Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Vegan gingered rhubarb panna cottas! Gluten-free too!

on 07/05/2014
A lovely flower patterned Vegan & GF ringered rhubarb panna cotta! :)

A lovely flower patterned Vegan & GF gingered rhubarb panna cotta! :)

Yesterday, I invented these tasty vegan gluten-free gingered rhubarb panna cottas! I used my flower patterned silicon baking mats to make them in! This way, when the panna cottas have set, they are easy to remove & you end up with a lovely flower pattern on the outside! Just look at this beauty! You must taste the ginger & then the rhubarb with a hint of coconut in the end. In the other same panna cottas, I didn’t taste the coconut. So maybe, next time, I will use unsweetened soy milk???? I used 5 ingredients in these beauties! :) 

These vegan Gluten-Free gingered rhubarb panna cottas are just right, not too sweet either!

I invented these rhubarb panna cottas & added ground ginger to them because I like the flavour of ground ginger with rhubarb, it gives an added kick, I believe! :) If you want to use less ginger, you do that, but it needed it! I also let my rhubarb pieces simmer into my coconut & rice milk. This is a store-bought mixed drink & it is a bit thinner than real thicker coconut milk. I just wanted to try this mixed plant-based drink to see what it gave! If you want to use thick real coconut milk, I don’t think you need as much agar agar as I used. I will test that in the future,…:)

Just look at that delicious tasty inside!!! Do you want a big bite???

Just look at that delicious tasty inside!!! Do you want a big bite???

t was a while ago, that I made my first recipe with agar agar. That was about 2.5 years ago. It was this fine recipe:

Vegan coconut Panna cotta with vanilla soy milk served with a raspberry coulis ( Vegan, Dairy – Free, Gluten – Free & Vegetarian ), filed under Christmas menu!

Recipe: For 6 flower patterned ginger rhubarb panna cottas

Ingredients:

300 gr fresh rhubarb, the normal green-red sort, cut up into thicker chunks, each about 2-3 cm

500 ml coconut-rice drink, no extra sugar added, I used Alpro

The no-sugar added coconut-rice drink!

The no-sugar added coconut-rice drink!

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 cup coconut sugar

8 gr agar agar powder

Method:

1. Take a fitted cooking pot & add rhubarb chunks. Pour coconut-rice milk drink in it & stir. Add 8 gr of agar agar & whisk it all through. Bring to the boil & whisk, whisk, whisk. Add coconut sugar. Lower your heat if you need to. I had to boil my rhubarb mix for about 15 minutes. It began to thicken. In the beginning, I had about 750 ml & it reduced to about 500 ml. You must end up with still cooked chunks of rhubarb in the sauce because you want to end up with these in your panna cottas. Place your flower-silicon mat on a stable rack. Fill your flower holes for 3/4 or 4/4.

I just filled the holes, ready to go into the fridge to set!

I just filled the holes, ready to go into the fridge to set!

When you spill a bit, you will see that the drops will get stiffer & begin to set. This is what you want. In the beginning, you think that it doesn’t thicken but when you spoon the mix with the cooked rhubarb chunks in the flower holes, it will begin to set. Carefully, move the filled flower holes, on the rack, into the cold fridge. Leave to set for at least a few hours. Mine were ready after 2.5-3 hours.

Set! I just removed one!

Set! I just removed one!

So, to remove one, just use your hands & carefully turn one mould over & gently push it out of the silicon mat & flip it over onto a clean fun dessert plate. Silicon baking mats will give your panna cotta a lovely shine on the outside. Enjoy instantly with a good cup of fresh tea! :) MMM,…I assure you! This panna cotta is filling but light at the end! You don’t taste the red seaweed ( agar agar ) in here! :)

Stay Tuned! If you liked this post & want more of them, join 900 followers! Subscribe by email! It is free!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

You can now follow me on Facebook too! :)

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Vegan coconut Panna cotta with vanilla soy milk served with a raspberry coulis , using agar agar!

2. Roasted almond panna cotta with stewed rhubarb vanilla seeds syrup, using gelatine

 

 

58 responses to “Vegan gingered rhubarb panna cottas! Gluten-free too!

