Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Vegan & GF sage walnut pesto pasta with roasted butternut pumpkin cubes!

on 26/09/2012

This evening, I made this stunning & appetizing vegan & gluten-free pasta dish! I never made sage & walnut pesto before, let alone vegan so I invented this stunning vegan pesto. I used GF penne pasta to make it GF too. I felt I was lacking something so I added roasted sage & butternut pumpkin cubes! Check it out, my friends! It is easy to prepare, make & is great for entertaining too! I made this dinner from scratch in 35 minutes! You don’t miss the cheese in this pesto! I also used some great & tasty organic walnut oil as my secret ingredient! ;)

You taste a lemony twist in this stunning roasted walnuts & sage pesto & the oven-roasted butternut pumpkin bits are more sweeter & this combo is a perfect match! Yummy too!

A divine & tasty vegan sage & roasted walnut pesto pasta with sage-roasted butternut pumpkin bits!

The Vegan sage & roasted walnuts pesto before stirring it into the hot GF penne!

Ready to attack!

Recipe: For about 1 cup & a bit more

Ingredients:

** For the vegan sage & roasted walnut pesto:

1 cup walnut pieces, toasted  (in a dry non-stick pan for about 5 minutes on low fire, just to toast them & you can smell their lovely aroma. Watch the nuts carefully, you don’t want to burn them! )

1/3 cup of  sage leaves, firmly pressed into it

1 fat clove of garlic, peeled & finely cut up

2 teaspoons of fresh lemon juice

2/4 cups of organic walnut oil = 1/4 cup + 1/4 cup of walnut oil!!

10 grins of black pepper, finely milled

1 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt flakes, crushed

** For the rest: pasta & roasted sage & butternut pumpkin bits:

250 gr Gluten-free & vegan penne pasta ( You need this penne or another form of pasta because the pesto will get into the pasta tubes & that’s what you want!

306 gr butternut pumpkin: peeled, threads & pits removed, cut into bite-sized cubes

a fruity olive oil/ I used Carbonell, my favourite fruity EVOO ( Spanish ):  3 to 4 tablespoons

5 sage leaves, cleaned & torn into pieces

black pepper, finely milled: 10 grins

1 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt flakes: crushed

Method:

1. First make your pesto. Take a food processor or your Vitamix. I used my Vitamix, of course! Place the toasted walnuts, sage leaves, cut up garlic, lemon juice, black pepper & the sea salt, in this order into your machine. Add 1/4 cup of the walnut oil & mix, using the tamper in the fitting lid, until it is to your liking, on full speed & full power. I love nearly all mixed up. I added another 1/4 cup of walnut oil to make my pesto more smooth & lovely! So , in total I used 2/4 cups! Taste! It has to taste fantastic. You can taste the roasted walnuts, the sage & the lemony fresh twist.

2. Preheat your oven to 200°C ( 400 F ). I always use a fan oven. Adjust your oven to the right temperature, for 10 minutes. Boil water to cook your pasta. Take a large oven baking dish, non-stick too. Place all of your bite-sized butternut cubes in it, in 1 layer. Add black pepper, sea salt flakes & torn sage leaves. Add 3 to 4 tablespoons of that fruity EVOO. With clean hands, mingle everything well together. Wash your hands. Place in the middle of the hot oven & roast for about 15 to 20 minutes, depending, until roasted & cooked through. Check the oven often to prevent burning. Lower the temperature if you need to. My dish was ready after 17 minutes. Turn oven off. In the meantime, you have cooked your pasta according to the packet instructions.

3. Drain pasta well. Spoon the pesto into a lovely little pot. Serve cooked pasta into 2 lovely pasta plates. Spoon 3 to 4 teaspoons of the sage & walnut pesto in the middle of each pasta. Mix well with a spoon so that the pesto is well into the penne-tubes. Now, scatter the sage-roasted butternut cubes all over your pasta plate. Enjoy instantly with a loved one! ;) MMM!

My organic walnut oil!

Stay Tuned! if you liked this post & want more of them, join 924 email followers! Subscribe by email! It is free!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Facebook too! :)

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Roasted pumpkin, chorizo & thyme soup, served with a savoury home-made feta & pumpkin bread!

