Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

A 3rd garden update!

on 14/08/2012

Today, I will show you a garden update. What’s been happening in my garden?

Home grown salad crops: lollo bionda rossa & edible flowers to be!

Beautiful figs that are growing in my fig tree! :)

Home grown red basil!
Tastes just like normal green basil!

Such beauty!

Home grown red chillies!

Now, I will give you some fine recipes, from my tasty blog,  using red-hot chili peppers:
1. Gluten-Free spaghetti with whiting, red-hot chili pepper & curled parsley
2. Sophie’s spiced up Gluten-Free chicken burgers!
3. Vegan Asian inspired sweet potato & bean burgers!

East-indian cherry edible flowers!
The low variety!

Lovely white roses!

Pink wild roses!
What do you prefer? The roses or the lovely nail polish??? ;)

How to use & eat edible flowers?

Edible flowers as a garnish make any dish look special on your table, but be sure the flavor of the flower compliments the dish. Here are a few ideas to beautify your recipes and perk up your taste buds: 

1. Place a colorful gladiolus or hibiscus flower (remove the stamen and pistil) in a clear glass bowl and fill with your favorite dip.

2. Sprinkle edible flowers in your green salads for a splash of color and taste.

3. Freeze whole small flowers into ice rings or cubes for a pretty addition to punches and other drinks.

4. Use in flavored oils, vinegraittes and marinades.

5. One of the most popular uses is, candied or crystallized flowers, used to decorate cakes, muffins, cupcakes and fine candies.

6. Asthmatics or others who suffer allergic reactions to composite-type flowers (Calendula, chicory, chrysanthemum, daisy, English daisy, and marigold) should be on alert for possible allergic reaction.

7.  Never use non-edible flowers as a garnish. You must assume that if guests find a flower on a plate of food, they will think it edible.

8. Use flowers sparingly in your recipes, particularly if you are not accustomed to eating them. Too much of a pretty thing can lead to digestive problems.

9. The leaves of some flowers also have culinary uses, but be sure to check a trusted food reference source before experimenting.
You might like these gardening posts:
Enjoy it all, my lovely ones! :)
Stay Tuned! If you liked this post & want more of them, join 928 email followers: Subscribe by email! It is free!  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Facebook too! :)

Sophies Foodie Files

38 responses to “A 3rd garden update!

  1. hotlyspiced says:

    I love the baby figs and the purple basil. You’re growing some wonderful things xx

  2. Tandy says:

    I love the chillies and the figs!

  3. Karen says:

    Look at your lovely garden…what a wonderful crop of figs you are going to have.

  4. Barbara says:

    Beautiful, Sophie! And you have a fig tree? How divine. Love the photo of the red chilis!

  5. I am so jealous that you are going to have FRESH FIGS. Amazing! And beautiful plants overall.

  6. Norma Chang says:

    Your fig tree sure is producing for you, I see a fig at the base of every leaf, bet you can’t wait for them to ripen.

  7. What beautiful pictures and I’m so envious of your garden!!

  8. Kiran says:

    You are growing some pretty exotic fruits and vege. I am jealous :D

  9. What a beautiful garden – those gigs and chillies rock :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  10. Look at your happy plants! Beautiful!

  11. elle says:

    Figs!! That’s the best part of all! I looove figs :D

  12. how lovely are the figs?? :)

  13. Koko says:

    Beautiful work, Sophie! I never think of using edible flowers, although I have had them once before. They make everything so pretty!

  14. Juliana says:

    Beautiful garden Sophie…and the little figs are so so cute…I just started to collect edible flowers for my pots and love the tips on your post…
    Hope you are having a fun week my dear :)

  15. I’m envious…figs from your own garden. It must be fantastic!

  16. Sophie33 says:

    You will find 1 , filed under appetizers & 1 filed under food gifts. Thgat is home-lmade fresh & dried figs chutney!

  17. Sophie, love it all, especially the figs! Look at them all! You’ll have to find a way to keep the birds off them.. :)

  18. Figs! Wow! Of course, seeing all your beautiful garden photos is now reminding me how the tomato plants and many of the herbs on my balcony are pretty mad at me for not getting enough water in the week that i was on holiday until yesterday! ;-p

  19. Sophie, those are some seriously lovely figs, do they remain green when ripe or do they turn purple? Do you know the variety? I picking my first set of figs today, a variety called White Genoa and another called Violette de Bordeaux.

    • Sophie33 says:

      They turn purple when super ripe. I have had 12 ripe figs at the moment. There are still + 150 ones on the tree. I have a micro-climat in my walled garden. Sometimes, It will get 43°C!! I don’t know the varieaty. We only bought the house 1/2 year ago! :)

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,128 other followers

