Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Lovely Easy Seasonal Appetizers! A recap post! :)

on 22/07/2014
yum yumm!

yum yum!

A few days ago, I made these lovely appetizers.

I had the lovely produce of 16 red cherry tomatoes from my own 2 home-grown plants. I wanted to use them so their flavour would be superior in their own right.

I looked what I had in the fridge & made these beauties. I know it is an adapted classic but it is really tasty! Try it & you will see!

Dig in!

Dig in!

Recipe: For 2 larger appetizer Glasses

Ingredients:

1 ball of fresh Buffalo mozzarella, drained, pad dry a bit on kitchen paper & cut into smaller bite-sized chunks

black pepper

Maldon sea salt

dried oregano: about 1/8 teaspoon to 1/4 teaspoon

a fruity EVOO = Extra Virgin Olive Oil

cleaned spring onions: 2 green tubes, cut into thicker rings / discard the white bits & use for other recipes

6 red cherry tomatoes, cut into 2

2 thin slices of Bayonne ham: Gluten-free : this is an air-dried salted ham that takes its name from the ancient port city of Bayonne in the far South West of France, a city located in both the cultural regions of Basq country & Gascoigne. Jambon de Bayonne has PGI status. This means protected geographical indication (PGI). Slice the 2 slices vertically into 2 long slices, remove the excess white fat & roll them, not too tightly up. So you end up with 4 smaller rolled up slices.

black pepper

Method:

1. Take a medium bowl add the chunks of Buffalo mozzarella, 1/8 teaspoon of dried oregano, a few grins of black pepper: finely milled, a touch of sea salt & a drizzle of 2 to 3 of that fruity extra virgin olive oil. It just to moisten the mix a bit & for their flavours too. Add a bit more dried oregano if you want, according to your taste. Take your appetizer glasses & place 1/4 of the mix into each glass, on the bottom. Then place 6 halved cherry tomatoes on top of that, with the flat side upwards. Do the same with the other glass. Top with the rest of the mozzarella mix, evenly divided in the 2 glasses.

2. Top this with 2 rolled up slices of the Bayonne ham. Grin some finely black pepper over the top, onto these 2 slices. Do the same for the other glass.

3. Finally, divide the green scallions rings all over the top of each glass & place into the fridge to cool off a bit. 30 minutes is ideal.

Serve this with a loved one & this is also great with a lovely rosé wine like Jacob’s Creek, Cool harvest: Shiraz Rosé, 2011 with hints of strawberries & a lovely delicate spiciness in the background! A lovely pairing!

Enjoy, my lovely ones! ;)

Stay Tuned! if you liked this post & want more of them, join 918 email followers! Subscribe by email! It is free!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Facebook too! :)

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Garlic toasts with Kumato tomatoes & Serrano ham served with Belgian Oude Geuze Beer

 

58 responses to “Lovely Easy Seasonal Appetizers! A recap post! :)

  1. Sighs..my tomatoes are still very green…not enough sunshine over here.
    The appetizers look very tasty, Sophie.

  2. We are still getting tomatoes from our garden, most unheard of. These appetisers look amazing Sophie, although not sure Id be able to stop at one. :)

  3. boeddhamum says:

    I love your French presentation : verrines capreses ;-)
    My tomatoes aren’t ripe yet either, but the sun is there, so patience is the word.
    Have a nice day,
    xxLinda

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks, dear Linda! Enjoy! The rest of my yellow cherry tomatoes & my larger tomato,plantsaren’t ripe yet either! 😉

  4. Woah Sophie. …yummy salad wil skip Ham and try this….thanx a ton….you have a lovely salads and smoothies in your kitchen…..

  5. So rewarding to eat the fruits of your harvest Sophie :)

  6. Just clicked on “like” but I LOVE this Sophie! Great flavors and just so appealing and bright in the little glasses. Would be a fun start to any meal with friends.

  7. They look so pretty, and even better that it includes homegrown produce :)

  8. So pretty Sophie. Yum. Also, you always come up with these cutest forks. :)

  9. I find that no matter what the actual ingredients are, appetizers always look so much more elegant when layered into clear glasses, but your composition here is especially beautiful! Perhaps it’s a bit of a stretch for the original concept, but I can easily picture these veganized… I feel like the vegan smoked salmon we now have on the market would be a delightful change of pace from the ham, too!

  10. Sally says:

    Could wolf one of these down no problem

  11. This is such a great idea and perfect for appetizers! Heck I’d love one for lunch too! :)

  12. Susanne Haun says:

    It looks delicious, Sophie! It’s the right food for warmly days!

  13. Koko says:

    I thought that was smoked salmon at first….Which would be perfect for me!! Such beautiful appetizers…I just love how you presented them in layers.

  14. Sean & Linda says:

    We just made it & let it sit in then fridge too!

    It was just so delicious, Sophie! xx

  15. Johanna says:

    I made it yesterday, dear Sophie & loved it too! Very yum yum! :) xxx

  16. Finn says:

    I made it for my girlfriend & she instantly asked the recipe! It was so tasty! :)

  17. afracooking says:

    Perfect summer dish!! x

  18. Liz says:

    you have the best props every, Sophie! Those forks are fantastic. And the apps look good, too :-)

  19. Yum! Looks delicious!

  20. Wow, that’s a pretty presentation Sophie!!!
    good job…

  21. Oh this Asian dish sounds and looks delicious, I can always go for Asian food.

  22. ok oops I got confused where to comment for the Asian dish sorry, but this appetizer is right up my alley, love how simple it is to put together and full of great flavor too. Cheers Sophie!

  23. Such a cute appetiser, delicious and wonderful recipe! :D
    Love the summery flavour!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  24. hotlyspiced says:

    How lovely to be using your own tomatoes! I love the combination of ingredients in this dish – great appetiser, Sophie xx

  25. Christine says:

    Hi Sophie! I’ve tried so many times to leave a comment on your lovely posts but it never works. I think WordPress doesn’t like me. :-). Anyway, I’m trying again to say that I love your presentation here with all those fresh ingredients. The combination of ingredients is a knock out!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Hey Christine!

      You are blogging again,..yeahh! It is great to hear from you again after all these years! :)

      Thanks so much! I hope you are well! I am off checking your blog right now! :) xxx

  26. This looks amazing!!!!

  27. Charlotte says:

    That looks really lovely! And so simple!

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,099 other followers

