Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Maldon sea salt

on 17/11/2008



I love cooking with maldon sea salt. I prefer it instead of ordynary table salt. Why?

They are salt flakes. You can use them like that or grind them finely in a pestle & mortar. There taste is really delicious. You can read more on the website: http://www.maldonsalt.co.uk
They explain everything. It is very useful.
21 responses to “Maldon sea salt

  1. Selba says:

    Interesting salt especially since we don’t use salt flakes here in Indonesia.

  2. Claudia says:

    I’ve never seen “salt flakes” here. This would be fun to figure out the difference in taste. I shall have to look when I go to the specialty stores.

  3. ~RED~ says:

    Salt flakes huh? Now you’ve got my curiosity going..i use coarse ground sea salt..i haven’t used table salt in a very LONG time..

  4. ridelo says:

    I don’t see what’s the difference between this salt and common table salt once it is mixed in the food. Is the chemical composition different? Overigens knap gemaakte blog, Sophie. Maar ik ben spijtig genoeg geen keukenpiet.Rik Delaet

  5. Susan says:

    Many cooks swear by Maldon. I enjoy sea salt a great deal (so many varieties!), so I shall have to add a box to my collection. I didn't know it was flaked – I am intrigued. Thanks, Sophie!

  6. Anonymous says:

    Haha, this is exactly the salt I use. I once had a fight with a now-ex-flatmate/still-good friend of mine because I bought a box of Maldon Sea Salt instead of the generic own label stuff we students are supposed to patronise, and it was 4x more expensive!A Belgian guest once showed me the beauty of crushing and sprinkling it over practically the plate of pasta he had – it literally brought out and accentuated the food's flavours!Using crystallised salt makes me aware of how much salt I actually put into a dish.

  7. I use maldon all the time. Why did I not think to grind it down in a pestle and mortar when I want fine salt? Sometimes I wonder where my brain went. LOL

  8. Jennie says:

    I love Maldon! Have you tried Smoked Maldon Sea Salt? It's fantastic!

  9. Olive says:

    I'm curious..I have never used salt flakes too, I use our local natural sea salt or coarse salt..Thanks for sharing this Sophie! :)

  10. I took a lesson on salts and this one of the varieties highlighted. It's such an improvement to table salt.

  11. sweet-komal says:

    yes I'm a fan of maldon and was just going to ask if you'v tried smoked bu the person above beat me to it :)Love smoked on mozzarella stuffed chicken wrapped in ham yum yum

  12. Gianna says:

    Good post! I have a random question for you. How do you get your blog indexed by bing? I have a related web blog.

  13. Sydney says:

    Excellent article and easy to understand explanation. How do I go about getting permission to post part of the article in my upcoming news letter? Giving proper credit to you the author and link to the site would not be a problem.

  14. I truly enjoy examining on this web site, it holds fantastic articles.

  15. Very good information – thanks!

  16. Good work:) Thank You for this news

  17. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  18. I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one today..

  19. Psycholog says:

    I love reading your blog. I’ve you bookmarked your website in order to check out the latest stuff.

  20. Biznes plan says:

    With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement? My blog has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my agreement. Do you know any solutions to help prevent content from being stolen? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 869 other followers

