Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Vegan, Gluten-free Jerusalem artichokes latkes! A lovely side dish! :)

on 04/01/2014
Tasty Jerusalem artichoked lastkes!

Tasty Jerusalem artichokes latkes!

Last evening, I made these tasty gluten-free & vegan Jerusalem artichokes latkes! I never tasted latkes before nor made them at home!!!! I served this vegan dinner with a sweet potato mash & vegan seitan croquettes, I bought them like that in my bioplanet! They are easy to make in my beloved food processor. I don’t know if you even heard of “Jerusalem artichokes ” before. In America, they are also called ” sunchokes.” In my language, Dutch, they are called “aardperen “ & in French: ” topinambours! ” ;)

These tube like veggies are very underestimated veggies over here in Belgium! But they are so healthy & good for you! It is a root vegetable & looks something like this:

Fresh Jerusalem Artichokes!

Fresh Jerusalem Artichokes!

1. There is nearly no fat in this veggie & it has zero cholesterol!

2. It’s high-quality phyto-nutrition profile comprises of dietary fiber (non-starch carbohydrates), and antioxidants, as well as small proportions of minerals, and vitamins.

3. It is one of the finest source dietary fibers, especially high in inulin, which is a soluble non-starch polysaccharide. The root flesh provides 1.6 mg or 4% of fiber. Inulin is a zero calorie, saccharine, and inert carbohydrate, which does not metabolize inside the human body, and thereby; it can’t be digested the whole way through so you must fart a lot but hey, it is healthy!!!This makes this tuber an ideal sweetener for diabetics and dieters. So inulin is the opposite of insulin.

4. It also helps to reduce constipation problems!

5. It can prevent colon cancers too!

6. The tuber has small amounts of anti-oxidant vitamins such as vitamin C, vitamin A, vitamin E. These vitamins together with flavonoid compound like carotene helps scavenge harmful free radicals, and thereby offers protection from cancers, inflammation and viral cough and cold.

7. Further, Jerusalem artichokes are a very good source of minerals and electrolytes, especially potassium, iron, and copper. 100 g of fresh root has 429 mg or 9% of daily required levels of potassium. Potassium is a heart friendly electrolyte; aids reduce blood pressure and heart rates by countering pressing effects of sodium.

8. 100 g of fresh sunchoke has 3.4 mg or 42.5% of iron, probably the highest amount of iron among the common edible roots and tubers.

9. It also has small levels of some of valuable B-complex group of vitamins such as folate, pyridoxine, pantothenic acid, riboflavin, and thiamine.

Not to mention, they are seasonal at the moment & very tasty too. You can roast them, fry them, mash them to make a purée, make soups of them, fry them sliced up & make latkes out of them. On the bottom of this tasty post, you can find other recipes , I made with them, from my own blog! ;)

A tasty dinner! All vegan & Gluten-Free!

A tasty dinner! All vegan & Gluten-Free!

Recipe: For 5 latkes!

Ingredients:

530 gr fresh Jerusalem artichokes, peeled finely with a vegetable peeler

3 spring onions, cleaned & cut into finer rings, ( green & white parts )

1/4 cup tapioca starch

30 grins of finely milled black pepper

1 teaspoon Maldon sea salt, crushed finely in a pestle & mortar

1 tablespoon of fresh curly parsley

2 flax eggs = 2 tablespoon of ground flaxseed combined with 6 tablespoons of water,  ( whisked well together, leave to rest for 10 minutes, to form a sort of gel-like consistency, to thicken a bit instead of 2 eggs! )

Method:

1. First, place your fine shredder in your food processor & shred your peeled sunchokes finely. Do this with all the peeled Jerusalem artichokes. When this is done, scoop them out in a large bowl & above the dink, squeeze all the juice out of the shreds. Place them on kitchen paper to absorb the remaining liquid. Place back into the bowl. Now, using the S-blade in your food processor, add chopped spring onions & chopped curly parsley & blitz until it finely minced. Add this to shredded artichokes. Add tapioca starch. Mix well & season with 25 grins of black pepper & 1 teaspoon of finely crushed sea salt. Mix well with a spoon & taste! It has to taste fab but you still must taste the artichoke flavour!! That is important!

2. Make your 2 flax eggs. Grind your broken flaxseed into dry container of your Vitamix until it becomes a flour. Use 2 tablespoons & put them in a smaller bowl. Add to this 6 tablespoons of water & mix well. Leave to stand for about 10 minutes to let the flaxseed absorb a bit of the water or until it forms a sort of gel,…This will be used instead of 2 eggs.

When you are going to fry your latkes, add these flax eggs to your mix & mix well with a wooden spoon. Form 5 latkes, not too large & place them on a clean chopping board. Heat a large non-stick pan on higher heat. Pour enough of a fruity evoo in it so that when you fry your latkes , they are sitting half  into the hot oil. Fry 4 latkes at once into your hot oil, for a few minutes per side or until browned on both sides & cooked through! Place them on a clean plate, laid with double kitchen paper to dip of the excess of fat. Dip the top of each latke, also with double kitchen paper. Keep warm. Serve at once with other sides like a sweet potato mash seasoned with Herbamare salt & some black pepper. I also added some heated unsweetened soy milk to it. I fried my vegan GF seitan sausages in that same fruity evoo. Enjoy, my friends! :)

The yummy roasted Jerusalem Artichokes flavour!!

