Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Raw Vegan, Gluten-Free Green smoothies!

on 08/01/2014

This morning, I made these wonderful Raw, Vegan, Gluten-Free Green smoothies! This is my second home-made invented Green smoothy! We drank them as lovely filling breakfast smoothies! Ooh yeahhh,…Check these beauties out! :)

Yummy Raw, Vegan, Gluten-Free Green monsters!

Yummy Raw, Vegan, Gluten-Free Green monsters!

Recipe: For 2 large breakfast smoothies! = 1000 ml = 4 cups!

Ingredients:

500 ml water

3 handfuls fresh rocket leaves ( arugula )

2 large frozen bananas

1 tablespoon of raw maca powder

Method:

1. Take your Vitamix & add all ingredients in this order in it, blend on high & full speed for at least 15 to 30 seconds, using your tamper to push the ingredients into the running blades. Taste! It will taste a bit peppery strong because of the rocket leaves & a bit sweet & smooth because of the frozen bananas. The added maca powder adds a touch of malty flavour!  Pour into lovely smoothy glasses & drink straight away with a big colourful straw! Best enjoyed with a loved one! ;)

These are very nutritious smoothies too! Enjoy them, my beloved friends! ;) xxx

Stay Tuned! If you liked this post & want more of them, join 910 followers! Subscribe by email! It is free!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Facebook too! :)

Sophies Foodie Files

Yummy Raw, Vegan, Gluten-Free Green smoothies-Mix!

Yummy Raw, Vegan, Gluten-Free Green smoothies-Mix!

You might like my other green smoothy recipe:

1. Raw, Vegan, Gluten-Free Green smoothies!

 

46 responses to “Raw Vegan, Gluten-Free Green smoothies!

  1. A wonderful smoothie!

  2. I had never heard arugula called rocket leaves before! But I see why (because of the peppery flavor)! This looks delicious!

  3. Laura says:

    Love these – and the addition of maca makes them super foods!

  4. Belinda says:

    MMMM,…Sophie! Your raw green smoothies look wonderful!! Pretty with those bigger colourful straws too!

  5. Miranda says:

    Yum Yum Yum,…dear Sophie!

  6. Jamie says:

    A friend of mine posted your blog & this tasty smoothy recipe on facebook! I really love exploring your blog! Keep the recipes comin! :)

  7. lou says:

    Hoi Sophie,
    It is a lovely tasty smoothie! Nice presentation, too.
    Mamalou

  8. Sally says:

    Er what’s maca powder? We get loads of lovely fresh local organic rocket here so always looking for something to do with it.

    • Sophie says:

      I put a link in my ingredient list to it but will explain it here too!

      Raw Maca Power is a superfood. Maca is a herbaceous plant native to the high Andean Mountains of Bolivia and Peru. It is one of the only food plants in the world able to thrive at such a high altitude. Maca, and more specifically the root of the plant, has a long history as a superfood.

      The maca root was prized throughout the Incan empire for its adaptogenic-like qualities that enable it 1/ to nourish and balance the body’s delicate endocrine system,
      2/ and to help cope with stress.
      3/ It also energizes naturally, without the jitters and crashes of caffeine,
      4/ and it can aid in reproductive function,
      5/ helping to balance hormones and
      6/ increase fertility.
      7/ It is good for your libido.
      8/ It also has a lot of vitamins in it, like vitamines B1, B2 & C.

      So, start using it & add it to your daily smoothies or vegetable smoothies. I add 1 tablespoon per time. You don’t taste it in my smoothy,….

  9. Liz says:

    especially loving the glasses and straws!

  10. What a wonderful smoothie recipe!

  11. Norma Chang says:

    I too did not know what maca is, thanks for introducing.

  12. Vanessa says:

    Yum! Nice job as usual Sophie. I love that these have arugula in them as I’ve never tried a smoothie with arugula! I’ll have to add some in my next smoothie batch!

  13. Tammy says:

    That is my breakfast at least 5 days a week.

  14. Barbara says:

    Not sure about the arugula, Sophie, but if you say it’s good, I’ll try it.

  15. Sophie this is the perfect recipe for what we all need right now! :D I think I overloaded on sweets and buttery food over the break!

  16. Rika says:

    These are lovely and filling breakfast smoothies – especially in colorful glasses with straws! I’ve never used rocket in my smoothies – does it give a bit of spicy flavor? x Rika

  17. Love the idea of adding rocket to a smoothie!

  18. Oooh – I need to add a handful of arugula to our next smoothie! I’ll bet that peppery bite is wonderful.

  19. Carolyn Jung says:

    Just looking at that makes me feel energized already. ;)

  20. Sarah Kim says:

    Just discovered your blog through another blog, and I absolutely love this! I actually just bought my first blender yesterday, so I’m going to have to try this out!

    Keep up the good work! <3 beautybalancebarre.com :)

  21. Fig & Quince says:

    Beauties!

  22. Koko says:

    Oooh how I am missing my smoothies and juices right now!! It’s been over two weeks without one! Okay that’s a lie…I did manage to buy a fresh pressed juice once. But I brought my NutriBullet with me and soon I hope I have a kitchen to make a lovely smoothie like this in!

  23. uberdish says:

    I love arugula in salads, but have never even thought of making a smoothie using this green. I usually always choose kale, spinach, parsley….gotta try this! Looks yummy and I Iove maca, too!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Yes, it was that I had leftover arugula that I need to use up & I love the peppery flavour it gives so I thought: Why Not? x

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,092 other followers