2. Fusilli with butternut pumpkin, smoked bacon & a cheesy sauce!

3. Sophie’s festive stuffed pumpkin!

4. Vegan spiced oven-roasted veggies!

5. Sophie’s vegetarian butternut pumpkin , quinoa & red bean chili!

52 responses to “Vegan & GF sage walnut pesto pasta with roasted butternut pumpkin cubes!

  1. hotlyspiced says:

    That is a great looking mid-week meal. I would love to try this. I think the walnut and sage pesto would be amazing and would go so well with the sweetness of the pumpkin. How much walnut oil do you need to make the pesto? It says ‘2/4′. Is that 2 and a 1/4 cups? xx

  2. katrina berg says:

    Can’t wait to try this seasonal sensation Sophie!

  3. That does look delicious my friend your vegan ingenuity gets better and better :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. nicolee404 says:

    This meal looks amazing ill have to try it!!

  5. Oh I lurrrrve pumpkin and sage on pasta! You’ve just reminded me how much! Thanks for the inspiration – it looks and sounds amazing!

    • Sophie33 says:

      I know it works great & I wanted to experiment in making my own sage & roasted walnuts pesto & thought these wonderful flavours would all work together! :) I was right!

  6. Lisa says:

    What an awesome melange of Fall flavors in this pasta! I can almost smell the wonderful aroma! I’m definitely making this!!

  7. Saskia says:

    Yum. How do you do it Sophie? This one looks delicious! I love pumpkin, sage and walnuts together; but whipping up a walnut/sage pesto is such an excellent idea. Will forward this recipe to my brother-in-law who has a gluten intolerance. I’m sure he’ll love it too.

  8. Sophie33 says:

    :) Thanks, Saskia! :) Enjoy it !!! xxx

  9. Barbara says:

    I’d love the texture of the walnut pesto over pasta, Sophie. Can’t wait to try this. What a super fall dish! Brilliant idea to add sage.

  10. Britta says:

    This looks so delicious! Such a good idea, I love everything about it! Cannot wait to give it a try!

  11. catherinefarley says:

    Lookes delicious, Sophie. We love butternut squash and I just happen to have one in the fridge. Looking forward to trying this.

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks, Cathy! :) Enjoy it!!! If you leave the psto in your fridge for a while, you need to take a spoon & mix everything around so that the oil & lemon juice well is incorporated into the pesto mix! Yeah!

  12. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie – this dish looks wonderful. Sage is such a great accompaniment to pasta dishes especially with squash…a perfect marriage of flavors!

  13. I applaud your cleverness, this looks absolutely delicious!

  14. Looks like a healthy and delicious meal and very creative to make a sage pesto

  15. Koko says:

    Ahhhh this sounds so good! I’ve never ever used walnut oil in pesto, and I feel like I almost never use sage! I really want to try this dish!!

    • Sophie33 says:

      If you leave the pesto in your fridge for a while, you need to take a spoon & mix everything around so that the oil & lemon juice are well incorporated into the pesto mix! Yeah!

  16. Somer says:

    Oh wow, that looks so delicious!

  17. Sophie33 says:

    Thanks, my friend!

  18. Blond Duck says:

    This sounds so elegant, like something out of a fine restaurant!

  19. Tandy says:

    That pesto sounds really good :)

  20. That looks delicious and indulgent, two things that I don’t always see with vegan dishes! :D

  21. Little Sis says:

    Like the mix of the sweet and the pesto. Can’t wait to try it!

  22. Jacqueline says:

    It looks amazing Sophie. I love twists on the classic pesto. I just want to dive in. Mmmmmmmmm!

  23. Amber says:

    What a lovely seasonal pasta Sophie! It’s very colourful and looks delish!

  24. Amber says:

    Good morning Sophie! I’ve nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award! Here’s the link: http://thecookssister.wordpress.com/2012/10/01/one-lovely-blog-award/

  25. Kiran says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE the flavors you have going on here :)

  26. Oh wow, how did I miss this post!?! That looks amazing Sophie..never had these combo of flavors before! You are so clever my dear! :)

  27. Oh my gosh this sounds awesome!

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,096 other followers

