Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Vegan pear & cashew cheese spread! Yeah!

on 16/09/2012

Sorry my friends, it has been way too long, since my last post on September the 5th 2012. I had a good excuse, though! My husband Peter & I planned our trip to go to Berlin, Germany, for 7 nights. Ooh yeah, baby! :) But we booked everything & we will be staying in a 3 star Design hotel near Checkpoint Charlie, in the historic area of this wonderful city! I also will be testing some good vegan cafés, restaurants because the city has a grand & large vegan scene! It is all about the culture, historic buildings, all kinds of food, curry wurst, lovely shops, Brandenburg Tor, etc!

A part of the old Berlin wall!

Have any of you any good tips about foods, restaurants, exciting things to do? I welcome all of your suggestions! ;) xxx

Now, back to some good food, I say!

Yesterday, I invented this great & tasty pear & cashew cheese spread! Yeah! It is vegan, dairy-free & gluten-free too! You know last times, I have made these other stunning vegan cashew cheeses, like this arugula cashew cheese spread & this tasty one aka cashew strawberry yoghurt, but all so tasty & well-flavoured, all invented by me, moi! :)

Don’t you want a lovely pot with this tasty vegan pear & cashew cheese spread???

An excellent & tasty food gift!!

Recipe: For 3 cups 

Ingredients:

2 heaped cups + 1/3 cup of raw & unroasted cashews, soaked for 1 night in clear water, well-rinsed & well-drained

2 cups  + 1/3 cup of ripe pears, peeled, cored & cut into smaller chunks

1 teaspoon of lemon juice

5 tablespoons maple syrup, grade B / I used 5 tablespoons because my pears weren’t super ripe. Or less, according to your taste. But you must taste the cashews & the pears too!

Method:

1. Place all of your ingredients in this order into your Vitamix or power-blender. Place the tamper into your fitting lid & press the power on, go from low-speed, from 1 to 10 & push onto higher power. Use the tamper & push all the ingredients into the blades & blend until it is to your  liking. I blended it for about 1 to 2 minutes. I checked the consistency & tasted it. It was ready. Turn the high power off, turn the lower speed from 10 to 1 & turn the power off. Taste! Mine tasted fabulous!! It is a bit sweeter but not too sweet.  But I had to place my creation in some lovely jam pots with fitting lids & placed them in the fridge to cool off & to stiffen up a bit. After 1 night into the fridge, they were ready to use & to eat up! This vegan pear & cashew cheese spread isn’t that thick but it is so tasty! If the pots are in the fridge for a longer time, you must stir into the spread with a smaller spoon so that the maple syrup is well incorporated into the mix. Yummy Yum!

How to use?

1. It is great to eat like that, with a lovely spoon, straight from the jar!

2. It is excellent as a lovely cheese spread on some toast or on a lovely sandwich!

3. It is great too, as a lovely spread onto pancakes!

4. Lovely to pour over your morning muesli!

5. Pour it over vegan ice-cream!

Enjoy, my lovely ones! ;)

Stay Tuned! If you liked this post & want more of them, join 924 email followers! Subscribe by email! It is free!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Facebook too! :)

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Vegan cashew, chocolate & pumpkin spread!

2. Vegan strawberry cashew yoghurt, aka spread!

3. Vegan cashew rocket ( arugula) spread!

Yummy Yum: Vegan goodness!

48 responses to “Vegan pear & cashew cheese spread! Yeah!

  1. Hope you had a wonderful time my friend :D
    Loving your welcome back spread recipe!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  2. Beautiful, Sophie! And enjoy your trip to Berlin – how exciting!

  3. Have a wonderful time, Sophie!! Your spread looks delicious! x

  4. Blond Duck says:

    I’ve always wanted to go to Berlin!

  5. hotlyspiced says:

    That sounds delicious Sophie. You are so good at inventing recipes. I love your little jars. Have a great time in historic Berlin – I would love to go there xx

  6. Tammy says:

    Vegan and raw! Thanks Sophie. I will try this. I have some pecans soaking right now for a sweet potato dish.

  7. Katarina says:

    This sounds delicious!

  8. I seriously have missed you Sophie and your posts!! Looks like another wonderful creation I’ll have to make!! Yum! :)

  9. Candy says:

    Sounds really yummy :-)

  10. Norma Chang says:

    Have a wonderful trip, looking forward to reading about the foods and sights. That spread sounds delicious and so versatile. Love you gift wrapped package.

  11. This would be fantastic with some homemade bread!

  12. Koko says:

    Oh, Sophie, I love this recipe! It does make a beautiful gift! This is so healthy sounding, and I like that is uses pear!

  13. Rhonda says:

    This sounds perfect for my breakfast toast– and Sophie–how great to visit Berlin!! So much history and at the same time so current!! Eat lots of good meals and have to much fun– It’s on my list of places see someday…

  14. Saskia says:

    Just a tiny bit jealous about your upcoming trip Sophie. How fantastic! I was there MANY years ago so I don’t think my tips will be relevant any more. Your latest cashew spread looks amazing. I’m soaking cashews now, to try out the strawberry one, as I have all the ingredients in the fridge. Will let you know how it goes!

  15. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie – sounds like a fabulous trip….can’t wait to hear about it! Your cashew spread sounds divine too! ;)

  16. Amber says:

    Your trip sounds so exciting Sophie! I’ve yet to travel outside of North America, so I can’t wait to hear all about it! Take lots of pics!

    Your pear and cashew cheese spread looks very yummy! Love the maple syrup as your sweetener. Here we call our maple syrups according to the colour: light, amber, dark, etc. The darker the syrup gets, the stronger the flavour (all are quite sweet).

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks, Amber! I live in Belgium so Germany isn’t that far!
      I didn’t know that about the maple syrup! thanks!

  17. Tandy says:

    Enjoy your time away :)

  18. Ohh, Germany, exciting! I hope you post all about your adventures (and of course the food!).

  19. That sounds amazing!

  20. Barbara says:

    Delicious, Sophie! And wrapped so beautifully as a gift, too.
    You’ll have a marvelous time in Berlin. So exciting for you!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks, Barbara! I knew that you would approve it all! ;)
      My husband Peter & I can’t wait to travel to Berlin: woehoe!

  21. You are so clever! the little jars are so cute, I love collecting pretty jars xxx

  22. katrina berg says:

    They are all so darn cute…love the packaging!

  23. ruth says:

    Genius! Love the way you create these out of pure culinary instinct. Have a great time in Berlin.

  24. Kiran says:

    I love an impromptu vacation plan — Berlin sounds wonderful! And that spread, oh my! So delicious :D

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,096 other followers

