Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

My favourite cocktail of the moment!

on 21/05/2014
Can you guess what is in it?

Can you guess what is in it?

Hey, all! I had been working in my garden today & said to myself that I deserved a well earned cocktail so I treated myself to this beauty! :) Can you guess the ingredients????

Yes, of course,…There are strawberries in here, basil, ice & vodka! Yes, yes, this is surely a drink for grown-ups! Ha! ;)

When you sip on this cocktail, you first taste the cold ice, then strawberries & then hints of basil,…finally the vodka kick! ;) I like it that way! :)

Recipe: For 1 glorious winning cocktail

Ingredients:

5 ice cubes, mine were ice rounds

4 large fresh basil leaves, cleaned & torn into little pieces to set the aroma free

8 larger strawberries, hulled & cut up into smaller chunks

40 ml gluten-free vodka

Method:

1. Take a cocktail shaker & add all the ingredients in it. Screw the sieve lid on & top with the fitted cap. Shake your coktail bottle up & down, for about 10 minutes. You want to get a mix so that the strawberries break down & set their aroma & juices free. This way, you will also get that subtle basil flavour, of course. I shaked my bottle for about 10 minutes & poured it, with the sieve on, into 1 glass. Then, I poured this clean juice into the serving cocktail glass, for a better presentation.

2. Finally, I took 1 smaller strawberry, unhulled & cut into the bottom, a big slice & put it nicely on the edge of my glass. Enjoy! :) And if one cocktail isn’t enough, make 2, you deserve it! :) xxx

Stay tuned!Β If you liked this post & want more of them,Β join 900 email followers! Subscribe by email! It is free!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Facebook now too! :)

Sophies Foodie Files

The cocktail to be!

The cocktail to be!

 

77 responses to “My favourite cocktail of the moment!

  1. Divalicious says:

    Yummy! One to try for sure! Looks and sounds delicious!

  2. No no no no…. I have all these ingredients in my pantry…….. Must try 😯

  3. Liz says:

    holy cr@p, Sophie–this looks amazing! I was excited even just by your post title, but to see the final drink (great photo :-) ) and then the strawberries in the shaker. What fun. Am glad you shook yourself up a treat for all of your hard work. The basil addition sounds intriguing and delicious.

  4. Koko says:

    This looks SO good! My kind of drink for sure!! I can’t imagine what the basil would taste like in a cocktail, but I bet it’s sooo fresh and just adds the perfect something special. I will definitely be trying this! At least once ;-) Maybe 2, 3, 4 times.

  5. Mmmm sounds like a great & refreshing drink. And pretty to boot =)

  6. Strawberry and basil is definitely a winning combination! I really don’t drink, but I would still gladly try a glass of this.

  7. It looks delightful!

  8. hotlyspiced says:

    Strawberries and vodka are a match made in heaven. This is a really lovely looking cocktail and such a pretty colour xx

  9. lucylox says:

    Sounds divine x

  10. boeddhamum says:

    What a creative work-out, Sophie and what a tasty outcome, looks delicious :-)

  11. Sean & Linda says:

    Waw, Sophie!
    What a cool & tasty delicious looking cocktail! We want one! :)

  12. Johan says:

    Greetings from Oslo!
    This cocktail is surely for me too, Sophie! It looks so appetizing & they would be great to enjoy with my friends! Thanks! :)

  13. coconutcraze says:

    I can totally understand the need for a cocktail after gardening as I am in the same process. I gulped a jug of water the first day and then decided to have a good drink! I will try this too!

  14. What a delicious idea!

  15. timethief says:

    Strawberries are in season and we are enjoying them in many forms. I’m adding this recipe to my cocktails. Thanks for sharing.

  16. Liz says:

    I have learnt something new, gluten free vodka…the cocktail is smashing!!!

  17. You definitely earned that beauty of a cocktail, Sophie!

  18. offmotorway says:

    Mmmm, the perfect way to end a summer’s day!

  19. I think I could enjoy a few of these!

  20. Barbara says:

    Oh yeah! That sounds (and looks) fabulous, Sophie. I’ll have one!

  21. Lilly Sue says:

    Yummy! This looks absolutely refreshing! I have seen multiple basil cocktails but have yet to make any. I definitely am going to try one this summer :)

  22. rika@vm says:

    Strawberries & basil & vodka, such a great combination for a summery cocktail! I had strawberries, mint and banana smoothie earlier and it was so tasty!

  23. Bernice says:

    This is gorgeous Sophie! I will pin so I can make it this summer. I like the freshness of the strawberries and I adore fresh basil! Awesome!!

  24. Georgina says:

    This looks like a lovely cocktail Sophie. And just the thing after a hard day’s work! Perfect!

  25. twbarritt says:

    Beautiful! I have to try this! I love the use of basil – it sounds delicious, and with quite a nice kick!

  26. Chandni Lahoti says:

    Yumminess!

  27. Jason says:

    Any chance those cocktails can be delivered? :)

  28. Karen says:

    I really love a strawberry martini. Each summer, I infuse strawberries and vodka for summer time cocktails. I’ll have to try adding basil. :)

  29. Strawberries and basil = perfect combination! Have some still frozen in the freezer.. need to defrost and get this cocktail going!

  30. I love how well strawberries and basil go together, I’m not a drinker but I can see this would be a great favor combo. Sorry I’ve been absent for a while, hope you are doing well and have a wonderful rest of the week. Also thank you so much for the sweet comments on my blog.

  31. theintolerantchef says:

    Basil and strawberries are such a wonderful combination indeed – yummo!

  32. So fresh and pretty Sophie! Saving this one–summer is around the corner. thanks.

  33. My new favourite too :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  34. laurasmess says:

    I adore the combination of strawberry and basil, I’ve recently eaten it in a salad and a pizza but not in a cocktail, I think I need to try this super quickly! Yummmm! Great invention Soph! xx

  35. afracooking says:

    Hello darling, I have been away for a bit and have not even seen a computer for days. But now that I have one on my lap again I had to just drop by and check out what you have been making – wow some fabulous recipes!! You really have been busy!

  36. I can see why it’s your favourite of the moment! :D

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,129 other followers

