Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Rhubarb & almond muffins with cinnamon & nutmeg!

on 25/04/2014
Lovely, hey? Tasty too!

Lovely, hey? Tasty too!

A few days ago, I made these lovely rhubarb muffins. These are a bit lighter & a bit more moist then I made before but they are so lovely & yummy,…These are also a great tasty food gift & will make a great dessert or a cool breakfast on-the-go,…:)

Again, my parents gave me fresh rhubarb from their garden. So, I couldn’t refuse,…
I added cinnamon, nutmeg & finely ground almonds to the muffins. These ingredients add a lot of flavour. I didn’t want to use butter & substituted it for canola oil. I also used unsweetened kefir, without added cream, to lighten the muffins. It is a lot healthier & lighter that way. I added coconut sugar because it adds a lot of flavour to the rhubarb.
Tasty bit more moist interior!

Tasty bit more moist interior!

Recipe: For about 9 large muffins + 8 normal muffins // or for about 16 normal muffins

Ingredients:

380 gr fresh rhubarb, washed, cleaned & pad dry with kitchen paper, cut up into little chunks.

300 gr self – raising flour

50 gr finely ground almonds

1/2 teaspoon of freshly grated nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon of ground cinnamon or more according to your taste/ I used less because I didn’t want the cinnamon to overpower the muffins.

200 gr coconut sugar or a bit less

300 ml unsweetened Kefir, no added cream!!!!

125 ml of canola oil

1 large free range & organic egg, beaten

1 tablespoon home-made vanilla extract

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 190° C.( 375 F ) I always use a fan oven. Adjust your oven to the right temperature.

2. Take your not silicon muffin pan & line with colourful muffin papers. I used my 12 holes muffin pan.

I also used my silicon, 6 larger holes, muffin or mini cakes moulds. Why? Because I got it for a present & I didn’t use it before.

3. Take a large bowl & place flour, ground almonds, nutmeg & cinnamon together. Mix well.

4. In another large bowl, beat coconut sugar, kefir, oil, beaten egg & vanilla extract together until all well joined. Stir this mixture into the flour mixture until just joined. Don’t overmix! Now, carefully fold in the rhubarb pieces.

5. My silicon bake ware, I don’t have to grease it. Spoon the mix into the holes of the silicon pan until 3/4 or 4/4 filled. Fill the muffin papers until everything is used up. Fill them also for 3/4 or for 4/4!

6. Place them in the oven on oven trays & bake for about 20 to 25 minutes or until the muffins are risen & golden on top. Test with an oven skewer & prick in the middle of the muffins to see if they are done. If not, place into the oven for a few more minutes. Turn the oven off. Take the trays out of the oven. Leave the muffins for about 5 to 10 minutes into the silicon moulds. They will be shiny on the outside afterwords. After 5 minutes, you can take them easily out of the moulds. The other muffins , you can take them easily out with the muffin papers. Let them all cool off on wire racks.

7. When they are completely cooled off, you can place them in 2 airtight containers.

These are lovely on their own or they can be enjoyed with some cinnamon tea or with some good ice cream.Yum!

If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files by EMAIL:It is free! Join 907 followers!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Facebook too! :)

Sophies Foodie Files

51 responses to “Rhubarb & almond muffins with cinnamon & nutmeg!

  1. They look super moist! Love the use of kefir in these muffins, Sophie.

  2. Johan says:

    Tasty looking muffins, dear Sophie! Yum Yum Yummmm!
    They are on my to do list, for sure! :)

  3. Sean says:

    Your rhubarb muffins look so delicious, Sophie! :) xxx

  4. lucylox says:

    Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! Yum! :-)

  5. Barbara says:

    Can’t wait to try these, Sophie. I love the use of almond flour here too. Of course, rhubarb is a favorite at my house!

  6. katrina berg says:

    Oh I’m so excited about rhubarb this year and these muffins are the perfect way to start it off! They look so moist and fluffy! Hope you and Peter are well! xo

  7. wow these looks delicious! Super moist.

  8. Liz says:

    Rhubarb muffins are tops in my book :-) This look delish, Sophie.

  9. Katarina says:

    Oh, my! So yummy. I love rhubarb. Have a great weekend!

  10. Perfect timing, I was offered some rhubarb this week :)

  11. apsara says:

    that looks very moist and yummy! I like the glazed look on the muffin top.

  12. afracooking says:

    Yes, spring has arrived! What a great way to celebrat x

  13. mmmarzipan says:

    Loving the rhubarb posts appearing in my reader! These muffins look fab! x

  14. Ooh thanks Sophie, I’ve never used rhubarb in a muffin before…

  15. Norma Chang says:

    That sure is a very moist muffin, local rhubarb should be coming to the market soon.

  16. hotlyspiced says:

    I love rhubarb and how lovely you’re able to get it as a gift from your parents. Your muffins look really moist and delicious. I’m a big fan of rhubarb and always buy it when I see it in the shops – but I’d love to grow my own of course xx

  17. twbarritt says:

    There is nothing better than fresh rhubarb from the garden! Your muffins look fantastic!

  18. Rhubarb, how I’ve missed it so! It’s been so long, I almost completely forgot about it, in fact. Time to start scouring the markets for those ruby red stalks again. I would be delighted to make these muffins my first taste of rhubarb this year. :)

    • Sophie33 says:

      Rhubarb is grown in almost every Belgian garden, Hannah! We are all grown up with it! I used here the normal green-red sort!

  19. Koko says:

    You are the rhubarb queen!! I haven’t seen any rhubarb over here in NZ yet, but I have a whole bag frozen in my freezer at home…sigh. How brilliant to use kefir, Sophie, I have never tried that!

    • Sophie33 says:

      The rhubarb queen,…I like the sound of that, Koko! xxx Kefir, the normal one, the healthy one without added cream is really cool in here! You could use buttermilk instead too but it has a lot of lactose in it, that is why I use Kefir! ;) xxx

  20. Rhubarb and almonds sounds like a great combination Sophie :)

  21. Yum, I love rhubarb – it’s so lovely and tart!

  22. laurasmess says:

    Oh my gosh, yum!!! I adore moist muffins, so that picture where you’ve cut into it is completely drool-worthy! Definitely making these. Love rhubarb! x

  23. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie – love love rhubarb…can’t wait till ours is ready – yum!

  24. So pretty and golden Sophie!1

  25. OnaPona says:

    sounds delicious—-marked for making :-)

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 947 other followers

