Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Vegetarian spiced stew with quorn & a garden update!

on 09/07/2013
A delightful mixed veggies, coconut, quorn stew, all spiced up!

A delightful mixed veggies, coconut, quorn stew, all spiced up!

Yesterday evening, I made this divine one pot dinner! This isn’t vegan because I used quorn in here. Quorn is a vegetarian substitute for meat. It is made from a myco protein from a plant-based origin & it is derivates from mushrooms. It has a fungus protein in it & is very healthy, has a low cholesterol level ( less than 3% ) & is rich in protein & fibers. In this brand: Quorn Tm, it also has egg protein in it, so it isn’t vegan at all.

Vegetarian low-fat & full of fiber & protein quorn!

Quorn: Vegetarian, low-fat & full of fiber & protein!!!!!

I don’t know if there is another quorn brand that hasn’t got this ingredient in their quorn! The quorn bites are like smaller tofu blocks & white grey in colour. You need to fry them or fry them & boil them in a sauce for a better flavour. On the package they say, that you have to add them to your favourite sauce & simmer them for about 12 minutes. you don’t need 12 minutes if you sauté them first in olive oil with spices or without spices. This is a wonderful one pot dinner with spices like mild curry powder, half of a green chili pepper with seeds & lovely reduced coconut milk! Yum!

MMM! Tuck in!

MMM! Tuck in!

Recipe: For 3 persons

Ingredients:

200 gr runner beans, cleaned, top & tailed & cut into 2 cm pieces

2 sweet potatoes, peeled & cut into 2 to 3 cm pieces

1 young green courgette, cleaned, cut into smaller rounds, each cut up

5 spring onions, cleaned, cut into smaller rounds ( white & green parts )

2 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & finely cut up

1 green paprika ( bell pepper ), cleaned, seeds & white bits removed, cut into smaller strips

1 piece of fresh ginger, 8 cm long & 2.5 cm thick, peeled & cut up finely

1/2 green chili pepper, seeds kept & cut up finely

juice of 1/2 lime

1 can of good coconut milk, opened, the 2 parts of the coconut milk,well joined with a whisk!

200 gr = 1 packet of quorn neutral pieces

some Maldon sea salt

1 teaspoon of mild curry power + 3 teaspoons = 4 teaspoons in total!!!

a fruity evoo

Method:

1. Boil your runner beans & sweet potato chunks in salted water until nearly al dente. It took me 6 minutes. Drain well. I did this 30 minutes before making my dinner.

2. Take a large cooking pot, type Creuset & heat up on medium-high & add drizzles of oil. When hot, add cut up ginger, garlic, spring onions & cut up green chili pepper. Also, add 1 teaspoon of mild curry powder & stir to combine. Fry for about 4 minutes & lower your heat if you need to. Pour a few more drizzles of that evoo & add cut up courgette, pepper strips & quorn pieces. Add also 3 teaspoons of mild curry powder & stir around the quorn pieces & rest of the veggies. Fry for about 4 to 5 minutes until quorn pieces are browned & fried on all sides & are yellow from the curry powder & the courgette & green pepper strips are nearly ready. no, pour the coconut milk all over the veggie mix & reduce for about 1/3. Now, add cooked runner bean & cooked sweet potato pieces. Stir everything carefully round into your hot Creuset pan & reduce the sauce by 1/3. This will take about 5 to 7 minutes on medium high fire. Place the fitting lid on, if needed. After 5 minutes of cooking, check the sauce consistency. My sauce was ready & check the seasoning. I add a few pinches of sea salt & stirred it in. tasted again & it was just right. Serve instantly with a loved one & enjoy yourself doing that! :) MMM!

Now, for something completely different, a new garden update!

What has been happening in my garden lately?

Everything is in bloom or it getting there anyway,…!! :) Check it all out!

My home grown figs are getting riper each day!

My home grown figs are getting riper each day!

And ven more figs,...!

And even more figs,…!

My walled hydrangea plant is doing very well!

My walled hydrangea plant is doing very well!

