Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Vegan & Gluten-Free red bean burgers!

on 01/09/2012

Today, I invented these fabulous & tasty vegan & gluten-free red bean burgers! They look like meat burgers but I assure you they are NOT :) They are even better !!! Check these out, won’t you???

MMMM,..A tasty vegan & GF red bean burger!

Don’t you want to digg in???

Recipe: For 4 bean burgers, each 1 cm thick + 8 x 9 cm 

Ingredients:

** For the red bean burgers:

2 cans of organic red kidney beans ( each can = 400 gr ), well-rinsed under water & well-drained

1 teaspoon of dried shalots powder

1 teaspoon of dried garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon of pink Himalayan salt + 4 grins extra

15 grins of finely milled black pepper

2/4 teaspoons of smoked picanté paprika ( The Spanish smoked picanté version )

1/3 cup of smaller buckwheat flakes ( gluten-free )

1/2 teaspoon of a fruity EVOO

** To serve with the bean burgers:

sliced tomatoes

lettuce leaves ( home-grown )

veganaise

gluten-free ketchup

2 red onions, peeled, sliced into rings, fried in a fruity EVOO, sea salt & black pepper on them for added flavour! Fried until browned & cooked through on both sides!

Gluten-free hamburger buns or normal burger buns, toasted, if you like!

4 uncooked vegan & GF red bean burgers! Yeah!

The red bean burger after frying in the pan!

Method:

1. In a large bowl add the red kidney beans. Wit the help of a fork, mash the beans for 3/4. So you want to end up with mashed beans & still 1/3 of the beans partial mashed. Add dried shalots, dried garlic, salt, pepper & smoked picanté paprika, all equally divided over the beans. Mix well. Add 1/3 cup of buckwheat flakes. Mix again. You now, have a tougher mix. I wanted to loosen it a bit & added that 1/2 teaspoon of fruity EVOO. Mix again. Taste! It has to taste fab! It must taste powerful but you must taste the ingredients too. :) I added the 4 grins of salt extra. Shape into 4 burger patties. Place them spaced apart on a clean plate & place cling film over them. Place into the fridge for later use or fry them instantly in a hot non-stick pan for a few minutes on each side or until browned on both sides.

2. Now, plate up. Take your toasted hamburger bun & build up your burger. Smear some tasty veganaise on the bottom of your toasted bun. Add a few lettuce leaves, add your tasty vegan red bean burger, add a slice of tomato, add some fried red onion rings, add a dollop of ketchup & close with your top bun! Enjoy instantly with a loved one! ;) Enjoy it twice!! xxx

Stay Tuned! If you liked this post & want more of them, join 928 email followers: Subscribe by email! It is free!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Facebook too! :)

Sophies Foodie Files

52 responses to “Vegan & Gluten-Free red bean burgers!

  1. lou meynen says:

    Hello Sophie,
    Your burger looks fantastic! Yes, I want to have a big, large bite.
    Well done!!!
    Mamalou

  2. hotlyspiced says:

    That’s a beautiful looking burger and yes, it does look like meat. These would be so tasty I’m sure xx

  3. I love how you can casually create something so outrageously healthy and delicious my friend :D
    Loving it!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. Sophie, I’ve been big into bean burgers of late – here’s another one to add to my list!

  5. Wow, these look great! How awesome! :)

  6. Katarina says:

    These look absolutely delicious!

  7. Brandi says:

    Love bean burgers and especially red beans!! Yummy! Will have to make these this week my friend!! Yummy! :)

  8. These look just like meat burgers, you’re right Sophie!! :o And I think I have everything for this in the pantry :)

  9. Tandy says:

    They look very tasty :)

  10. Candy says:

    These look mouth watering, never heard of pink Himalayan salt, have to look that up :-)

    • Sophie33 says:

      Pink Himalayan salt is a marketing term for Halite (commonly known as rock salt) from Pakistan, which began being sold by various companies in Europe, North America, and Australia in the early 21st century. It is mined in the Khewra Salt Mines, the second largest salt mine in the world, located in Khewra, Jhelum District, Punjab, Pakistan, about 300 km from the Himalayas, about 160 kilometres from Islamabad, and 260 kilometres from Lahore, and in the foothills of the Salt Range.
      The salt sometimes comes out in a reddish or pink color, with some crystals having an off-white to transparent color. It is commonly used for cooking similar to regular table salt, brine, and bath products.

  11. boeddhamum says:

    Hi Sophie,
    my son will be so happy when I make these burgers, he is a 16 year old and from being a healthy eater as his mom;-) he now has the taste of the most horrific junk food there is :-(
    So this recipe will help I hope to eat burgers but stay healthy, Thank you!!
    XXLinda

  12. They look just like beef patties!

  13. If there was only a picture, you could have fooled me. They look just like a burger. Very clever Sophie and I bet they are delicious too!
    Sam

  14. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie – these look great! I love caramelized onions on a burger – so tasty!

  15. Jen says:

    Looks great! I’ve been on a veggie/bean burger kick lately too!

  16. Norma Chang says:

    The red onion rings elevated the bean burgers, lovely, lovely indeed.

  17. My girls would love these! thanks for the recipe.

  18. Koko says:

    Ooooh these look amazing Sophie!! I want one right now, and it’s only breakfast!! I love the onion on top, and the beautiful flavours inside.

  19. These look delicious! I love a good bean burger, they are so hearty and filling.

  20. Love these! The bun looks yummy too! I found my gluten free – vegan hamburger buns at http://www.newgrains.com under the egg free section. Fresh tomatoes from my garden and looksl ike dinner is planned!! :)

    • Sophie33 says:

      The bun isn’t GF but is has spelt flour & sourdough in them! I also have home grown tomatoes! I hope you like them! :) Thanks too!

  21. Sally says:

    I’m always on the look out for good bean burger recipes for my daughter. These look just the job. Love the colour of them too.

  22. Tammy says:

    Gorgeous Sophie! I love bean burgers and nut burgers. These are so much easier than the nut burgers though. Thanks for the invention.

  23. These look absolutely delicious dear Sophie! :)

  24. Stephanie says:

    Oh these do look delicious! Thanks for the recipe. I am going to give these veggie burgers a try.

    • Sophie33 says:

      Hey Stephanie! Thanks! Do enjoy them! Maybe, the next time, I must add extra 1/3 cup buckwheat flakes to make them even more firmer!

  25. Is this for real??? wow I can make these for my nephew who doesn’t eat veggies! He’s all meat! Thanks Sophie!

  26. That spicy, smoked paprika is my new addiction! I love it in hummus.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,096 other followers

