Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Vegetarian speedy spinach & ricotta pasta! :) With a vegan option!

on 14/01/2014

This evening, I made this easy speedy tasty ricotta & spinach pasta! I had some leftover ricotta, that I needed to use up so I made this tasty pasta dish! Check it out!

Yum Yum Yummmm!

Yum Yum Yummmm!

Recipe: For 4 big portions

Ingredients:

300 gr light spelt penne

300 gr cleaned, washed, spun dry young spinach leaves

4 tablespoons dark dried raisins, soaked in hot water for 15 minutes, well-drained afterwards

Maldon sea salt

black pepper

188 gr of low-fat ricotta ( This is 3/4 of a pot of 250 gr )/ You can make this vegan by using vegan almond or another vegan ricotta! ;)

3 tablespoons toasted pine nuts/ How to toast your nuts? Place your nuts in a non-stick pan & heat up on low-heat. Watch your nuts often, to prevent burning, shake them up & down into the hot pan & turn them over. After a few minutes, your nuts will get darker brown in colour & your kitchen will smell amazing too! Turn heat off. :) It is that easy!!!!

1 red onion, peeled & finely cut up

2 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & finely cut up

a fruity evoo = extra virgin olive oil

Method:

1. Cook your spelt penne according to your packet instructions. It took me 8 minutes, drain well & keep warm. Set aside. At the same time, in a larger cooking pot, drizzle some fruity evoo & heat up. Add cut up garlic & red onion pieces. Fry until nearly al dente. Season with finely milled black pepper & some sea salt , but not too much because the ricotta that you will add, will have some salt in it! ;) Now, add your spinach leaves & let it wilt into the hotness of the pot. Add hot penne & puffed raisins. Mix well with a larger spoon. Now, off the fire, add 2 big dollops of your ricotta & mix through the pasta mix. Add some more, if you need to. I added in total 3/4 of the pot! Season extra, if needed. I added extra 12 grins of black pepper. You must taste the cheese, spinach, raisins, garlic & red onion too!

2. Divide between your 4 pasta plates & scatter the toasted pine nuts over the middle of each dish, equally divided! Enjoy instantly with loved ones! ;)

Stay Tuned! If you liked this post & want more of them, join 910 followers! Subscribe by email! It is free!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Facebook too! :)

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Mixed pasta with courgettes, mint, garlic & ricotta!

2. Vegetarian sheep’s ricotta rigatoni with spiced oven roasted vegetables!

63 responses to “Vegetarian speedy spinach & ricotta pasta! :) With a vegan option!

  1. I love these kind of pastas any given day and time :).
    I am not a big fan of tomato pasta sauce. Will give ricotta a try for penne..
    Have recently started a liking for ricotta:)

  2. lou says:

    Hoi Sophie;
    This pasta looks easy to prepare and will be very tasty, too. Well done!
    Mamalou

  3. Make Something Mondays says:

    Probably shouldn’t have looked at this an hour before I am going to eat dinner. That looks so good!

  4. aryana0821 says:

    That looks so good :)

  5. katrina berg says:

    This looks amazing Sohpie! Our kids are becoming more interested in white sauces on their pasta (not just red) – hooray! I have not tried ricotta…going to see if my husband will make it this week. Can’t wait! xo

  6. Looks wonderfully delicious!

  7. Laura says:

    Mmmm… Perfect!

  8. Koko says:

    This looks delicious! Ricotta is so tasty with pasta. Have you tried a vegan ricotta? I don’t think I have. This is so fresh and quick to prepare! I might add a bit of yummy lemon zest! I feel like eating this tonight, but the people we are staying with are dairy-free and we don’t have any almond cheese on hand….soon though, I will make this!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Yes, I did try a vegan ricotta but I happen to have a real ricotta in my fridge that I had to use up so,…:)

      Added yummy organic unwaxed lmeon zest in here sounds ideal, Koko!

      Have fun where you are staying! xxx

  9. lucylox says:

    Looks totally divine :-)

  10. Katarina says:

    It looks so good, I love ricotta!

  11. Quick, healthy and delicious! I love it!

  12. Karen says:

    Sophie, your pasta sounds so good. I make sautéed spinach with raisins and pine nuts and love the combination so I can imagine how delicious your dish is.

  13. Oh I love pasta like this and ricotta, which I haven’t had for an age. This looks just the reason to buy some. Thank you!

  14. Hi Sophie, This dish looks absolutely marvelous. I appreciate the taste of ricotta very much, a perfect creamy taste to the pasta, spinach makes it so healthy and the pine-nuts gives that umph! Yummy!

  15. Fig & Quince says:

    Gimme pasta any day! Looks so luscious … yum!

  16. afracooking says:

    I really need to look into ricotta options more. The standard stuff just has too much fat for my liking, And even when I make it myself I still feel it is a too decandent for a weeknight – so your suggestion of vegan options is really interesting.

  17. Great recipe Sophie- Yum, and the pine nuts, just perfect :-)

  18. Oh, looks sooooo good! ;-)

  19. This sounds and looks incredible!

  20. Charlotte says:

    Yum, this looks really nice (and easy), I would never have thought of adding raisins in pasta, I’d like to try this! A little tip to soak up raisins quickly: put them in water, and them you can microwave the raisins in water for 2 minutes, they will soak the water faster

  21. Ali says:

    That looks so tasty, Sophie! Yum!

  22. Georgina says:

    This looks lovely Sophie. Spinach and ricotta is such a wonderful combination. This is definitely one to try!

  23. Sunny says:

    I love the sound and look of this, sounds like a perfect dish to make on a cold Saturday night… running out to get ingredients now – thanks for the inspiration, Sophie and for including a vegan option!! xoxo

  24. gotasté says:

    Sophie, this is such a great dish! one thing that surprise me in this city is that there are a lot more variety of ricotta here then back home. I am so going to try out this delicious recipe soon. Thank you for sharing. Warmly, Danny

  25. ritavegas says:

    Spinach and cheese… What a great combo!! It looks really tasty! In fact,I’ll make it today!! :)

  26. Oh Sophie– this does look so delicious– we love spinach around here. thanks.

  27. lefoodsnob says:

    Yummy – this looks like something I should make using the spinach I have in my fridge!

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,099 other followers

