Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Vegan carob banana bread!

on 08/02/2013
A stunning vegan carob spelt flour banana bread!A great & tasty food gift too! :)

A stunning vegan carob spelt flour banana bread!
A great & tasty food gift too! :)

Today, I made this tasty vegan carob banana bread. I didn’t add any nuts because I didn’t want to use them. We can’t buy carob chips over here so I used carob powder instead. If you can get carob chips, you could use these 2 types of carob for more carob power! Normally, I would use 1/3 cup carob chips & 1/3 cup carob powder! :) I like its taste & I don’t get any headaches this way! :)

Vegan deliciousness!

Vegan deliciousness!

Recipe: for 1 vegan carob banana bread, for 9 normal slices

This is not a sweet carob banana bread but it tastes just right: Great as a tasty breakfast too! ;)

Ingredients:

3/4 cup powdered coconut blossom sugar

1/2 cup vegan butter, at room temperature

3 medium very ripe bananas, mashed well with a fork

2 cups light organic spelt flour

1  teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoons aluminium-free baking powder

1/3 cup carob powder

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon Maldon sea salt flakes, crushed

1/4 cup silken tofu

2 teaspoons vanilla extract/ I use home-made

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 180° C ( 350 F ) for about 10 minutes. I always use a fan oven. Adjust your oven to the right temperature!!!

2. In your Kenwood, add the K-paddle. In your bowl, add vegan butter & sugar. Cream together. Scrape the sides too. Add mashed bananas, silken tofu, cinnamon, carob powder, vanilla & mix until well combined.

3. In a large bowl, sift spelt flour, baking soda & baking powder. Add the crushed sea salt flakes. Mix well with a large spoon.

4. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients in your Kenwood bowl. Mix good until it all comes together.

5. I always use silicon baking materials. You don’t have to grease silicon baking materials!! Never! Fill your silicon bread loaf tin with all the batter.  Push the batter down into the tin with the help of a spoon. Place your silicon loaf tin on a Silpat for stability & place onto an oven rack. Shake a bit with the bread tin to shake off any air bubbles. Smooth the surface of the bread batter. Place into the hot oven & bake for about 30 to 40 minutes.

I tested mine after 25 minutes with a small pin. Prick a small hole in the center of the banana bread & test. If the pin is clean, the bread is cooked through. Mine needed an extra few minutes. Do the pin test again. The bread was okay!  My banana bread took 32 minutes to cook. With oven gloves on, take the oven rack out of the oven & place on wire rack to cool off a bit. Leave the bread into the silicon baking tin for about 10 minutes. This will give a lovely shine on the outside of your carob banana bread. After 10 minutes, you can easily take the bread out of the tin & carefully flip the bread over. Place them on wire rack to cool down completely. Store in cake boxes. Enjoy, my lovely ones! ;)

Stay Tuned! If you liked this post & want more of them, join 915 email followers! Subscribe by email! It is free!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Facebook too! :)

Sophies Foodie Files

Yum Yum Yum!Vegan carob spelt banana bread!

Yum Yum Yum!
Vegan carob spelt banana bread!

You might like:

1.Vegan individualized spelt banana Bundt breads!

2. Vegan carob cranberry fudge brownies!

72 responses to “Vegan carob banana bread!

  1. Liz says:

    looks good–always fun to find new banana bread recipes to try. Curious–what is coconut blossom sugar? Can look it up, too. Your recipes are always a little bit out there (for me as I don’t do much with vegan) but you always make them look so appealing and fun:-)

    • Sophie33 says:

      Coconut blossom sugar is an alternative sweetener. It is beet sugar-free. It is also called Gula Java Brut. This is 100% unsweetened coconut blossom sugar. It is slighty brown in colour. It has a lower glycemic index than agave. It’s GI index is 35. Agave is 40. It also has a lot of minerals and vitamins.