The yummy roasted Jerusalem Artichokes flavour!!

You might like:

1. Delia’s Jerusalem artichokes & carrot soup

2. Sunchokes & fennel soup!

3. Sunchokes with garlic, bay leaf & bacon

4. Vegan rosemary roasted sunchoke wedges with red onion wedges & garlic

If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts 

71 responses to “Vegan, Gluten-free Jerusalem artichokes latkes! A lovely side dish! :)

  1. Deena Kakaya says:

    They looks wonderful x

  2. Georgina says:

    These look delicious Sophie. And I’m really intrigued by your flax eggs, which sound like a really good idea here.

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks, Georgina! I loved them in here too. I thought 2 were too much but my husband stays there were just perfect, on the inside & outside. 😉

  3. sophiazerg says:

    Yum! Sophie, your take on latkes is so great, they look amazing!

  4. foodbod says:

    So interesting, thank you ☺️ I really want to make some latkes!! And now I am inspired to try Jerusalem artichoke too 👍

  5. Laura says:

    Looks like an amazing way to enjoy artichokes! Yum!

  6. Tammy says:

    We love sunchokes!!

  7. Mhmmm….this looks so good! I will have to try to this!

  8. gotasté says:

    I have seen these artichokes in a food program but never get to see them in real life. Didn’t know there are so much goodness in them. What a great recipe Sophie. I love food made in this way and I really want to eat them now. :) …..danny

  9. I’ve ner heard of these before either! They don’t even really look like artichokes, they almost look kind of like ginger root. I had a roommate in college that would always make latkes and they were amazing. She just made plain ones but the flavors you use in yours sound amazing!

  10. afracooking says:

    What a coincidence – you would not believe what I have lying in my fridge – for the first time in years…..Jerusalem artichokes are fabulous! Great recipe! And a very intersting use of Tapioca starch.

    • Sophie33 says:

      When I created them I wanted to make them Gf & vegan so I had to use a Gf flour but starch works great in here… I thought I stil had to use a replacement for eggs to bind them together. X

  11. I have never had Jerusalem artichokes…your latkes look very delicious, Sophie.

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks, Angie. I just created them last night for the very first time with all of these flavours, tapioca starch & flax eggs! it seems that everyone here all loves them. Xxx

  12. Norma Chang says:

    A novel way to use Jerusalem artichokes.

  13. Looks fantastic! I can’t remember the last time I had artichokes – I’ll have to make these next week :)

  14. aryana0821 says:

    They look wonderful ..Thanks for sharing :)

  15. Make Something Mondays says:

    Those look amazing! Like potato pancakes almost… expect healthy!

  16. suzanne says:

    The latkes look wonderful!

  17. Smart use for an uncommon vegetable! I absolutely love Jerusalem artichokes, but they’re rather hard to find around here. I’ve only turned them into creamy soups before, so I’d be thrilled to try something new next time I can hunt them down.

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks so much, dera Hannah! I have also written my other posts using sunchokes, below my post, from my blog so check them out! :)

  18. twbarritt says:

    These look delicious! A great “new twist” on a latke!

  19. Ina gawne says:

    Sophie – these look delicious! I have never tried Jerusalem Artichokes before…very inventive dish!

  20. I love latkes, these rule Sophie! Yum!

  21. uberdish says:

    OMG, I love you for this recipe!! I love Jerusalem artichokes! I am very anxious to try your latkes. I’ve had Jerusalem artichokes roasted and drizzled with lemon juice and, of course, in soups. It’s about time I try cooking them a different way. :)

  22. I must look out for Jerusalem artichokes!

  23. I love the taste of Jerusalem artichokes – this is a perfect way to use them!! :-)

  24. Sophie, they look delicious! I’ve never tried a Jerusalem artichoke before, can you believe it? I’ll have to go search them out.. :)

  25. lefoodsnob says:

    I have always wanted to make latkes – these look delicious!

  26. I cannot keep up with you, Sophie, all these lovely recipes coming out of your kitchen!!
    These latkes look great!!

  27. Oh yum! This is such a cool recipe!

  28. I’ve never tried latkes before but these look delicious, you’ve inspired me to try them!

  29. Koko says:

    I’ve still not tried these lovely Jerusalam Artichokes!! Your latkes look stunning. I am seeing a lot of latkes and fritters here in New Zealand but they are all full of eggs which I don’t really eat. I can’t wait to have my own kitchen to try a vegan version like yours! It’s great to know that the flax eggs works its magic in these. They look sooo yummy!

  30. I can’t wait to make these! They look divine! I love that you add the photos to these fantastic recipes.

  31. Antichoke latkes…a very creative way of cooking! So glad to find your blog with many interesting recipes :D Look forward to your future posts.

  32. dragonlife says:

    We call them kikuimo here in Japan!

  33. dragonlife says:

    Forgot to say I commented from http://shizuokagourmet.com/ that is unless you are interested in fantasy!
    Incidentally, I’m not vegan but it is increasingly getting popular here in Shziuoka, Japan, and tries whenever possible to help vegan friends!

    • Sophie33 says:

      I am not a vegan either! I am an omnivore but my husband & I eat mostly vegan, at least5x/week & the rest we eat fish, game or chicken! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 868 other followers

