Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Gluten-free triple quinoa bread!

on 11/12/2013
A Georgous Gluten-free triple quinoa bread! :) Yeahhh!

A Georgous Gluten-free triple quinoa bread! :)
Yeahhh!

A few days ago, my husband Peter made this tasty Gluten-free triple quinoa bread,...It is a very special Gluten-free bread that includes 3 forms of quinoa,…ooh yeah! There is quinoa flour, quinoa flakes & the bread is topped with red quinoa,…It is smashing in flavour combined with some cheddar cheese on it or some elderflower jam. This bread would also be great food gift! :) This bread is not vegan because of the eggs & buttermilk in here! ;) This is a very nourishing bread that is very dense but very tasty too! :)

This ideal tasty Gluten-free qunoa bread would be an ideal food gift! :)

This ideal tasty Gluten-free quinoa bread would be an ideal food gift! :)

Recipe: For 1 medium-sized bread

Ingredients:

* Dry ingredients:

220 gr organic quinoa flour

250 gr quinoa flakes

4 teaspoons coconut sugar

1 teaspoon + 1/2 teaspoon Maldon sea salt, crushed

1 teaspoon + 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon red uncooked quinoa: to top the bread with!

* Wet ingredients:

4 tablespoons water

350 ml buttermilk

2 eggs, beaten

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 190°C ( 375 F ) for 10 minutes. In a large bowl, add dry ingredients together except the red quinoa. That is meant for topping the bread! This means quinoa flour, quinoa flakes, coconut sugar, sea salt & baking powder. Mix well with a larger spoon. In another bowl, whisk buttermilk, eggs & water through each other. Mix well. Now, gradually, whisk your wet ingredient mix into your dry ingredient mix. It will be a very moist dough!!!

2. I use silicon baking forms, so you don’t have to oil the tin beforehand, so pour your moist dough into your silicon baking form & scatter your red uncooked quinoa all over the top of your bread! Place into the center of your hot oven & bake for about 60 to 70 minutes until the bread has been cooked through, is golden brown & sounds hollow when you tap on the bottom. Take out of the oven & let it sit into the silicon baking form for about 10 minutes before removing the silicon baking form. Let the bread cool down on a wire rack!  When cold, enjoy with a good slice of cheddar cheese, some lavender honey or whatever you like! ;) I keep my bread in a bread or larger cookie tin!

If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free! RSS Feed RSS – Posts

61 responses to “Gluten-free triple quinoa bread!

  1. That looks really yummy (and healthy as well!) :D

  2. A wholesome quick bread, Sophie.

  3. hotlyspiced says:

    I would love to try this. It’s so difficult to find a decent GF bread. And this would be very good for you too with the quinoa. I love the sound of the elderflower jam! xx

  4. Norma Chang says:

    Great looking bread Peter, healthy, delicious but best of all easy to make thanks for sharing.

  5. Bravo to Peter! That bread looks amazing, and sounds super healthy! XOXO, Angie.

  6. This is superb! Absolutely love it! Thanks Sophie!

  7. I love recipes that appear healthy enough that I don’t feel bad while eating all of it at once :)

  8. I have never had quinoa in a bread. I cannot even imagine how it may taste or its consistency. Since I do enjoy plain cooked quinoa a lot, I’m sure this bread must be wonderful too.

  9. Katarina says:

    This looks yummy and I bet it’s delicious!

  10. Quinoa flour! I’d never heard of it before – great stuff Sophie. If I can get hold of some (or grind my own) I’ll try it!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Yeah, Phil but I also use quinoa flakes & red quinoa on top of the bread. I buy my organic quinoa flour in a food Health shop. 😊

  11. this recipe will be very useful for some of our gluten-free friends! thanks!

  12. Klausbernd says:

    Dear Sophie,
    great! I bake my own bread for more than 30 years (mixture rye and wheat with sour dough) and was looking for a kind of different, just for a change. I`ll try your recipe – next week, as now I have so much bread left.
    We wish you a GREAT evening
    Klausbernd and his very busy Bookfayries Siri and Selma
    That`s about my bread :-)
    http://kbvollmarblog.wordpress.com/2011/12/05/eigenbrotler/

  13. Sally says:

    I’m not into gluten-free bread but using quinoa in a loaf really appeals. Great job Sophie

  14. boeddhamum says:

    Your quinoa bread looks great Sophie, soft and tender:-)
    Are you back to eating gluten free?

  15. Liz says:

    wow–that intrigues me very much. Love how “bread” isn’t always what we know of as bread anymore. (hope that made sense) The rules are changing!

  16. lou says:

    Hello Sophie,
    Well done to Peter. A few days ago I tasted that famous bread. It was divine!
    Mamalou

  17. Carolyn Jung says:

    This looks like it would be perfect slathered with citrus marmalade. I’d wake up to this any day of the week.

  18. Koko says:

    Wow Peter! This bread looks amazing…I don’t think you could pack anymore quinoa goodness into this if you tried! I love it!

  19. Ina gawne says:

    Sophie – this bread looks amazing! Love the quinoa – so healthy too!

  20. Tammy says:

    This looks delicious Sophie! love it.

  21. Sophie this bread looks delicious…I can’t wait to try making it!

    j

  22. Oh gosh this looks delicious!

  23. katrina berg says:

    Way to go Peter! The buttermilk is such a nice touch…it turned out beautifully!

  24. I have been meaning to try quinoa for baking. Thanks for the idea. Also, I really like your photography template. Do you mind if I ask you which one you use. Thanks, Gluten Free Social Savvy

  25. Tammy says:

    Somehow I missed this one earlier!! So glad you did the top ten wrap up so that I could find it.

  26. evie says:

    Would this be suitable for sandwiches? I have made a quinoa quick bread before that didn’t rise at all and was about 1 inch tall after baked. I have been searching hard for a starch-free bread recipe that is more like a loaf than flat bread. I love quinoa, however, quinoa flour is quite expensive. Thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 870 other followers