      Gula Java is coconut blossom sugar from Java. Harvested by tapers high in the coconut trees, the sweet nectar from the coconut blossom is a cherished resource. Above the log fire, the nectar slowly changes into a delicious, unrefined rich sugar as it is gently stirred in the pan, allowing you to enjoy its sweetness and soft caramel flavour at any time of the day. This is just powdered coconut sugar. I can buy it like this in my oragnic food health shop.

      But it isn’t as sweet as normal sugar. It is great in cobbler’s, in crumbles, in cakes, in desserts, etc. You can also use it in savoury dishes.
      I made a few recipes with it and I love it. It is also great in unsweetened yoghurt,… it adds a nice crunch.

      You can find it in many recipes of mine. I mostly use this type of good sugar that isntn’t bas beet sugar! Here is a tasty recipe of mine: http://sophiesfoodiefiles.wordpress.com/2010/10/15/sophies-healthy-gluten-free-and-sugar-free-banana-and-almond-butter-cake-with-dark-chocolate-chips/
      Enjoy, Liz!

  2. woodentaste says:

    Always a pleasure to came back to your site and applaud your technique full of plethora of very suitable teachings. Many thanks Sophie.

  3. Britta says:

    YUM! Just like all of your recipes, this one looks so delicious! I love baking with spelt flour for some reason – so good :)

  4. Norma Chang says:

    I was going to ask about powdered coconut blossom sugar too, thanks for the info. Your banana bread sure looks delicious.

  5. ziabaki says:

    Sophie!! You are making me droooooool!!! Stop it!!

  6. Katarina says:

    Looks and sounds delicious!

  7. dumb77 says:

    Inspiring again…got to reblog.

  8. dumb77 says:

    Reblogged this on Dumb Art.

  9. scott2608 says:

    Looks great, but what is vegan butter?

  10. gotasté says:

    What a beautiful loaf. I love banana bread and would love to try this version.

  11. Candy says:

    looks delicious uummmm :-)

  12. lou says:

    Hello love,
    It looks amazing! I would like to taste some slices of it. Your the best.
    Mamalou

  13. lucylox says:

    ooh, i bet that bread makes an awesome breakfast :-)

  14. Ally says:

    Yum! This looks more exciting than my regular banana bread. I have never tried carob in banana bread but it sounds like a great idea. I love spelt flour and coconut sugar.
    I am going to make this next time I replenish my supply of spelt flour.
    I hope you are well :)

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks so much, dear Ally! You must try carob powder. It is so versatile to use too, in pancake batter, in yoghurt , in cookies & cakes instead of vegan chocolate! I love using white organic light spelt flour. I use it a lot!

  15. Ina Gawne says:

    Looks delicious Sophie – banana bread is such comfort food! We can now get coconut sugar at our local Costco store – cheap! yeahhh!

  16. Tammy says:

    Hmm, the second post that I’ve read this morning that is using spelt flour. I think I need to venture out and try some.

  17. Jim Brennan says:

    Now that is the perfect sight to wake to in the morning. Toasted!

  18. Bernice says:

    This looks wonderful!!

  19. katrina berg says:

    What a wonderful idea: tofu in banana bread…thx so much beautiful!

  20. hotlyspiced says:

    It’s a shame you can’t buy carob chips. I would have thought they would be readily available. However, carob powder seems to be able to produce a great looking loaf xx

  21. Koko says:

    I love banana bread!! Coconut sugar is one of my favourite sweeteners to use!! I would eat this for breakfast ;-) and lunch…and dinner…!!!!!

  22. Another new ingredient–coconut blossom sugar! I Iearn a new one every time I read your blog! You are amazing…

    • Sophie33 says:

      Yes, but I use it now for 1 year,…
      Coconut blossom sugar is an alternative sweetener. It is beet sugar-free. It is also called Gula Java Brut. This is 100% unsweetened coconut blossom sugar. It is slighty brown in colour. It has a lower glycemic index than agave. It’s GI index is 35. Agave is 40. It also has a lot of minerals and vitamins.

