Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Vegan wholemeal spelt double coconut banana muffins!

on 15/12/2013
Vegan Double Coconut, wholemeal spelt & banana muffins!

Vegan Double Coconut, wholemeal spelt & banana muffins!

Spelt has 30% more protein than whole meal flour. So, it is good for you! These breakfast muffins contain wholemeal spelt flour, baking powder, 3 very ripe bananas, coconut milk, shredded unsweetened coconut, canola oil, cane sugar, cinnamon & vanilla extract. These are yummy moist muffins.

When I eat one, I am not hungry for 3 + 1/2 hours! So these vegan breakfast muffins are an ideal tasty wholesome breakfast! :)

Recipe: For 13 + 1/2 large muffins

Ingredients:

180 gr wholemeal spelt flour

3 large very ripe bananas, peeled & finely mashed with a fork

2 teaspoons of ground cinnamon

2 teaspoons of baking powder

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract ( I use home-made vanilla extract )

80 ml of canola oil

240 ml of coconut milk

150 gr of shredded unsweetened coconut

100 gr of raw, cane sugar

 Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 190°C ( 374 F) for about 10 minutes.

2. Take a large bowl & add the spelt flour, cinnamon, baking powder. Mix well.

3. In another bowl add mashed up bananas, coconut milk, canola oil, vanilla & sugar. Mix well with a wooden spoon.

4. Add to bowl with dry ingredients. Mix until just joined.

5. Fold in the shredded unsweetened coconut. I use flower pattern silicon baking mats, so I don’t have to grease my filling holes. Fill for 3/4 & place onto a baking sheet in the center of the oven & bake for about 20 minutes until golden & cooked trough. Test with a sewing pin. Take out of oven & place silicon mats on a wire rack to cool down a bit. Leave the muffins inside the silicon mats for about 5 minutes, then take them out & turn them over so that the top of your muffin looks as a flower pattern. Place them on a wire rack to cool down completely. The flower muffins will shine a bit on top. That is typical for silicon baking.

6. When cool, store in a cookie box.

If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free! RSS Feed RSS – Posts

38 responses to “Vegan wholemeal spelt double coconut banana muffins!

  1. Saskia (1=2) says:

    Delicious! Love new ways to use spelt flour, and I always have a few over-ripe bananas lurking about. Hey, great muffin mold!

  2. Stacey says:

    I love muffins.

  3. These look amazing! Definitely going to try and make them soon. :)

  4. I need at least 2 for the breakfast!

  5. Karen says:

    Your muffins sound like a terrific way to start the day. I love your muffin molds…the make such a pretty mold.

  6. Sara says:

    Such cute muffins. I love spelt! I substitute it often for regular flour. I am curious to try these with the coconut milk too.

  7. These sound like they’s have a great flavor– warm muffins in the morning. perfect

  8. Rika says:

    Glad to see the ingredient spelt flour, it is also a very common ingredient in Europe. I keep seeing vegan pastries and goods made with spelt flour ;) and I wish U.S. would incorporate more of that! I would eat 2 muffins for brunch, they look delicious and filling!

  9. Koko says:

    Tasty and wholesome breakfast idea indeed…I could go for one of these right now! You know how I love spelt flour. You make these look so beautiful. Do you top them with anything? I always like a little butter on my muffins!! Or coconut oil!

  10. Oh My Gosh!
    For one who prides themselves on healthy eating knowledge and eating healthy, I have to hold my hands up and admit I had never heard for Spelt…The shame…the shame… :P
    Sophie my friend, this looks fantastic, your husband must have a smile as wide as mine, with all the great food we are served. ;)
    Have a great week.

    PS: Please remember to send me a message to inform me about the sale of your book, if and when you get it published. :)

  11. hotlyspiced says:

    What a pretty pattern on your muffins! I love spelt flour too and always buy spelt bread and pasta – so much better for you. The combination of banana with coconut would be wonderful xx

  12. You know I love these!

  13. Norma Chang says:

    Love that you have quite a bit of banana in the muffin, that surely should make it very moist and full of banana flavor.

  14. These look good Sophie!!! :)

  15. Liz says:

    Sophie–you are a blogging maniac ;-) You’ve been busy! Loving all you’ve done. And you have such pretty baking pans.

  16. These sound so tasty! I would love to try this recipe out some time!

  17. Liz says:

    What a lovely combination of ingredients, Sophie. Everything I love eating and healthy too. Have a wonderful week!

  18. Delicious and healthy Sophie! Love the mix of banana and coconut :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 869 other followers