Flowers are starting to pop up!

Flowers are starting to pop up from my hydrangea super big plant!

What else do I hear you say? Well,…

My white roses are in full bloom! They scent amazing!

My white roses are in full bloom! They scent amazing!

My pink wild roses are doing extremely well, this year! Just georgous!

You see!

You see?

Pink wild roses! What do you prefer? The roses or the lovely nail polish??? ;)

Pink wild roses!
What do you prefer? The roses or the lovely nail polish??? ;) Ha!

My home grown pumpkin plant, that I put in a large container, I put it in the ground, a while ago, before the first flowers were there & it is doing so much better now. The 2 first pumpkin balls have formed,…yeah! It is growing bigger each day,… Yes! I have placed a smaller container of edible flowers besides it. I grew them also from seed!

My home grown pumpkin plant!

My home grown pumpkin plant!

Lovely, hey?

Lovely, hey?

My thornless blackberry tree!

My thornless blackberry tree!

Can you spot the bumble bee in the next pictures?

P1210307watermark

Can you see it?

Can you see it?

That’s about all, folks! I hope you loved my recent garden pictures & my tasty 1 pot meal, of course! :) Bye for now!

Stay Tuned! If you liked this post & want more of them, join 910 email followers! Subscribe by email! It is free!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Facebook too! :)

Sophies Foodie Files

71 responses to “Vegetarian spiced stew with quorn & a garden update!

  1. Tammy says:

    Garden’s looking good Sophie!

  2. Our pumpkin plant is doing well, but it hasn’t started crawling yet. Thanks for inspiring me!

  3. Lovely! Your garden is going so well :)

  4. Katarina says:

    I have never tried quorn. Your quorn dish looks tasty. What a great garden you have.

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks so much, Katarina! I think you should try it! :) Thanks about the garden! It is a city garden though but just big enough for me to handle because I am the gardener! ;) x

  5. I don’t think I ever had quorn…the veggie stew looks very tasty.
    You have a very productive garden!

    • Sophie33 says:

      You should really try it, Angie & I know that you would love this tasty dinner too! :) The garden is indeed in bloom, …Next up are my tomato plants,…see next post!

  6. That looks so yummy!!

  7. wish you luck within your gardening Sophie,

  8. Healthy, but delicious I bet! Garden looks like it’s coming along nicely Sophie.

    • Sophie33 says:

      Yes, yes, the stew was superb, Phil, thanks! :) The garden is indeed blooming but also a lot of har work though! ;)

  9. Saskia (1=2) says:

    This looks lovely Sophie. Have never cooked with quorn before (so nice to read a bit of Dutch too *sigh*). The mushroom base sounds like it would be a tastier alternative to tofu. Really gorgeous garden especially those lovely plump figs!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Yes the quorn is lovely in texture but it does taste nice but I don’t know with what I should compair it with. It is a nice soft flavour, but way better then tofu, I think! :) I hope the figs get ripe soon! :)

  10. Liz says:

    those are great garden photos, Sophie. You are a busy lady! (also, I love the blue nail polish–very nice :-) )

    Does quorn taste like tofu? Chicken? Very firm mushrooms? Is it mostly about texture? It all looks delish!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Yes the quorn is lovely in texture but it does taste nice but I don’t know with what I should compair it with. It is a nice soft flavour, but way better then tofu, I think!
      It id the textue that is fimer then tofu. Thanks so much, sweet Lize! :) xxx

  11. Bernice says:

    The vegetarian stew sounds wonderful! Plus I love your pictures of your gardens – so wonderful! Plus great nail polish color. :)

  12. Your garden photos are gorgeous! It looks like all of your plants are doing well :) love the one pot dinner idea -it looks tasty.

  13. katrina berg says:

    It looks wonderful Sophie, and I’m going to keep an eye out for the quorn…never had it ;). Your garden is growing beautifully, I do love those nails! xo

  14. Beautiful garden, Sophie! Your figs, berries, flowers… yes, I see the bumblebee!
    Today, you taught me about ‘quorn’. I wonder if I can find them in our specialty stores. Thank you! :D

  15. gotasté says:

    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sorry Sophie, I do this everytime I see fresh figs! I love them so much but it’s so hard to get them over here. I love the use of lime and coconut milk in this recipe. Are you able to get fresh grated coconut to squeeze out the milk over there?