      Gula Java is coconut blossom sugar from Java. Harvested by tapers high in the coconut trees, the sweet nectar from the coconut blossom is a cherished resource. Above the log fire, the nectar slowly changes into a delicious, unrefined rich sugar as it is gently stirred in the pan, allowing you to enjoy its sweetness and soft caramel flavour at any time of the day. This is just powdered coconut sugar. I can buy it like this in my oragnic food health shop.

      But it isn’t as sweet as normal sugar. It is great in cobbler’s, in crumbles, in cakes, in desserts, etc. You can also use it in savoury dishes.
      I made a few recipes with it and I love it. It is also great in unsweetened yoghurt,… it adds a nice crunch.

      You can find it in many recipes of mine. I mostly use this type of good sugar that isntn’t bas beet sugar! Here is a tasty recipe of mine: http://sophiesfoodiefiles.wordpress.com/2010/10/15/sophies-healthy-gluten-free-and-sugar-free-banana-and-almond-butter-cake-with-dark-chocolate-chips/

  23. Bashar A. says:

    Looks really delicious :)

  24. Ali says:

    This looks great, Sophie!

  25. afracooking says:

    This bread looks beautiful! I will go hunt for coconut blossom sugar – have never even heard of it before.

    • Sophie33 says:

      This is a great beet sufar alternative & it has a lower GI index then honey. It caramelizes everything really well like in crumbles, etc. I can buy it just like that or in a powdered form for easier use. I buy mine in my local bioplanet shop or organic food health store!

  26. I never knew carob could be used in such an enticing recipe :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  27. what is coconut blossom sugar?
    never heard about it..
    palm sugar ?

    • Sophie33 says:

      It is sugar from the coconot blossoms.

      Coconut blossom sugar is an alternative sweetener. It is beet sugar-free. It is also called Gula Java Brut. This is 100% unsweetened coconut blossom sugar. It is slighty brown in colour. It has a lower glycemic index than agave. It’s GI index is 35. Agave is 40. It also has a lot of minerals and vitamins.

      Gula Java is coconut blossom sugar from Java. Harvested by tapers high in the coconut trees, the sweet nectar from the coconut blossom is a cherished resource. Above the log fire, the nectar slowly changes into a delicious, unrefined rich sugar as it is gently stirred in the pan, allowing you to enjoy its sweetness and soft caramel flavour at any time of the day. This is just powdered coconut sugar. I can buy it like this in my oragnic food health shop.

      But it isn’t as sweet as normal sugar. It is great in cobbler’s, in crumbles, in cakes, in desserts, etc. You can also use it in savoury dishes.
      I made a few recipes with it and I love it. It is also great in unsweetened yoghurt,… it adds a nice crunch.

      You can find it in many recipes of mine. I mostly use this type of good sugar that isntn’t bas beet sugar! Here is a tasty recipe of mine: http://sophiesfoodiefiles.wordpress.com/2010/10/15/sophies-healthy-gluten-free-and-sugar-free-banana-and-almond-butter-cake-with-dark-chocolate-chips/

  28. Madison says:

    I really really like this sound of this! Banana bread is my favourite :)

  29. juliana says:

    Oh Sophie, as I am sipping on my morning cup of coffee I so wish I would like to have a slice of this delicious looking banana bread. Looks awesome!

  30. How funny, I just made banana bread too! Mine didn’t have carob in it though :(

  31. Thomas says:

    yummy looking… :)

  32. twbarritt says:

    What a lovely color – this bread would make my breakfast a very happy time!

  33. What a delicious recipe! This looks like a must try! I can’t wait to use the carob, it would be my first time trying it!!

  34. Amber says:

    What a fantastic banana bread Sophie! You have once again WOW-ed me with your baking creativity!

  35. Tandy says:

    I have never tried carob or chocolate with banana before :)

  36. I love banana bread! And this looks delicious.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 931 other followers

