reeni♥ says:

    This looks so good, Sophie! So light and refreshing. I’m ready for Spring!

  22. Kat says:

    mmmm… this looks lovely, peas are out for me right now, but I’m bookmarking this so I can come back to it in a couple of months. And the picture is so beautiful.

  23. What a gorgeous soup! So bright and fresh. Yes, I think I smell Spring blossoming!!

  24. Y says:

    That looks delicious! Love the ham wrapped grissini on the side 🙂

  25. My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was entirely right. This post actually made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  26. Valeria says:

    i’d love to share this posting with the readers on my site. thanks for sharing!

  27. I wish to get across my admiration for your kindness for persons who absolutely need assistance with this particular matter. Your special dedication to passing the solution across appeared to be exceptionally significant and have really enabled women just like me to arrive at their targets. This interesting tutorial means much a person like me and much more to my peers. Thanks a ton; from each one of us.

  28. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your site offered us with valuable info to work on. You have done a formidable job and our entire community will be grateful to you.

  29. Nice read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing some research on that. And he actually bought me lunch as I found it for him smile Thus let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch! “They may forget what you said, but they will never forget how you made them feel.” by Carl W. Buechner.

  30. I reckon something truly interesting about your weblog so I bookmarked .

  31. You are my inspiration, I own few blogs and rarely run out from post :).

  32. Hello. Great job. I did not expect this. This is a great story. Thanks!

  33. Regards for helping out, excellent information. “

  34. Lisbeth Hey says:

    Thanks for the unique tips provided on this website. I have seen that many insurance companies offer shoppers generous reductions if they decide to insure a couple of cars together. A significant volume of households have got several motor vehicles these days, in particular those with elderly teenage youngsters still living at home, and the savings in policies can easily soon mount up. So it pays to look for a good deal.

  35. Very interesting points you have mentioned, appreciate it for posting.

  36. Utterly pent written content , thankyou for entropy.

  37. Very interesting details you have noted , regards for posting . “Opportunities are seldom labeled.” by John H. Shield.

  38. I really enjoy reading on this website, it holds superb blog posts. “Don’t put too fine a point to your wit for fear it should get blunted.” by Miguel de Cervantes.

  39. Check it out says:

    I like this web blog very much, Its a really nice place to read and find info . “Words are like leaves and where they most abound, Much fruit of sense beneath is rarely found.” by Alexander Pope.

  40. I like this site so much, saved to favorites. “Nostalgia isn’t what it used to be.” by Peter De Vries.

  41. Really superb info can be found on site . “Politics is applesauce.” by Will Rogers.

  42. Pasty Zizza says:

    I’ve been browsing on-line more than 3 hours nowadays, yet I by no means found any interesting article like yours. It’s beautiful value sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you probably did, the web shall be much more useful than ever before. “We are not retreating – we are advancing in another Direction.” by Douglas MacArthur.

  43. Great write-up, I am regular visitor of one’s website, maintain up the nice operate, and It is going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time.

  44. Some really good content on this site, appreciate it for contribution. “My salad days, When I was green in judgment.” by William Shakespeare.

  45. hello!,I really like your writing so much! proportion we be in contact extra approximately your article on AOL? I need an expert on this area to resolve my problem. May be that’s you! Taking a look forward to look you.

  46. You should take part in a contest for the most effective blogs on the web. I will suggest this site!

  47. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  48. I like this web site very much, Its a real nice berth to read and get info. “Money may kindle, but it cannot by itself, and for very long, burn.” by Igor Stravinski.

  49. Thank you for your own labor on this site. Gloria takes pleasure in setting aside time for investigations and it’s really easy to understand why. Most of us hear all relating to the compelling mode you render both interesting and useful strategies by means of this blog and as well as improve response from the others about this idea plus my simple princess is truly discovering so much. Take pleasure in the rest of the new year. You are doing a terrific job.

  50. You are my intake, I possess few blogs and sometimes run out from brand :). “The soul that is within me no man can degrade.” by Frederick Douglas.

  51. Wesele says:

    What a great website. I am happy I found it.It’s nice to read something interesting I cannot find subscription list

  52. Cyndy says:

    Great post, I think people should larn a lot from this website its really user genial. So much excellent information on here :D.

Comments are closed.