  1. Wow, they look so cool!! Wonderful :)

  2. Sean says:

    Waw, Sophie! Your gingered rhubarb panna cottas look awesome, delicious & apart too! I never seen anyone who uses rhubarb in the panna cotta! Another must make, for sure! Today! xx

  3. Johan says:

    Greetings from Oslo! Your ginger rhubarb panna cotta looks delicious, dear Sophie!!!!
    Waw even! A wonderful flower,…cute & pretty too! :)

    • Sophie33 says:

      Greetings from Mechelen! :) Flower patterned, yes, yes! I always like to make something special, you know that by now! ;)

  4. Katarina says:

    Wow!! I love rhubarb and these look so tasty. Hugs!

  5. Tom says:

    Yum yummm, Sophie! Your gingered rhubarb panna cotta looks just delectable & even FABULOUS!!!!! Yes, yes!

  6. whatuful says:

    Wow looks so beautiful :)

  7. Joanna Sjösten says:

    Hello!

    My name is Joanna and I have read your blog and I really liked your recipes! I work for a website called myTaste.com and I would love for you to join us! :)

    http://www.mytaste.com is a search engine that collects food blogs. We already have over 3000 blogs and if you join us you will take benefit from the trafic that we are sending to your blog.

    Add our widget and hopefully with your recipes your blog will be on the top of the food blogs list!
    If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me at info@mytaste.com

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards, Joanna
    mytaste.com

  8. These panna cottas are so unique and delicious!

  9. birgerbird says:

    Oh, I like this a lot! Funny I have had panna cotta on my brain too, as I have never made it but it seems “easy” to make, adaptable, and of course gluten free. I love rhubarb with ginger too! And lovely mold!

  10. apsara says:

    It looks fabulous, and I’m sure it tastes great too! Love the addition of ginger. x

  11. coconutcraze says:

    First thing I like the flower pattern…then the rhubarb panna cotta. I want to try this especially to try agar agar powder. Great recipe, Sophie!

  12. Koko says:

    These look so cute! I love ginger paired with rhubarb…I agree, it adds a great kick!! I still need to work on my experimenting with agar agar. Vegan panna cotta is the perfect recipe for agar!

  13. Love ginger and they’re super cute!

    • sophie says:

      Thanks, my friend & they are not heavy at all by using coconut-Rice drink in here instead of real full-fat coconut milk!. Enjoy them! Xx

  14. What a great idea Sophie – I love rhubarb and my garden is full of them :-) A must try!

  15. Pretty patterns and delightful flavors! Sounds like a lovely spring dessert, perfect for Mother’s Day too.

  16. hotlyspiced says:

    This is a beautiful looking dessert and your moulds are gorgeous! The panna cotta has turned out perfectly and looks so pretty. I didn’t know you could make vegan panna cottas! xx

    • Sophie33 says:

      Ooh yes, agar agar is just wonderful, healthy & you don’t taste the red seaweed in here!! So much better ffo ryou than gelatin!!!.

  17. Karen says:

    Panna cotta is such a light and tasty dessert. Yours not only sounds good but is oh so pretty…love the molds.

  18. boeddhamum says:

    What a beautiful dish and a great creative idea; I will definitely make them!!

  19. Inspired! I have the same silicon mold!!

  20. Adrian Lupsa says:

    So inventive Sophie! I really like the sunflower silicon mold. I have one with roses. :)

  21. Carolyn Jung says:

    Love the pattern of the molds. It makes every panna cotta extra special.

  22. Poppy says:

    They look beautiful Sophie!x

  23. This panna cotta looks so pretty my friend :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  24. afracooking says:

    Wow what a fabulous combination of flavours. And such a brillinat idea to use sicilone molds :-)

  25. Belinda says:

    Hey Sophie! I made your delectable vegan Gf rhubarb panna cottas & loved them so much! They are a huge success over here! ooh yeah! x

  26. Luke says:

    Your panna cottas made me smile! I made them & with me 6 gr agar was enough! Realy tasty too! :) thanks again,…:)

  27. Deena Kakaya says:

    I’m impressed that this panna cotta is vegan friendly! What gorgeous glavours too x

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 931 other followers