    • Sophie33 says:

      Hahahahahahahahahhaahahha, Danny! :) x
      It is difficult to find fresh coconut but we can find them in specialized African stores.

  16. Quorn? So exotic :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  17. Ina gawne says:

    Sophie this sounds scrumptious. I have never heard of Quorn before. Love the garden pictures too!

  18. Jim Brennan says:

    love both, nails and the roses

  19. Liz says:

    This quorn sounds delicious, I don’t know if I can get it here. Also your garden looks very nice, and the wild roses and the nails look great! I’ll see if I can get some quorn to try!!! Thanks and have a wonderful week!!!

  20. Too bad the quorn isn’t vegan – this looks delicious! And you’re garden is lovely Sophie! I wish I had more outdoor space for a garden. Celeste :)

  21. Veggiewitch says:

    OMgosh! This is gorgeous! I’m not sure if we can get Quorn here yet, but I will look. :0)

    Your garden is stunning! I hope ours will look as lovely. ❤

    • Sophie33 says:

      Hey Denise! Long time no hear! I hope all is well! :) I missed you on my blog! ;) xxx

      I am so hopping over to your blog now! :) xxx

  22. redrice57 says:

    Great garden shots – still not sure about quorn I am afraid – I have eaten it several times – it is ok I guess if you have to eat it – but being a carnivore it just tastes wrong. Sure the recipe tastes good though in your hands! I’d eat it!

  23. Love the garden pictures!! Those figs are beautiful and you’re on your way to baskets full of berries! hooray!

  24. Bashar A. says:

    You’re lucky to have a garden where you grow some of your fruits & vegetables…. I just bought a house and I plan on having a little garden in it, I don’t have much space but its a lot better than a balcony :)

    • Sophie33 says:

      Planning a garden is a big & important thing, Bashar! Congrats on the purchase of a house: yeah!! xxx Before we bought our house, we lived in an appartment for 10 years with nobalcony, nothing! :(

  25. I popped by to see your lovely garden Sophie and I’m leaving with a nice spicy stew and fragrant images.

    Congrats on the pumpkins. It looks like you have a lot of female flowers.

    Thank you so much for sharing…

  26. Your garden looks amazing Sophie!! :D I’m so impressed with your figs too-I’d love a fig tree in my garden-actually I don’t have a garden :P

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks, sweet Lorraine! No garden, oooh no! But even if you have a little patio or balcony, you still can grow a lot of veggies, herbs & fruits in containers!

  27. Tandy says:

    I don’t think we get quorn here. It looks as if you will have an abundance of figs!

  28. May we trade so I can get some fresh figs? Please, Please, Please! :)

  29. Thomas says:

    Hi I missed this post. Sorry !!! Love your garden looks beautiful and bee shot ! Beautiful coloured nails too ;) x

  30. omg! come and fix my disaster of a garden!! Love your lush garden, Sophie :)

  31. Amber says:

    I’m curious, what does quorn taste like on its own? I like the stew that you’ve made using it!

  32. The stew looks great and so do your nails! ;) It looks like a beautiful garden!

  33. Koko says:

    I haven’t tried quorn before! This spiced stew looks so yummy, Sophie, all your posts that I’m catching up on are just making me so hungry!!

    Your garden is stunning! It’s just beautiful! I envy your fig trees….I’d love to grow figs in my garden!!

    PS. Your nail polish is awesome!! I love that colour!

  34. laurasmess says:

    Beautiful post!! Your garden is so, so amazing. I stayed at a holiday house a few months ago that had a fig tree. The owner just let us pick whatever we liked! I miss it now though. My tiny balcony herb garden is so boring in comparison. Beautiful recipe too. Thanks for sharing! xx

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 922 other followers

